We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be scared”
Review of Surf Bar

Surf Bar
Ranked #9 of 36 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Surf Bar is a locals' favorite on Folly Beach, South Carolina.
Hudson
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't be scared”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I have vacationed on Folly for a few years and never visited this place. Looked to run down, the patrons looked too local. It was small. Looked like too much of a dive for my comfort. But, alas, curiousity overcame reticence and we stopped by for a burger and a brew. It was absolutely fantastic.

Burgers are cooked over a wood fire and you can barely discern the smoke. Large and perfectly cooked, it could be perhaps the best burger I ever had. We sat outside, surrounded by a surfer laden table to the left, an older couple with a dog to the right, a family with 3 small children, and a few other small groups and couples. This place attracts a wide demographic.

Onions rings were fantastic. Thin, perfectly breaded with a spicy remoulade sauce for dipping. My wife's salad, with grilled chicken, was also great. Other items coming out of the kitchen looked outstanding and were met with enthusiasm by the other patrons-the Philly cheesesteak and the spinach dip looked particularly pleasing.

Service was friendly-waitress sat down at our table to take our order-and fast. Surfing was being shown on the TV's. The beer was icy cold and the vibe was pretty dang friendly.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    67
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great crowd and atmosphere!”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Woodfired eats, "island" specialty cocktails, surf decor/videos, live music, and great staff...this is why we frequent Surf Bar when we're on Folly Beach. Just a great feel to the place and the owners are very accommodating!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank davebcharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It was decent”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We ate dinner here after a great day at the beach. It's more of a Bar than restaurant (as the name suggests) Not really a place I would bring the kids, especially in the evening... My husband had the philly and said it was good. I had a burger and it was ok. The service was good and the mojitos were great too!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeniaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Burger EVER”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The burgers are big and juicy and yummy - totally! The bartender was really nice and efficient........

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bisquick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Get the Philly”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Sat at the bar and enjoyed several IPA's had the Philly and it was awesome. The onion rings were not as good as some have reviewed and I mentioned it to the bartender. He gave me a free IPA (Thanks). Husband had a cheeseburger and he said it was very good. Another patron bought us several shots. Not sure why, but thanks! Service was excellent and we enjoyed our experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucyPorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Bar also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Surf Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing