We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great homemade pizzas”
Review of The Wich Doctor

The Wich Doctor
Ranked #16 of 36 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Pizza, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Description: We serve eclectic sandwiches and pizza.We also do specialty Asian dishes and international daily specials.Many times we will have Japanese Ramen or Vietnamese Pho (the real deal, no cutting corners& no imitations.We have just started offering a Vietnamese Brunch on Saturday & Sunday through the off season.We are a husband and wife team that do everything ourselves.Tiny place, huge taste.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great homemade pizzas”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had a great lunch here one day. The individual pizzas were nice sized and lots of interesting choices.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank shellyb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    27
    6
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This was awesome!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We ordered the pizza special even though it sounded crazy and something we wouldn't normally eat.... vacation is for trying new things right? It was DELICIOUS!!! This was probably one of our favorite places... it's a little tiny place with a few tables - quiet, and really yummy food, and a variety of different beers to choose from. One of the highlights of our trip!! Highly recommend!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaime W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, Va.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“This was perhaps the best meal of the week.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We ate here after another Folly restaurant was closed, and what a fortuitous event it proved to be! We had a party of 12, and the owners welcomed us and helped us push tables together. The drill is straightforward; you grab a beer, order at the counter, they deliver your order to your table, and you pay at the end. The beer selection is excellent, and the menu is quite varied. My sandwich was excellent, and my bride loved her fried green tomato/pimento cheese sandwich. Several of our folks ordered pizza, and it was also fabulous.
Perhaps the restaurant's best quality is the nice couple who run it. They do everything- take your order, open your beer, cook and deliver your food, and ring you up- and they do it in a pleasant and gracious manner.
We will definitely revisit the 'Wich Doctor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeePulaski_Va_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sick of grits? This is the place for you!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had a marvelous lunch here yesterday: the Hanoi Hoagie for me and the Korean BBQ/Kimchee sandwich for him (both also came with a side of chick peas in a delicious cumin/paprika sauce). The sandwiches hit the spot after a hot, steamy ride up and down the island. Excellent flavor, fresh ingedients, and just what the doctor ordered after a few too many shrimp and grits/collards/mac n' cheese meals. Plus, the service was excellent - super friendly folks running this joint. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k99js06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best food on folly”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have a weekend place on folly and unfortunately for us just discovered our true love of the wich doctor over the past year. What's unfortunate is that we spent 3 years eating at other places! The more we eat here the more we want to. Sometimes 2-3 visits a weekend and I talk about the food for hours on the drive home. Pizza is outstanding, all sandwiches we have had are great and the specials are divine. Most recently the beef and ginger noodles blew me away. Simply the best food on folly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wich Doctor also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Wich Doctor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing