We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere”

Folly Beach Crab Shack
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Relaxed laid back Island Restaurant. Featuring Local Grilled, Steamed & Fried Seafood! Outside Dining & Raw Bar. Voted # 1 by Folly Beach Local's & Voted Best Seafood Spot, Southern Living Magazine,2012. Live Steel Drums every Thursday night! Relax, Slow down, It's Folly Beach!
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I think the Crab Shack is an institution on Folly at this point, and you should definitely go and visit it. I had the Charleston Steam Bucket and it was great. My husband had the ribs and shrimp, and he enjoyed his, too. You have to overlook the little nuances to enjoy it. It's a little crusty around the edges, don't expect sparkling clean floors and white table linens. Our table wasn't exactly clean and it is not a place for a quiet dinner out, but it is what it is: good seafood at the beach.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoldByNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I will pass them along to all my team members as well. I will also address any issues with the restuarant that you have mentioned. We pride ourselves on being a Shack on the beach experience, but we also want everything to be in order. Thanks again for taking the time tolet us know about your experience. Ron & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    317
    136
    50
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Little Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Interesting that the scallops come from Canada and the mussels from PEI, but they taste exceptionally fresh and are prepared perfectly. The shrimp are local and not only large, but delicious. The portions are generous and the service was excellent.

Parking can be a challenge, but well worth the effort.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. We get our scallops & mussels from North Coast Fishiers, and they do an amazing job bringing us the freshest seafood possible when it comes to the scallops & mussels. The scallops are chemical free and never frozen. That is what makes them so good. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Folly. Sincerely, Ron & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food! Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent! Loved that it was not all fried!!! Recommend this restaurant highly!!! Loved the boiled veggies and all of the seafood!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mortt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“She crab soup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We ate here twice during our visit. The first time we had the buckets of seafood. The shrimp and the crab were wonderful as were the corn, sausage and potatoes I wish their had been a bit more seafood but it was still really good. The next time we went we all had she crab soup and salad.... heaven! This is soup I will dream of. Nice live music ,good food, drinks and service .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank webfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you & Thank you!! We love to all feedback! It is the most awesome thing for someone to take the time out of their day to say what they loved about a restuarant! I am so proud of my Chef, Greg Fowler & his amazing staff! They put the majic touch in the she crab soup. We are also proud to support the Hollands Cancer Center with the proceeds for our she crab soup. Let us know the next time you are on the Island. Ron Hill (Owner) Folly Beach Crab Shack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food; good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We went to the Crab Shack for some crab, so we were pleased with the menu. My father-in-law ordered a steam pot that included oysters, and it was not clear on the menu that those would arrive to the table unshucked. We come to a restaurant to have food served to us, and cleaning and cracking crabs is expected under the circumstances, but shucking oysters is a learned skill that we do not possess. Thankfully, our waitress took them to the kitchen and brought them back properly prepared. We enjoyed our dinner, and the patio setting was nice. I wish there'd been live music the night we went.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank shley17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am so proud of my staff! They are more like family, and I watch them everyday go above and beyound! They all share my passion with servents hearts. I will pass along your kind words. I would alos like to know the team member that went above & beyound to praise & reward them. Thanks. My cell number is 843-437-2546. Sincerely, Ron Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Folly Beach Crab Shack also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Folly Beach Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing