We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falling for Folly's Crab Shack”

Folly Beach Crab Shack
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Relaxed laid back Island Restaurant. Featuring Local Grilled, Steamed & Fried Seafood! Outside Dining & Raw Bar. Voted # 1 by Folly Beach Local's & Voted Best Seafood Spot, Southern Living Magazine,2012. Live Steel Drums every Thursday night! Relax, Slow down, It's Folly Beach!
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The first place we ever ate in Folly Beach at 9 PM after a horrible flight was the perfect antidote to real life, exhuastion, and flagging spirits. At the bar, Elizabeth made us a "special pink drink" to lift our spirits, and then we were whisked away to our "bucket" table outside to the sound of music we actually knew and enjoyed! Our food was Southern perfection, and was followed by an oreo dessert which transcended reality. What a great beginning to the fun of Folly Beach!

3  Thank JmlJourneyJots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you so much! I am so proud of my staff (Family) Elizabeth is awesome as well as my whole staff that shares my passion. We love serving others and it shows in this review. I will pass along your kind words and we hope to see you again soon. Ron & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

867 - 871 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

Loved eating at the Crab Shack. The owner ,Ron, was very friendly as well as the whole staff. meal was great. Will defiantly go back as often as possible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank kholland74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thanks so much for your review! We look forward to serving you again soon! Looks like you live on Folly, you should check out our Local Loyalty program. You should also join our local table. You will meet the best people on Folly. Sincerely, Ron & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Have been vacationing at Folly about 16 years and we always go to the Crab Shack. Had about 20 people, adults and children, in our party. Tables were quickly rearranged to accommodate our large group. Orders were taken and drinks and appetizers were quickly delivered. Food was very good. We had crab cakes, calamari, shrimp and grits, fried seafood platter, seafood boil, She bCrab soup, and mushrooms stuffed with crab meat. One person ordered a cheese burger as she does not eat seafood. Shrimp in shrimp and grits were large and customer would have preferred smaller shrimp. Because our group was large we went at 5:30 pm to beat the crowd. There was a line when we left. Can't wait until next year!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

I am glad that you and your family enjoyed everything so much! What a great family tradition, with everyone enjoying folly beach. We are proud to be a small part of your vacation. It's all about Making Memories! We hope to serve you and your family again next year! Ron & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This restaurant was awesome - great food, great drinks and great waitresses.
We loved it there so much we went back the night before we went home. Highly recommend this place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HQuinn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you so much! I will personally pass along your kind words to all my team members. We hope to serve you again soon, Sincerely, Ron & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Stopped off for supper last week and though the place wasn't crowded, it took over one hour to get served our order. Food was average as it seems they rushed it out after our complaint to manager. Manager did cut 25 percent off of bill to compensate us for our bad experience. Will try again and hope for a better experience

2  Thank Canio Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your experience. There is no excuse, just a sincere appoligy and my promise to address all issues. As you can see by most of our reviews, we exceed our guests expectations and I feel as though we feel way below my standards. Please let me know when you are coming back as I would like the opportunity to make things right and show you & yours that we are better than what you experienced. Sincerely, Ron Hill 843-437-2546

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Folly Beach Crab Shack also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Folly Beach Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing