We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mingle with locals”
Review of Planet Follywood

Planet Follywood
Ranked #19 of 36 Restaurants in Folly Beach
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Description: When you see the old school mural on the wall and the blue awning, you know your in the right place! Elvis, Sinatra and the Pack, John, Clint and more invite you into our local dive bar, Planet Follywood. Not only is this the spot for cold drinks and your local celebrities, it also has some of the best food on the island (The burgers are to die for)! Stop by our Planet next time your on Folly and hang out with the local celebrities, famous and infamous!
Johns Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mingle with locals”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable place for a cocktail and the friendliest people. Food is very good. Great place to hang out

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keljer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    30
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“"My second home in the summer"”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I've been living in Charleston for almost three years. I'm usually at Folly every weekend in the summer & at least one weekend a month if not more during the winter. I consider it to be my "Cheers" bar. I love both the staff & the "regulars". Mama Flo's breakfast on the weekends is great! Diverse menu, very reasonable prices, along with daily specials. Their lunch is just as good, especially their burgers & they just added a philly that's mouth-watering as well. I'm always up to trying new places, but I always go back to Follywoodl It's definitely my home away from home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank HD1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's about the atmosphere”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The food is actually quite good and we've ordered delivery lately as we don't like to go there because it is mostly a bar with smoking, so you come out with that awful smell for the rest of the day! Still, I hesitate to wish they would change as there are locals who go to the bar there all the time and I'd hate to see them not welcome. There are several other more pleasant places on Folly to eat on site or, if you want Follywood food (the garlic burger is REALLY good) and live or are staying locally, just order delivery.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank RLA1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best burgers on the beach!!!!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This unsuspecting cinder block building along Center St is easily passed by. It's a favorite among locals young and old. Wings and bacon cheese fries are fabulous but it's the burgers that'll keep you coming back. Burgers are big, juicy and cooked to oder. Good place for a bite, cold beer and good entertainment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beechnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folly Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Funky local joint”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great burgers and interesting variations on many otherwise common dishes. Lots of locals characters, good, friendly service and nice cold beer.

Decent listing of cold craft beers along with the "usual suspects". If you want some good food, cold beer, and good local music, Follywood is the ticket. Oh yeah, don't forget Mama Flo's breakfast on Saturday & Sunday..........yuuuuum!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank senorjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet Follywood also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Planet Follywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing