We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't have to be a dog lover but it helps”
Review of Lost Dog Cafe

Lost Dog Cafe
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“You don't have to be a dog lover but it helps”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Ok.. The people that own this place - you know their dog(s) are their children. You can feel the love based on all the adorable pictures on the wall and the ability to sit (outside) and have breakfast along with your dog..... AND here is the catch.... the food is wholesome, soulful, and DELICIOUS.

How can pancakes be so good? I don't know but they were the best. My DH got the eggs Benedict (no seafood version). Again delish.. After this big breakfast the place is close enough for a walk on the beach.

We expected and heard lines can be long. We ate here at 9:00 on a weekday. Still busy but no line and quick service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    962
    286
    45
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“LOVE IT”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This restaurant is a destination in itself. Excellent menu, wonderful prices, and great atmosphere. No wait for us, but early in season, and food came out quickly. It is worth the wait, if you have to wait.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momzanurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“First time here, will not be last!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just a fun place! The menu covered breakfast and lunch - I went with a special and was not disappointed. So much food I could only eat half of my wrap and enjoyed the rest later as a dinner.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank FunVaTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hippie Restaurant”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Every time we go to Folly Beach we eat at the Lost Dog at least once. It's the funnest cafe we go to all year. Watch out for the parking, keep all wheels off the road. Bring your dog or pet the ones who are there. Outdoors or in. Buy a mug or T shirt. I see a review that talks about preparation time. We treated a neighbor's kids to a meal there and they asked, Is this a fast food restaurant? I replied, this is a, You will Still be Here Tomorrow restaurant. ha ha. Another thing, the food could be considered average. But you can't beat the fun.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bhodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“NEVER miss it!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Every single time I'm in Folly, I visit here EVERY morning for breakfast. I went with my boyfriend, and eating and drinking whatever our little hearts desired made about a $35-40 meal. You can DEFINITELY eat less, and not get a coffee drink, mimosa and juice and not spend that much-when we are on vacation we just treat ourselves. The draw here are the pictures of dogs all over every surface-- if you have a pup, bring a picture in a frame, and they will add it to their walls! The restaurant is INCREDIBLY popular...this translates to very long wait times, if you go at peak breakfast hours. I generally wake up and walk over from my condo around 7 or 8 and have no problems. Hit about 8:45, 9:00 AM and you definitely need to expect a wait. This place is highly worth it! Every single meal on the menu is worth a try, but you MUST try the home made cinnamon roll. The make them fresh and have the most amazing icing on top. Warm, gooey and ooey! Located right in downtown Folly, parking can always be a little hard in the summer and spring break seasons, so keep an eye out for no parking signs and Folly parking laws, you don't want to end up with a ticket. Check on the Folly Beach website for parking mandates.
-5/5 stars
-expect waits during peak breakfast times and high tourist seasons
-friendly service, ask for tips about the area

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Dog Cafe also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Lost Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing