We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great new restaurant on Folly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oyster Room

The Oyster Room
Ranked #26 of 35 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Charleston SC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant on Folly!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Had received a recommendation to try this new gem on Folly and I can see why!
Our Menu:
Starters:cajun fried oysters, oysters on the half shell sampler (enjoyed with Carolina over those from RI and NY),
Entrees: asian ahi tuna, fresh catch mahi mahi sandwich, and friend jumbo shrimp
Great wine selection and good bar
Great service and atmosphere
Ask for Autumn, she was fantastic!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsRamsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food, value, and service!!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had dinner at the oyster room after reviewing all the restaraunts on center st. We had a very enjoyable meal! The Asian Tuna app is a must! Delish! Fish tacos and fish sandwich were also very good. If you go, ask for Lauren! She is the best :).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drich33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Great!!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great place to eat. Friendly and helpful staff. Food was delivered fast and was deliciuoes. Tried several different items on the menu. Highly recommend!!! Try an Oyster Shooter!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth it.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stopped in for some oyster on the half shell. Not only do the have an exceptional selection of oysters, they post the harvest dates. My girlfriend does not eat oyster or much seafood, so she ordered the Mahi fish sandwich, she loved it and could have eaten two plates. The oyster room is a great restaurant, but it's more suited for people who know sea food. If you like SC "fish Camps" you won't like the oyster room, it's real sea food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BandDtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were really looking forward to something a bit different on Folly but were disappointed. It tries to look and feel a bit different with a funny mix of food on the menu and a little more upscale atmosphere but doesn't get it quite right. We tried several things and none had much taste and one rice dish we just left on the plate after one bite. Service was attentive and helpful tho. It's really a part of Snapper Jacks and, unfortunately, doesn't add anything to the food scene on the island.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RLA1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oyster Room also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Oyster Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing