We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catfish bites & whole fried flounder”

Folly Beach Crab Shack
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Relaxed laid back Island Restaurant. Featuring Local Grilled, Steamed & Fried Seafood! Outside Dining & Raw Bar. Voted # 1 by Folly Beach Local's & Voted Best Seafood Spot, Southern Living Magazine,2012. Live Steel Drums every Thursday night! Relax, Slow down, It's Folly Beach!
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The "SHACK" on Folly knocked one out of the ballpark as the catfish bites appetizer along with whole fried flounder were "DELISH" Keep up the good work.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Bart, Thanks for taking the time to let us now about your visit. It means so much to me and our team to hear that you and your guests enjoyed everything. The whole fried flounder and the Mahi bites are two of the local's favorite items. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Folly Beach. Ron & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

926 - 930 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

This food was so good and our waitress was outstanding that we just ate ourselves silly! The bloody mary bar was super yummy and crazy cheap...I had two. My brother-in-law has never waited tables and always runs the wait staff ragged to the point of table embarrassment. I am pleased to report that our gal was polite and very accommodating to his every ridiculous request and "emergency" need. I have seen many eye rolls and deep sighs from other servers when he gets cranked up!
Make sure to check Yelp because this place offered a free crab dip when you checked in with the app. Yummo...and free!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alisherrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you so much for all your kind words! I will pass them along to all our team members. It's our culture to serve with a servants heart. I personaly love the "Make your own Bloody Mary Bar" We hope you see you again soon! Working on a new brunch menu now:) Sincerely, Ron & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The staff is always friendly and helpful at this place. The prices are OK and the food terrific! I had the shrimp and grits, which was delectable! My wife had a crab cake and a cup of she-crab soup: delicious! Good beer selection, too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RAMWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you not only once, but twice!!! Most people will stop and write a review if they are not pleased, few will write when it is great, but you took the time to let us know about both your visits! So glad that ya'll enjoyed everything so much! Please let us know the next time you are visiting. follybeach@crabshacks.com We look forward to serving you and your family again soon. Sincerely, Ron & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stop here every time we vacation in the area! The crab ball appetizers are the best! And don't miss the She crab soup!

Thank TameraM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Tamera, Thank you! It is always great to hear about how much our guests enjoyed everything. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Folly. Thanks again for taking the time to give us a review of your experience. Ron & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Mid-afternoon is probably not a good time to eat there. Friendly staff but when I answered the question about how it was, the server said nothing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grandteto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Thank you for your review. I look at all reviews as a way to better serve my guests and my team members. I am very surprised to hear that the server said nothing when you told them about your experience. It is not my culture or the way we correct our mistakes. It has and always will be my policy to offer a 100% satisfaction policy. Please call me personally on my cell number. 843-437-2546. I would love to get more information and I promise to address every issue. Again, I offer my apologies and look forward to making things right. Sincerely, Ron Hill (Owner) Folly Beach Crab Shack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Folly Beach Crab Shack also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Folly Beach Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing