We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Beach”

Folly Beach Public Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
2-Hour Salt Marsh Cruise from Folly Beach
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Folly Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrific Beach”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Small old fashioned beach town with a laid back, carefree attitude. There is a terrific fishing pier that stretches far into the ocean. Great seafood restaurants. Park once & you can walk everywhere. The beach is long and wide. This is where you take your walk to see the Morris Island Lighthouse. On the upper end, at a place the locals call the "Washout" you'll see surfers almost anytime. No glitz or amusement parks. If you come to Folly, you're here for the beach.
To show how much I love this place, after living in SC for nearly 40 years and visiting Folly over the years I made a decision, just move there. I've been here almost a year & sometimes I have to pinch myself just to make sure I'm not dreaming.
Really come for the beach. Period.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Del B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    345
    99
    25
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice beach”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

It was pretty cool when we were there so we didn't go out to much. But, the one day we did take a walk the beach seemed clean and nice. We got to watch a lot of surfers as well. It was crowed at all, but I'm sure the time of year and weather played a part in that. Would go back

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Indianafamily0f5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice clean beach and pier”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The kids loved the beach even when in the 50s and the water even colder. The pier was being used by fisherman and had easy access. Changing room and bath are at the base of the beach. It was low tide so there was a lot of beach for the kids to play on. This is less of a toursit trap than most beaches. Alcohol is banned due to bottle problems per a local. Nice place to visit and easy to get to from Charleston.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank imagesofwildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville,TN
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a very nice area being close to Charleston. There are many nice restaurants at the beach. Center Street is where all is happening. Folly Beach reminds you of how it was in the 50s and 60s.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 66Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This beach Rocks!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a great beach! Besides the clean beach, ocean waves, you can watch surfers, walk the dock, shop, site on the dock and drink or eat, what else could you ask for? Family and single friendly, however alcohol is not allowed on the beach. Take a walk after your tan along the boardwalk and shop or hit the side streets for a glimpse into the great culture going on off beat! Very safe and fun place to party, kick back and relax!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingAngelFGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Folly Beach Public Beach also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Folly Beach Public Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing