We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Water's Edge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Folly Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

A very nice condominium type complex with 6-7 rooms – most with screened porches. Fair breakfast – the punch at night was fantastic and a wonderful treat. Like a hurricane but with less punch. Breakfast area was small and cramped so we ate on the porch each day – may be that is the general idea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeloveB-Bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the villa and your stay and we look forward to your future visit. Usually our guests dine in waves, the early risers and the guests that sleep in. Our dining area is made up of more than the (4 table) lobby space. It is extended to the (2 table) patio area adjacent to the lobby, and the (3 table) outside area under the umbrellas. Some guest dine on their patios and others take their breakfast back to the villa where they have (2 or 3) barstools with counter space and a (4 chair) dining room table. Breakfast is served from 8 until 10 am daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    62
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
51
396
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkesville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The staff and setting could not have been more relaxing for my college room mate and I to have a short "girl's getaway"! The beautiful scenery, relaxed setting, warm welcome and short walk to Folly restaurants and the beach made it simply perfect!

Room Tip: Pack light if you are in the upstairs rooms, otherwise delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lnjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
It was nice to meet you ladies. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've stayed at the Water's Edge Inn many times, and each time has been awesome! This time, we stayed in a villa next door since there were three couples. The villa was beautiful, and we had plenty of space to relax. The owner and the girls at the front desk are so nice, and they're always willing to take us to the beach on the golf cart, make reservations, or answer any questions we have. We went to several restaurants during Restaurant Week, visited Middleton Plantation, went kayaking on Folly Creek, and took a Sunset Sailing cruise. Thank you to all the people at Water's Edge Inn for another fantastic trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAG34059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
So glad you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you again in March. We really enjoyed having you during happy hour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Husband and I enjoyed the inn and will be back. Check in was easy, gracious, met with southern charm, loved the service and drinks/reception. Would recommend to couples and familys. Easy and short walk to beach, and nice bikes. Restaurants and shopping very close.

Room Tip: our room on bottom/corner was private and close to our vehicle, also easy access to hammock and hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We enjoyed having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast. We were not sure what to expect but ended up loving every minute of our stay. The girls at the front desk were extremely helpful with answering questions and recommending places to eat. We purchased the Adventure package and chose the Sunset Cruise with Randy and Jet Ski rentals on the ocean. It was so much fun and we would definitly recommend the package to anyone looking for a good time. We stayed in the Caribbean and enjoyed a full screened in porch and a great bathroom with a giant jetted tub. It was quiet and very romantic. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
This is the perfect package for fun in the sun. So glad it was right up your alley. We are happy you chose to stay at Water's Edge Inn and you enjoyed your getaway. Thank you for sharing this great review and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Beautiful place! Close to everything! Very relaxing! Good food, great staff, friendly and caring owner. As a brand marketer, I'd say they understand the pittance of the customer experience. We'll go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roads-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for choosing Water's Edge Inn. We are so glad you stayed and enjoyed everything. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our 4 night stay from 9/4 to 9/7/12 was nice. We stayed in the Hemingway room on the second floor. Note for those with physical limitations, because the building is raised, you need to climb two flights of stairs. The beds were especially comfortable. We had an issue with a non-working mini fridge that they addressed fast. I do think that someone should have figured out that the drains in the bathroom sink run "slow" though and the the carpet was stained, like it could use a cleaning. The A/C can't be controlled by you in your room so you have to manipulate the ceiling vent which is a pain. The porch has nice looking furniture but you'll find that the cushions are poor and should be replaced. For those reasons, I gave a rooms a 2 star rating.The breakfast was very nice affording one a great selection of hot and cold foods and the afternoon wine, beer and munchies were great. The beach is walkable but they will gladly golf cart you over and take you back too. The manager and staff are extremely nice and work hard to make you feel welcome. I suggest that you bring mosquito spay if you plan to be out at night. On the whole, I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: The Hemingway offers a nice view of the wetlands out to the water with the boats and the room is a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your comments. We are addressing your concerns especially regarding the carpet. We are looking to replace the carpeting in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,341 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,824 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,141 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Property: Water's Edge Inn
Address: 79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 miles from historic Charleston, Water's Edge Inn offers a truly unique experience. We are in walking distance to Folly Beach, and we're located just one block off the main strip. Offering eight beautifully appointed guest rooms featuring fireplaces, heavenly queen size beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters, plasma TV, 24-hour jacuzzi, wireless internet and much much more! The pristine beaches of the Atlantic are just 2 short blocks away and are accessible with our complimentary bicycles or shuttle service. Beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach are available to rent. Enjoy evening cocktails during our complimentary Happy Hour between 4pm-7pm, offering beer, wine, and our Famous Folly Punch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Water's Edge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Folly Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing