We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Get Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Water's Edge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Folly Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, North Carolina
1 review
“Great Get Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent two nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The room was great. The service was wonderful. Breakfast each morning was different and provided a variety certain to please everyone. We loved the atmosphere of the island, very relaxed. We felt very comfortable walking back to the inn each night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I'm thrilled to hear your stay with us here at Water's Edge Inn was excellent as we strive for 100% guest satisfaction! Thank you for sharing!! Hurry back to see us and take advantage of our 10% return guest discount! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    62
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
51
389
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pauline, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This Inn is everything you can imagine and MORE!!!! We spend the first 2 nights in the private villa and our last night in the main Inn. If you have an opportunity to rent the villa . . . go for it! The villa is awesome! We loved the Inn, especially our private little porch area attached to our room. We rode bikes everyday to the beach and around town. We parked our vehicle and never got back in it the whole time we vacationed! When is the last time you rode a bike????? FUN!

But, the best part of the Inn are the girls that manage it: Kelly, Nicole, Gena, and Meghan are totally full of southern hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, I'm so glad to hear it was all you expected and more! We enjoyed having y'all as guests and can't wait for your return! Don't forget all return guests receive a 10% discount off of every night booked with us! Hurry back!! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Water's Edge Inn is a perfect location for those hoping to combine a beach vacation with a trip to historical Charleston. My friend and I recently spent 5 nights there and were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff, the clean and spacious room, the variety of foods offered at breakfast each morning, and the complimentary Happy Hour with wine, punch, and snacks each day. The location is quiet and peaceful yet an easy 5 minute walk to the beach or restaurants on the main road. The inn offers beach chair and umbrella rentals and staff will happily drive you and your equipment right to the beach in their golf-cart like vehicle, then pick you up again when you call. Each day we spent part of our day exploring Charleston and dined at some fabulous restaurants there each night. It was an easy 15-20 minute drive, depending on time of day and traffic. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful experience. Hurry back to see us and take advantage of our return guest discount of 10% off of every night booked. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nicole greeted us with a warm smile and some cold punch. Perfect on a very hot summer day.
She was very helpful and made us feel right at home. Everything was clean. Everyone (on all of Folly Beach) was very attentive and helpful. We loved this little island - not too over developed. Plenty of places to eat. Live music on Sunday nights.
The Inn is located perfectly - quiet and yet a short walk to all the action, including the beautiful beach.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieDewdrop7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Folly Beach truly is a lovely beach town! We are delighted you stayed with us, we absolutely enjoyed having you! Thank you for sharing your experience! Hurry back to enjoy our return guest discount of 10% off of every night booked. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband & I celebrated part of our 10th year wedding anniversary here. We wanted to have the Charleston Beach experience for the first half of our vacation. We spent 3 nights here. From the very beginning the staff was amazing and made us feel at home!! Upon our arrival we were offered freshly baked cookies and Folly Punch!!!! The staff was very knowledgeable about restaurants in the Charleston downtown area, which was very helpful and they also made reservations as well! The breakfast was yummy and there was happy hour every afternoon with tasty snacks and delicious Folly Punch! We stayed in The Charleston and the Hemingway Room. Each room was decorated beautifully with lovely bathrooms. I really liked the Hemingway Room as it had a large screened in terrace which overlooked the wetlands. This terrace was perfect to have breakfast and to relax in at the end of the day. The Charleston Room was a very private and beautiful room which was located on the ground level with a separate entrance. The room has a lovely soaking tub! We had a wonderful experience here and we highly recommend this wonderful B & B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I am thrilled to hear you and your husband's anniversary was everything you hoped for staying with us at Water's Edge Inn. We thoroughly enjoyed having y'all as guests. We can't wait for your return to check out our other fabulous rooms! All return guests enjoy a 10% discount off every night booked with us, we hope to see you again very soon!! Thank you for sharing your kind words and experience! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Water's Edge Inn and we very impressed! Immediately upon arrival, the staff made us feel right at home and welcomed us with their Folly Punch! We were able to stay in the Floridian and the Regatta, each beautifully decorated and vey comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful and we looked forward to the 4-7pm daily Happy Hour! Have to mention the yummy cookies in the evening ..... Soooooo good!! There is such attention to detail at Water's Edge you will see why we consider it a hidden gem. Just a short walk, bike or golf cart ride to the beach. Easy walk to any restaurant in Folly Beach. It is the place to stay in Folly Beach!

Room Tip: The Floridian room is beautiful with a screened deck. The Regatta is beautiful and the newest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDL678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I'm so happy to hear you and your husband had a wonderful stay! We love making each of our guests feel like they are at a home away from home. Hurry back and take advantage of our return guest discount of 10% off every night booked with us! We'll keep the Folly Punch cold and the cookies warm and fresh awaiting your arrival! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The staff made us feel like we were at home. We stayed in the Hemingway room...it was perfect. A great breakfast every morning, happy hour from 4-7 every evening, and fresh baked cookies every night when we came in. To many personal touches to list them all. We will be back...again and again! Thanks to everyone who helped make it such a special stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roachbug64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
The Hemingway is such a lovely room, we can't wait for you to check out our other great rooms when you return! Don't forget, all return guests receive a 10% discount on every night booked with us! Thank you for your kind words! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,730 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Property: Water's Edge Inn
Address: 79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 miles from historic Charleston, Water's Edge Inn offers a truly unique experience. We are in walking distance to Folly Beach, and we're located just one block off the main strip. Offering eight beautifully appointed guest rooms featuring fireplaces, heavenly queen size beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters, plasma TV, 24-hour jacuzzi, wireless internet and much much more! The pristine beaches of the Atlantic are just 2 short blocks away and are accessible with our complimentary bicycles or shuttle service. Beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach are available to rent. Enjoy evening cocktails during our complimentary Happy Hour between 4pm-7pm, offering beer, wine, and our Famous Folly Punch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Water's Edge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Folly Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing