We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic adventure”

Flipper Finders Boat & Sea Kayak Tour Co.
Ranked #3 of 20 Tours in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Flipper Finders is a high adventure tour company located on beautiful Folly Beach South Carolina which is the beach located just south of Charleston. We specialize in finding flippers (Atlantic bottle nose dolphins)as well as, other marine based wildlife and shore birds. We offer daily kayak & boat tours and kayak rentals that depart from Center street, right next to the boat landing on the backside of the island. For more information take a look at our Web site.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
charlotte
1 review
“fantastic adventure”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was definitely the highlight of our trip to Folly Beach. Captain Richard did a fantastic job of guiding us thru the waterways for 2 hours. We experienced the beauty of the wildlife, marshes at low tide, history and the lighthouse of Marshall Island. It is truly a beautiful, peaceful area of the world, shown to us expertly thru Captain Richard. Thanks for such a memorable event for my family.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank carla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    12
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Landrum, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Girls outing a huge success”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Four girls as we still call ourselves, fifty-somethings, former cheerleaders need to take our usual boat ride through the gorgeous South Carolina Lowcountry's Intercoastal Waterways and Rivers and what better way to enjoy ourselves than with our refreshments and a very sweet and handsome boat captain, Richard. We had a wonderful two hour plus cruise with no worries in the world. We will definitely do it again on our next outing to Folly Beach, SC.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Lots of Flippers Found Us!"”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Captain Richard's adventure exceeded our expectations! Wow! Saw dozens of dolphins feeding, playing, and splashing all around us just before a magnificent sunset. In fact, a few of us got a refreshing bath courtesy of a very playful dolphin that literally side-swiped our boat. What fun! Bring your camera and be prepared to play with "Lizzy" (Captain's dog) on the boat and along the beach near the lighthouse. The trip out through the river and marsh to Morris Island is delightful. We spotted pelicans, egrets, crab traps, pluff mud, oyster beds, shipwrecks, and many dolphin. The Captain shared many stories, history, and pointed out many landmarks during our excursion. I can assure you that Captain Richard will do everything in his power to ensure that you see lots, have fun, learn, and meet new people. We intend to do this again! Soon! Join us!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
“Amazing Sunset Boat Tour!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Thanks to Captain Richard for making our Sunset Boat Tour Amazing! There were four of us who took the boat tour over labor day weekend and it was way more than we could have expected. We toured along the waterways, spotted tons of dolphins and boated to the Morris Island Lighthouse, which was spectacular. We docked at the island and took some amazing pictures as the sun was setting. Richard was very knowledgable and accommodating - he even said we could bring our dogs! This tour was well worth the money and I would highly recommend Flipper Finders.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Autumn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun finding flippers!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Last night we went out on the boat with Captain Richard and his sweet dog Lizzy. It was my not quite 2 year old son's first ride on a boat and Captain Richard was very patient with him. We had a great walk on Morris island and picked up some wonderful shells. We also got to see plenty of wildlife :) A stingray jumped right out of the water a put on a great show. We also saw a grouping of dolphins fishing up again the beach. Definately recommend this trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank EllenKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flipper Finders Boat & Sea Kayak Tour Co. also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Flipper Finders Boat & Sea Kayak Tour Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing