We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sinfully Rich!”

Folly Beach Crab Shack
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Relaxed laid back Island Restaurant. Featuring Local Grilled, Steamed & Fried Seafood! Outside Dining & Raw Bar. Voted # 1 by Folly Beach Local's & Voted Best Seafood Spot, Southern Living Magazine,2012. Live Steel Drums every Thursday night! Relax, Slow down, It's Folly Beach!
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by all aspects of our visit tonight. The restaurant's name is the essence of truth in advertising. The ambiance is sandy casual and you cannot help having fun. Best of all was the food. The she crab soup, shrimp and grits and the crab and shrimp pot pie were excellent, with very fresh seafood and a sinfully rich. Don't miss the key lime pie. All for an extremely reasonable price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rwalterh, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! The She Crab soup is awesome & I am glad that you enjoyed some of our signature dishes. I will pass along your comments to our team members. We love to serve our guests & are glad that you enjoyed everything. Please let us know the next time you are in. Sincerely, Ron Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,051 - 1,055 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Arrived at folly beach and vistited trip advisor for guidance as to restauarants within walking distance.Choose crab shack based of comments and menu with modest expectations and just hoping to have a decent average meal. Wait was typical, service was average. I ordered large portion fried oysters they were cold and honestly not that great. Very bland. My wife ordered fried shrimp which she didnt eat all of them. Not because they were not good but because she is a lite eater. I finished them, and they were pretty good. Service was not all that good either. My tempered expections were not meet. Not an awful meal but less than average.

Thank CuriousTraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. I always want to know about our guests experiences, both good & bad. I promise you I will address all issues. I would also like the opportunity to show you and your wife that we are better than the food & service you received. With that said, I would love to talk to you and make things right. My cell number is 843-437-2546. Again, I am sorry to hear about your experience and look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Ron Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Jan. 6, 2013 had early dinner with friends and it was just wonderful. The fried Oysters were the best I have had in years. My wife had the fried shrimp and they were wonderful. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was what you would expect at a beach environment. The Key Lime pie was a little tart but after the initial shock it was great! Would recommend and if in the area will go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rallyhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very proud of our seafood & we believe that lightly fried is the best way to fry oysters and shrimp. Thanks for letting us serve you and your guests and wehope to see ya'll again soon. Sincerely, Ron Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Unique little establishment in Folly. Food is seafood fresh and the staff is helpful and courteous. The Crab and Artichoke dip is simply amazing. A great stop in Folly if you are looking for seafood.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Furman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rwalterh, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feed back on your visit. I will let all our team members know about your kind words. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Ron Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had the Snow Crab Legs with red potatoes, corn and sausage. Great seasoning!! The Key Lime Pie was good, wish we would have tried the peanut butter pie. The service was great, had to wait in the bar for a table, we are not smokers, so I wish we would have waited outside.

Thank Becki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rwalterh, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you, I am glad that you enjoyed your experience. Just so you know for your next visit, we do offer two bars. one is smoking and the other bar and the entire bar is non smoking. We hope to see you on your next visit. Sencerely, Ron Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Folly Beach Crab Shack also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Folly Beach Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing