We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super inviting atmosphere with excellent service”
Review of Lost Dog Cafe

Lost Dog Cafe
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
691 reviews
389 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Super inviting atmosphere with excellent service”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Eating at Lost Dog was like coming home. Every table was full when we arrived around 2:00 in the afternoon so we knew that was a good sign! The staff was super attentive and helpful, the atmosphere was fun with all of the dog pictures and quotes on the wall, and the food was very good. No wonder the clerk at the gift shop at the pier recommended it to us!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melaney68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    944
    284
    43
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming breakfast/brunch hotspot!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

So glad we decided to stop here on our trip to Charleston! The food was excellent, and we really enjoyed eating on the porch! I recommened the Huevos Rancheros! Yummy! Also, loved seeing all the dogs with their owners! Wish we had brought ours, as I noticed there were dog bowls with water everywhere! Such a cute place! Be prepared to wait, as the Lost Dog seems to be a popular spot in town!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CSArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UpNorth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Spot!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Read in the guide books that Lost Dog Cafe was a great breakfast, that's an understatement! We loved the food and atmosphere and the service was great too!. Great food and planning makes this a great place to eat. It's not just the food, but having a drink bar where you can get coffee or a mimosa, etc while you are waiting made the time we waited for a table zip past. Wish we lived closer!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bg20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We made a special trip back before going to the airport to this little café because our first trip the food was so good.

During our stay in Charleston we visited The Lost Dog Café on a Sunday morning. Parking is difficult to find and there was a wait but we lucked out as there was a couple seats at the bar open so we decided to sit there so we did not have to wait for a table. They have both inside and outside seating as well.

My wife had shrimp and crab eggs benedict and I had the French toast. Both were outstanding and the service was good and fast. Drinks are served in Mason jars and they make a great mimosa or screwdriver.

While we watched the food come out from the kitchen we said to each other that we have to make a second trip back because all the food looks so good. So on our way through Charleston heading back to the airport from Savannah we stopped in again for something to eat on Saturday.

This time my wife got the BLT which was fried green tomatoes, bacon, lettuce, and a pimento cheese spread on toast. This sandwich was incredible. We also got and egg and cheese croissant which was prepared perfectly and fresh with a side of sausage and gravy. This may be the best sausage and gravy I ever had. I wish I would have ordered a whole plate of it.

So if you get the change and are lucky for a great lunch place this is the spot. Just a short drive from Charleston to Folly beach and well worth the trip. After eating it is just a short walk over to the beach.

Breakfast is served all day and there are plenty of different options to choose from.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brilovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best breakfast!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've eaten here for breakfast on several occasions and have never been disappointed. The pancakes are to die for, French Toast amazing, and wonderful biscuits and gravy. If you are in a hurry, stop in for some good coffee and a fresh baked muffin to go. The service is always friendly and attentive, and without being 'over' attentive. I can see why they rank as #1 in Folly. :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Dog Cafe also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Lost Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing