We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of The Oyster Room - CLOSED

The Oyster Room
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had a couple of sandwiches and they were the best we had all week. Out bartender Josh was great, knowledgeable and personable. Will for sure be back in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigOlag1620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best seafood on Folly”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The place is small and spotless! The oyster are from all over the states. The food is outstanding. The bartender is great! We frequently go there for oysters

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Follybeachpatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool & Cozy”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

So glad the hostess was outside inviting people into the restaurant or we might not have stopped. Doesn't look like much from the outside but the oyster room was a cozy, comforable and a welcome relief from the SC heat. I had the grouper, my husband had the wood grilled oysters and he-crab soup - all were excellent and the beer was ice cold. The service was OK.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KJPast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Father's Day Fail”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We chose this place on Father's Day because they had seating....now we know why.

Our family of 4 ordered very conservatively and the bill was almost twice as much as what we paid at other similar restaurants. Aside from the poor value the food was not very good either. My 2 young daughters ordered steak kabobs and after they started eating them we realized that parts of the kabobs were still completely raw! We sent them back to be cooked further, which they did but there was no offer of compensation or even an apology. I was concerned for their health!

I was also disappointed that the meals did not come with any vegetables...just meat and rice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food on Folly Beach”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a great little spot with an up to date atmosphere. Food was excellent, oysters were fresh and from a number of different areas. No local as they were out of season. Do not not stop with the oysters because the fish is also good. Service was excellent. Our waitress, Brandy, made our visit even better. Try it you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buckoErie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oyster Room also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing