We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The girl at the office worked us over for a tip!”

Flipper Finders Boat & Sea Kayak Tour Co.
Ranked #3 of 20 Tours in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Flipper Finders is a high adventure tour company located on beautiful Folly Beach South Carolina which is the beach located just south of Charleston. We specialize in finding flippers (Atlantic bottle nose dolphins)as well as, other marine based wildlife and shore birds. We offer daily kayak & boat tours and kayak rentals that depart from Center street, right next to the boat landing on the backside of the island. For more information take a look at our Web site.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The girl at the office worked us over for a tip!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We paid $70 each for my husband and myself, plus $60 for my son for the Morris Island bike ride. All we did was ride the boat over to Morris Island where Richard left and returned later to pick us up. We used our own bikes and there was not a tour so I was floored when there office person kept mentioning a tip for our tour. We paid $200 to be shuttled to and from Morris Island. That was more than enough for a boat ride.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Mendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flipperfinders, Owner at Flipper Finders Boat & Sea Kayak Tour Co., responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Rut r-oh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    12
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Salt marsh kayaking at its best”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I wanted to venture out on a kayak into the salt marches by Folly Beach. We signed up for a tourso we wouldn't get lost Oct 2. We decided on a tandem kayak.Andy was our guide.He gave us a good review of kayaking paddling.After a short walk over to the boat slip, Andy made sure we were comfortable in our kayak.Andy were very knowledagable about the marshes and marine biology. It was so serene paddling in the pathways of the marshes that we had seen from the highway After Andy took us around for about 90 minutes we felt we could go out again on our own, Andy said as a repeat customer we would geta discount on a kayak rental.i felt Dolphin Finders did a great job outfitting us and Andy was an expert guide.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mustanglady67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
1 review
“fantastic adventure”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was definitely the highlight of our trip to Folly Beach. Captain Richard did a fantastic job of guiding us thru the waterways for 2 hours. We experienced the beauty of the wildlife, marshes at low tide, history and the lighthouse of Marshall Island. It is truly a beautiful, peaceful area of the world, shown to us expertly thru Captain Richard. Thanks for such a memorable event for my family.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank carla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landrum, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Girls outing a huge success”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Four girls as we still call ourselves, fifty-somethings, former cheerleaders need to take our usual boat ride through the gorgeous South Carolina Lowcountry's Intercoastal Waterways and Rivers and what better way to enjoy ourselves than with our refreshments and a very sweet and handsome boat captain, Richard. We had a wonderful two hour plus cruise with no worries in the world. We will definitely do it again on our next outing to Folly Beach, SC.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Lots of Flippers Found Us!"”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Captain Richard's adventure exceeded our expectations! Wow! Saw dozens of dolphins feeding, playing, and splashing all around us just before a magnificent sunset. In fact, a few of us got a refreshing bath courtesy of a very playful dolphin that literally side-swiped our boat. What fun! Bring your camera and be prepared to play with "Lizzy" (Captain's dog) on the boat and along the beach near the lighthouse. The trip out through the river and marsh to Morris Island is delightful. We spotted pelicans, egrets, crab traps, pluff mud, oyster beds, shipwrecks, and many dolphin. The Captain shared many stories, history, and pointed out many landmarks during our excursion. I can assure you that Captain Richard will do everything in his power to ensure that you see lots, have fun, learn, and meet new people. We intend to do this again! Soon! Join us!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flipper Finders Boat & Sea Kayak Tour Co. also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Flipper Finders Boat & Sea Kayak Tour Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing