We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sunset View and Music on Rooftop around!”
Review of Snapper Jacks

Snapper Jacks
Ranked #18 of 36 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Asheville, NC
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Sunset View and Music on Rooftop around!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had two great nights here. Dinner choices were very good too. the music, view and food!!! Excellent!!!! when they all come together! I wish that they served the good beer up on rooftop but being able to go down to lower bar and order a good micro brew was great! out last night in town we did again have excellent service food and view! but as we were leaving we did not have the only table available but this small group had decided that our table they wanted, and pressured us and then as we were getting up to leave the most aggressive female decided to throw her purse down on table and claim that locals do still live there etc! that did leave a stain on our entire week in Folly spending money and visiting a daughter of my Partners Sister that is and has been a student in a Charleston College. So quite sure she is a temp local too!!! But any way the restaurant had nothing to do with this intoxicated female or her rude behavior. Please do give this place a try. Hopefully the rude female will be back home in any other state but SC!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCsleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    105
    73
    29
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for a scenic view and good food!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We ate on the roof top....on a VERY windy day. The wait staff had a great attitude about napkins and bar tabs flying....and lettuce leafs from my salad! The food was great! The atmosphere was equally as great. Another laid back, fun place to chill.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Service”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Not only was the view amazing, we sat on the roof deck which overlooks the ocean, but the food and the service were just as incredible. The drink prices were great and the food is terrific! This place is a must!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Autumn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't go here! It's awful! Run away as fast as you can!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I don't even know how to begin to explain how terrible this place was. We did have a really nice and attentive waitress, though, who told us that we might be happier at the oyster place next door. She was right about that. First, we were almost the only people there, which is never a good sign. We thought we might sit upstairs to get a view. Nope. When we got to the top of the stairs, the second floor was being used as what looked like a junkyard. The waitress explained to us that the bar/restaurant was under new management (?). This confused us. It did not seem to be an improvement, although we don't know how bad it was before. There was a menu but many of the items were not available. We did not order any food. To avoid being rude, we ordered drinks. Big mistake. They had no idea how to make a margarita. First, it was in a short glass, like a high-ball glass, and they had rolled the entire glass (not just the rim) in sugar. Yes sugar. I questioned the waitress about it, and she shrugged, smiled, and said she couldn't tell the sugar from the salt. Leaving here was the best decision we made of the night. I can't warn anyone enough--it is TERRIBLE!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenmemonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Avoid if you are a tourist and not for families”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

This place gets a very drunk, young crowd who like to fight and the owners are okay with it. Families are a big no here as well as people who don't enjoy frat boys getting their dogs drunk in the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snapper Jacks also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Snapper Jacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing