We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need To Rethink Customer Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Fort Mill
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Need To Rethink Customer Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

My friend and I came to get away from the beach and hit Carowinds. The girl at the desk when we checked in was very hospitable and we came back to this hotel after checking a few others because of how friendly she was. It all went sour when in the middle of the night we started having trouble with our a/c unit in the room. The vibration was similar to a washing machine on the spin cycle. After speaking to the night manager, who was clearly having no problem sleeping, he determined that there was no noise. This was ironic considering he never left the desk. After being woken up for the 4th time by the noise, we went to check the backside of the unit as we were on the 1st floor. This is when we were locked out of the side door. (Which has been broken since our last stay in 2007). The manager was extremely rude and unaccommodating, and after our 3rd time at his desk we were exhausted! Now we will head off to Carowinds with our kids all with very little sleep at the Sleep Inn. If you stay here while on vacation make sure the night manager "Rudy" IS NOT working. Any issues will be ignored and his cavalier, 'not my problem' attitude will have you seeing red!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FishingFanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
13
3
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowie,MD
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The hotel is across a 4 lane road to the Carowinds. The road doesn't have crosswalks, but it's possible to cross the road. The rooms are adequete, but do not have mini fridges or microwaves like other hotels have. The breakfast in the morning is the standard hot breakfast of waffles and cold cereal and muffins. The front staff are not going to go out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkolosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

My cousins and I Decided to take the kids on a trip to Carowinds. When we made our reservations it was never asked how many people would be in each room. Needless to say we over the ration by 1 infant and the manger called to say that we needed to purchase an additional room when we already had a total of 3 rooms. At the time of check in that should have been address, because we all came in for the check-in. The manger waited until 11:00 pm to address this after a long day at the park. After we could not come to an agreement we demanded a refund because the rooms had been left untouched all day. 2 of the rooms were paid in cash and they received their refunds right away. I paid with my debit card and the money was refunded just for me to check my acct 3 days later and find another charge. Not sure why but I have my refunded receipt and this will be handled by my bank. This was the worst hotel experience EVER. Not to mentioned that I have been calling the manager for almost a week and leaving messages for him to call me back. I recommend you drive around the corner to the Best Western it was cheaper and better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Den10ise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Mill hotels

Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

I called hotel to get prices. The manager must have overheard and cut in on the call. I'm glad he did. He said since I was wanting to stay 3 nights during mid-week and I was travelling alone, he would be willing to knock off 10 bucks per night. I called other hotels in the immediate area and none even came close to the deal I was being offered at the Sleep Inn. Check in was fine. The staff was friendly and accomodating. I asked about a particular restaurant and the manager mapquested its location and printed it out for me without my asking. He then showed me on the map how to get there without using the busy interstate. Above and beyond. How great is that these days? My room was excellent for the price. Pretty typical decor. Air conditioning was very cold. Plenty of hot water. Beds felt nice and I had no discomfort sleeping. Large shower. Mini-fridge worked great. Had a microwave and coffee maker in the room. I must admit, I didn't use either of them. Worst complaint would be that the large, sliding window was a bit off- kilter. I used some well folded paper to prop it into place correctly and never had a moment's problem with it. I did alert the front desk when I left about this minor detraction. Deluxe continental breakfast was really nice. Waffle maker, juices, cereal and much more. Loved the pastries. Bear claws; yumm! The pool wasn't the largest, however on my last night, I walked down and the manager unlocked the pool area just for me. I had the whole thing to myself. Very relaxing time and I got to practice a swim stroke or two. I'm not a good swimmer so this was good for me and I loved doing it without tons of kids or other watchers. Bought my Carowinds tickets at the front dest at a discount from what you will pay at the gate. I definitely found my inner-child on those rollercoasters. I would like to thank Katrina and Mr. Lakhani for being so instrumental in allowing me to feel like a kid again and making it all so easy and affordable. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spellingchamp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

As soon as I checked in I felt good about my choice. The friendly young blonde girl was super friendly and accommodating with my need to use two different credit cards since one night would be business and the rest personal.

The room was on the 1st floor and I was delighted to find that I could open my window for fresh air. The queen bed was comfortable and clean with an updated cover and the carpet looked in great condition. Had a refrigerator and microwave and a large desk area. I happened to be assigned a handicap room so I had a large bathroom that was very clean. I always wipe down the countertops in a room and when I finished with this room, there was nothing on the rag.

The toilet didn't flush on my first try and I called to ask for repair and that was handled in a timely manner. Throughout my stay the staff was super friendly and helpful. Nice place and right across the street from Carowinds if anybody's going there.

Breakfast was fresh and large variety with a large area of tables.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheNatureInUsdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

They accommodated early arrival. Desk staff were very personal and helpful. Purchased Carowinds coupons at the hotel for a discount.
Stayed for a location close to the Carowinds amusement park. Great Italian restaurant across the HWY next to Comfort. Smoking smelled, non-smoking did not.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yoopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

I don't know where to begin b/c this hotel was awful! I would never recommend it. 1) our room and the entire 4th floor had water damage and smelled moldy (including soggy, smelly, and sticky carpet) and yet they insisted on placing everyone on this floor 2) the bedding smelled of sweat even when supposedly changed 3) we couldn't communicate (housekeepers didn't speak English)and we were met with rude glares from most of the workers for a reason we didn't know 4) one worker barged into the room w/out knocking while I was sleeping at 7:30AM and still to this day I don't know why 4) I was accused of not staying here by a female greeter and that I was just using the pool although I had been there for a week at that point 5) the price is way too much and if you ask for towels or extra hangers you receive a look as if it's the strangest request and they tell you no 6)the one English speaking housekeeper gave me attitude when I was in the room when she wanted to clean, which was difficult to know when b/c it ranged from 10-3 and there's nothing to do around the hotel (Carowinds gets expensive at $40 or so a day)... please don't stay here unless you like harming yourself.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — The wireless internet didn't work most of the time.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aemley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Mill
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn At Carowinds
Comfort Inn At Carowinds
#3 of 7 in Fort Mill
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel at Carowinds
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carowinds
BEST WESTERN Carowinds
#2 of 7 in Fort Mill
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte - Arrowood Rd.
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Mill
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Charlotte/Ayrsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds

Property: Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds
Address: 3540 Lakemont Blvd, Fort Mill, SC 29708 (Formerly Fort Mill Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Fort Mill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Fort Mill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds is off Interstate 77, across from Carowinds. We are near Charlotte Convention Center, Discovery Place, Bank of America Stadium (home of the Carolina Panthers) and Knights Stadium. Charlotte-Douglas International Airport is eight miles away. Attractions include Winthrop University, Metrolina Expo Trade Center, Ovens Auditorium, Verizon Amphitheatre, Museum of York County and Lowe's Motor Speedway. Shop at a local outlet mall and two shopping malls. Several restaurants and bars are nearby. Free amenities include Morning Medley breakfast, coffee, newspaper and seasonal outdoor pool. We have free Wi-Fi in all rooms and access to copy services. We have bus parking. Rooms come with coffee makers, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn At Carowinds Hotel Fort Mill
Sleep Inn Fort Mill
Fort Mill Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing