We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent honeymoon stay”
Review of Water's Edge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Folly Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2008

We stopped off in Folly Beach, SC on our way home to North Carolina from getting married down in Florida. What a beautiful place to stay, everything about the Water's Edge Inn is just great! The surrounding area of Folly Beach was great as well, the Inn is walking distance to all the resturants and nightlife, even for a Monday evening we had a blast! We will be coming back for another visit, thanks again!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zcttandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Water's Edge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 557 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2008

The Water's Edge Inn provided the right mix of comfort and staff accommodation to create a wonderful experience for my extended family and me. Addressing last minute details and providing support and coordination for all family members was not a problem for the staff at Water's Edge. They were always helpful, regardless of the issue or the person on duty.

The Water's Edge Inn is located in a quiet neighborhood, yet is close to shops and restaurants. That made our stay even more enjoyable.

I would recommend the Water's Edge Inn for a quiet, intimate get-a-way or a family get-together. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank john_insandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

This is a jewel of a place! The property, itself, is just beautiful.
Very well maintained with top notch quality throughout. All the very latest amenities (a heated mirror in the bathroom to prevent steam buildup!?) with a laid back and peaceful atmosphere. Loved every staff member we came in contact with. Chatted away with Gina one afternoon, who is just lovely. We were checked in by Gail (?) and were checked out by a very nice man whose name we didn't have the good sense to get! He let us know about some interesting places and events to catch in Charleston, our next destination. Met the owner, Paul, who is very charming and can do some great accents upon request! Even though we stayed only one night, we got a great sense of Folly Beach and this B&B. Used their bicycles one afternoon for several hours and rode everywhere (not a great feat since the place is rather compact!) Used their hot tub which is situated with a view of the marsh and had a close encounter with a hummingbird-no kidding! Ate at TacoBoy right on Center Street which is walking distance from Water's Edge. Very low key and we really enjoyed it. Since we were heading into Charleston the next morning, didn't feel the need to have dinner there the one night we stayed on Folly Beach but it's no big deal to dine there even if you're staying at the Water's Edge. Maybe a 10-15 minute ride. Except for our bike ride, we never actually went to the beach but it seemed nice enough. The B&B will shuttle you there if you want or you could walk there too. If you park your own car, there's plenty of public access parking for $1.00 an hour (max of 8 hours.) Anyway, can't say enough nice things about this place. I would like to think we will make it back someday. Have a daughter at The College of Charleston so it could happen!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cherchez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We have stayed at a number of bed and breakfasts but this one really surprised us. We had been driving longer than we expected since we took the scenic route. We were greated with both an iced, minted, towel to freshen up and a iced punch to drink. Just what we needed! The room was beautiful, the staff extremely friendly and helpful, and the short walk to the beach made an early morning beach walk easy! Be sure to ask for one of the rooms with the screened in porch for enjoying meals and snacks (also provided), and for allowing the evening breeze to blow through the room all night. We hated to leave and would return in a heartbeat!

Stayed: September 2008
Thank beach1walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

This inn is absolutely beautiful, and the staff thinks of everything. Issues (our room was cold!) were dealt with promptly, but there were next to none. Also, in the very expensive Lowcountry, Water's Edge was among the more affordable high-end options. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mmarieturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

My wife and I had been originally scheduled to visit Key West. Our plans quickly changed because of Tropical Storm Fay! We found the Water's Edge Inn bed and breakfast on MSN and completely changed our trip plans and headed for Charleston, SC. What a pleasant surprise! Great location and accommodations. The staff at the Water's Edge Inn are some of the best I have ever come across (and I travel extensively with my business and stay at many nice hotels) – friendly and willing to help with dinner suggestions, directions, you name it. The rooms were very nice and clean. The location is close to Charleston and great restaurants (i.e. Hominy Grill on Rutledge Ave and Justine's Kitchen on Meeting St). The Inn is located just a few blocks from the beach (Folly Beach). What a great beach – clean with good waves (a lot of fun and much better than Key West)! I would highly recommend the water's Edge Inn! I know we will be back again. PS. For the best breakfast ever, visit the Lost Dog Cafe around the corner from the Inn! Also ask for the Folly Punch at happy hour -- nice!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kmedrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Thanks to a wonderful innkeeper and a fabulous location, our second stay was as wonderful as the first....maybe better. Any questions? Sandy has the answer. Need to relax? This is the place to do it...a complimentary beverage at the end of the day, a private balcony, beautiful surroundings, deep tub, fabulous shower, and a bed that I loved coming home to. Sandy knows all the best places to eat and lays out a tasty breakfast buffet each morning. We will look forward to returning soon...maybe when its cool enough to enjoy the fireplace that was in our room!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pknme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,369 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,879 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Address: 79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Folly Beach
Price Range: $179 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 miles from historic Charleston, Water's Edge Inn offers a truly unique experience. We are in walking distance to Folly Beach, and we're located just one block off the main strip. Offering eight beautifully appointed guest rooms featuring fireplaces, heavenly queen size beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters, plasma TV, 24-hour jacuzzi, wireless internet and much much more! The pristine beaches of the Atlantic are just 2 short blocks away and are accessible with our complimentary bicycles or shuttle service. Beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach are available to rent. Enjoy evening cocktails during our complimentary Happy Hour between 4pm-7pm, offering beer, wine, and our Famous Folly Punch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Water's Edge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Folly Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing