We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good seafood and service”

Folly Beach Crab Shack
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Relaxed laid back Island Restaurant. Featuring Local Grilled, Steamed & Fried Seafood! Outside Dining & Raw Bar. Voted # 1 by Folly Beach Local's & Voted Best Seafood Spot, Southern Living Magazine,2012. Live Steel Drums every Thursday night! Relax, Slow down, It's Folly Beach!
Saluda, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good seafood and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We dined here on 2 occasions during our visit to Folly Beach and were very pleased both times. Moderate prices, excellent shrimp, and very good service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gilwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. I am very blessed to have such an amazing staff! They all share my passion. I will also pass along your kind words to our Chef & his team. See you on your next visit to Folly. Sincerely, Ron Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    317
    136
    50
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nantahala Township, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Remember this is a SEAFOOD restaurant, therefore it will and should smell like SEAFOOD. The food was very good the staff was very attentive and the restaurant looked like a seafood restaurant. My wife and I are looking forward to returning this winter for our longer stay on Folly Beach and return to the Crab Shack for more great meals. Try the delicious Crab stuffed Mushrooms !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrDAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you so much! We love what we do and love serving our guests! We hope to see ya''ll soon! If you liked the crab stuffed mushrooms, you should try the crab balls on your next visit. Sincerely, Ron & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were hoping for good fresh sea food. I could have had this meal anywhere. Inside smelled a bit moldy. Seemed a bit dirty. The food was below average. The wait staff was kind and helpful. The portions were plentiful, but didn't have the fresh taste we had from other local resturants.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Jeffrey, Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your experience. I assure you that I take all reviews very seriously, as you can see by my responses. Like you can see by other reviews, we usually exceed our guests expectations. I feel as though we fell short with your visit. I promise to look into all issues as we use the freshest seafood available as well as source out local products. Our standards are much higher than what you experienced, as you can see by others that have reviewed the Crab Shack. I always will have a 100% satisfaction policy. With that said, please feel free to call me personally. My cell number is 843-437-2546. I would love the opportunity to make things right. Sincerely, Ron Hill (Owner) Folly Beach Crab Shack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quintessential Beach Town Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I had lunch at the Crab Shack. My wife had chicken tenders with a panko coating which she really enjoyed. I opted for the Bull's Bay Bucket, an assortment of steamed shellfish and sausage, corn, and potatoes, which was excellent and exactly the meal I like to have when we're in a beach town. Our server, Bailey, was cheerful and attentive. We sat outside and the breeze was wonderful. The squawking crows were an interesting touch! All in all, a satisfying experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KnoxDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your visit. I will pass along your kind words to Bailey. She is one of the best. Thanks again and we hope to serve you and your wife again on your next visit to Folly Beach. Sincerely, Ron & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Level Contributor
400 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“great food and fun, laid back atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were touring around Charleston & made a quick detour to Folly Beach for lunch. Very glad we found the Crab Shack. The food was excellent. I loved the she crab soup! Along with a generous salad, it made a great lunch. (It's a feel-good option: all proceeds of the crab soup sales benefit a cancer charity.) My boyfriend had the Calabash seafood basket, which was supposed to be a "smaller" portion. Wow! Lots of food! Thanks to all the Crab Shack employees for a fun and tasty outing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffy_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Tiffy, We are so glad that you enjoyed everything. We love to hear about our guests experiences. We look forward to seeing ya'll on your next visit. I will also let all our team members know about how much you & your boyfriend enjoyed everything. Sincerely, Ron & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Folly Beach Crab Shack also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Folly Beach Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing