We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful honeymoon retreat...”
Review of Water's Edge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Folly Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful honeymoon retreat...”
Reviewed December 5, 2008

My wife and I stayed three nights at the Water's Edge Inn and we couldn't have been more pleased. Our room was beautiful and the service was above and beyond the call of duty. The owner was kind enough to have champagne waiting for my new wife and I and the manager graciously offered to bleach and launder a piece of clothing free of charge. Attention to detail and delightful, helpful staff make Water's Edge Inn an excellent choice.

  • Liked — The staff was considerate, friendly, and very helpful
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    62
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
51
391
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHARLOTTE, NC
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2008

AMAZING BED AND BREAKFAST! One of the best getaways, tucked in the beautiful marsh on Folley Beach. From the inviting rooms with beautiful views to hangin out in the hot tub to the convenient and easy access to all the shops and restaurants on the island, this is the place to stay! We literally were able to walk to everything, however, we also took the bikes out on the beach and surrounding town areas. The entire staff at Water's Edge were the friendliest, most accommodating and customer focused that we have ever experienced.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Liked — Convenience to rest of island
  • Disliked — leaving the Water's Edge
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nc_irie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2008

Incredibly decorated, classy, exceptional service, very friendly, intimately tucked away with astounding views and exquisit character. Will stay there every time I go back!

  • Liked — The decor!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bodizafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

We just recently returned from our delightful 4-day stay at the Water's Edge Inn. The Inn Keeper, Sandy, and his Staff could not have been more cheerful and helpful. Our room was immaculate. The decor was soothing and pleasant to return to from our daily adventures. We stayed in the Floridian room and appreciated the comfort and spaciousness and view from it.

The setting of the Inn promotes relaxation, although the continual Margueritaville music, playing from a speaker resting near the hot tub, just below our screened balcony, sometimes distracted from the serenity and peaceful nature of the environment. Staff did turn the music down a bit when we mentioned this, but by the 4th day it was a bit tiring. Fortunately, we enjoy almost all of Jimmy Buffet's music, but not necessarily from 9 in the morning until 9 at night. However, this would have to be our only complaint, if even this can be considered a complaint.

The Inn provides a varied selection of breakfast foods in the sunny front room, which my husband enjoyed reading the paper in in the morning, particularly if it was a bit too cool to sit on the balcony. The afternoon cocktail hour, with an assortment of mixers and dips, and the Inn's delicious rum punch, which was also offered to us almost immediatly upon arrival was a very enjoyable added featured. And, a pleasant way to meet some of the other happy and interesting Inn guests, as well.

We appreciated the touring bikes provided courtesy of the Inn and used them every day. Folly beach and fishing pier, which we biked the 2 blocks to and walked along extensively, almost every day, are both lovely. And, there are very nice dinning selections near the Inn.

In all, it has been added to one of our favorite get-a-ways. We are already making plans for a return visit in the not so distant future. I would highly recomment the Water's Edge Inn to couples who are looking for a place with pleasant and caring Staff and very well maintained and gentle surroundings. The Inn has a villa they rent, which I am sure would be a haven for any family.

LAG

  • Liked — Caring and helpful staff and beautiful maintained rooms and setting
  • Disliked — the 9 to 9 music playing from the speaker below our balcony
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank littlebenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Water's Edge Inn for a second time this October and once again...We LOVED it!! This time we stayed in one of their beautiful villas and it was perfect. We were greeted and catered to by our favorite innkeeper Sandy. He always has great ideas on what to do while we are there and makes us feel like we're family. Water's Edge Inn has become our favorite place to stay when we need to get away. I would recommend it to couples and families. They can meet your needs for a romantic getaway or a family vacation spot. We love it!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LNDMyrtleBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blakeslee, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

This is a wonderfully secluded spot at Folly Beach. I was on a girlfriends getaway and we rented Villa # 15. This Villa seemed to be brand new and was equipped with everything you could possibly need including HD TV. The furnishings and decor were gorgeous. French lavender soaps and lotions were in each of the three bathrooms. Breakfast each morning was marvelous. Evening drinks and snack were always fun, and their specialty drink, Folly Beach punch, was excellent. The service was friendly and helpful. No complaints here. I would definitely stay here in the future and would highly recommend this place to friends!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rasscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2008

Every detail of our stay was exquisite. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the food was lovely, and the room and amenities were divine! The screened in balcony with beach music sotly playing on the grounds was so relaxing. Great view of the marsh and a marina, lush towels, robes, and linens, and a very comfortable bed! I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a delightfully relaxing (and romantic) getaway!

  • Liked — So tranquil
  • Disliked — I loved it all!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randrseeker0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Property: Water's Edge Inn
Address: 79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 miles from historic Charleston, Water's Edge Inn offers a truly unique experience. We are in walking distance to Folly Beach, and we're located just one block off the main strip. Offering eight beautifully appointed guest rooms featuring fireplaces, heavenly queen size beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters, plasma TV, 24-hour jacuzzi, wireless internet and much much more! The pristine beaches of the Atlantic are just 2 short blocks away and are accessible with our complimentary bicycles or shuttle service. Beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach are available to rent. Enjoy evening cocktails during our complimentary Happy Hour between 4pm-7pm, offering beer, wine, and our Famous Folly Punch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Water's Edge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Folly Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing