We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Shrimp!”

Folly Beach Crab Shack
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Relaxed laid back Island Restaurant. Featuring Local Grilled, Steamed & Fried Seafood! Outside Dining & Raw Bar. Voted # 1 by Folly Beach Local's & Voted Best Seafood Spot, Southern Living Magazine,2012. Live Steel Drums every Thursday night! Relax, Slow down, It's Folly Beach!
Kingston, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Shrimp!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Walking by, you would know this is a great place just from the line out front! The shrimp was the best fried shrimp my husband and I had ever eaten. The servers were all so kind. If you are in the area, you must try this place!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Justine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so much! Our Shrimp are always domestic shrimp, never imported, and was one of the reasons that Southern Living Magazine named us one of the Best Seafood Spots in 2012 September issue. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future. Please let us know on your next visit as I would love to meet you. Sincerely, Ron Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    336
    144
    55
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Don't get the fish basket”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This restaurant was hightly rated by some folks, but our family found it lacking. The waitress seemed bored, and we had to flag her down to complete our drink order because she walked away before she finished with our table. My son and I love fish and chips, but the fish basket here was way below standard. It did not have fresh fish and later that night we were both nauseated. Others in our group had crab legs, fresh tuna on a green salad, and shrimp. They were satisfied with their meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank celloinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for letting me know about your visit. I promise to look into the fish basket that you ordered. We have and always will strive to exceed our guests experiences, but I feel as though we fell short on your order, I will also address your service issue, as this is not our culture. Our culture is to serve with a servants heart. I am glad that most of your party was pleased with their selections. Please feel free to call me on my personal cell, 843-437-2546. I would love the opportunity to make things right and to get more detail on your server. Sincerely, Ron Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over priced ”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

3 drinks 2 salads and crab dip = 60.00 ... The smell eslking in the front door would turn your stomach it was a really stong seafood smell.. I understand it is a seafood restaurant, but the other places was not like that

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
I appreciate everyone's reviews. As you can see, by the previous reviews, we normally exceed our guests expectations. With that said, I will address All issues that you mentioned. Please feel free to call me personally on my cell phone, as these are some serious issues and I would like the opportunity to make things right as well as get more information. We have and always will have a 100% satisfatcion policy. I know we are better than what you experienced. Sincerely, Ron Hill (843) 437-2546
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nothing fancy but really good food”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

always good food at the folly crab shack. two can dine for under $30 with plenty of food. We usually spend $30- $35 plus tip. Really special servers like Shelley Pullen.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmookjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed everything. I will pass along your kind words to Shelly and all our team members. Ron & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing! ”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved the crab shack! Great atmosphere, perfect service, awesome drinks, and delicious food! You can't go wrong eating here!

Helpful?
Thank RN530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you! We love serving our guests and creating relationships! I will share your review with all our team members! We hope to see you again soon! Ron & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Folly Beach Crab Shack also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Folly Beach Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing