We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you come to Folly Beach, you have to stop here.”
Review of Lost Dog Cafe

Lost Dog Cafe
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
503 reviews
442 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“If you come to Folly Beach, you have to stop here.”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a really good spot for breakfast or lunch. But make sure to come early in order to avoid the wait. There is a good variety of items on the menu. Both breakfast and lunch items are good. This past visit, my wife simply ordered hot dogs, but she really liked them. Busy, crowded, a bit noisy but the food is good and it is a Folly Beach standby.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WadeandLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    979
    293
    48
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
suburban atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nice breakfast at the beach! Menu has many delicious choices, dogs can join you at a table outside. Service was friendly and good. Some beach restaurants stay in business because of tourists, but it have a feeling that this place survives fine with locals as well. We will definitely be back next time we are in Folly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laura_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So good!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Food was great, love the atmosphere. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 was because both times we came the service was SO Slow. Not that we were in a rush to get anywhere, but we did come hungry... And then getting your check was a long process. Still, lost dog is must try!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KristenReigart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folly Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Best breakfast on the beach...Best breakfast period!!! First stop when your in Folly Beach!!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Once again the Lost Dog Cafe delivers!!! This Hungry detective and wife enjoyed Bloody Mary's and Mimosas Sunday morning at the Lost Dog. This place is so cool and everyone is so nice and hip!!! I never had a bad meal here and that's the last five years and counting!!! It's all good literally it just depends on your mood and what you fancy!!!

We shared the Folly eggs Benedict with sides of bacon and grits with cheese...It was off the hook freshly prepared accompanied by fresh fruit(kiwi, strawberries, bananas, citrus and apples) as always we loved it all!!

VERDICT: Lost Dog Café rocks Folly Beach...Its worth the wait!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheHungryDetective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Breakfast @ The Dog”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

What would a trip to Folly Beach be without breakfast at The Dog? My cup of Fruit & Yogurt Parfait along with a Cappuccino Chip Muffin was a treat as always. The only other thing I would consider for breakfast would be the fabulous Shrimp & Grits. That will have to wait until my next trip in October. Crowded? yes, but the two of us immediately got a table, even on a busy Friday morning! Love, love, love the Dog and cannot wait to return!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Dog Cafe also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Lost Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing