We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frolicking Folly Fun in the sun.”

Island Hopper Boat Charters
Ranked #2 of 20 Tours in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Island Hopper Boat Charters is a family owned and operated charter company serving Charleston and Folly Beach since 1997. We offer private boat charters including lighthouse/ shelling trips, dolphin watches and sunset cruises. Capt. Randy Smith is native to the area and places great emphasis on safety and fun. Our primary goal is when you step off our charter, you and your family will have created a lifelong memory ! Capt. Randy
1 review
“Frolicking Folly Fun in the sun.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our little group of four felt like we were in another place and time. Cap'n Randy kind of a Southern Humphrey Bogart with his mini African Queen. Only Cap'n Randy had the charm. You felt safe and secure with this ol' sea salt, knowledgeable yet funny. We did not want this day to end. He had lots of stories about the do yourself weekend warriors who spent the night stuck on a clam bed. He knows the wild life in the marshes and on the islands so we felt well informed about what we had or would see. WE WILL BE BACK CAP'N ...ask him about the "Smoking Dolphin" Tom Jeanne Larry and Linda *****

Helpful?
Thank talec49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Island Hopper Boat Charters is the best! :)”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My fiancee and I just got back from our trip to South Carolina. Despite the fact the weather wasn't optimal leading up to our excursion (it is the beginning of rainy season in SC), Captain Randy was super accommodating and communicative about the pending weather conditions. Despite the questionable forecast, we went ahead with the charter.. and I'm sure glad we did! The weather held out, we saw LOTS of dolphins, and Captain Randy was fun, knowledgeable, and super enthusiastic. I was super excited to see dolphins/do the excursion and it was definitely the highlight of our trip. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is planning a trip to Folly Beach. Thanks Captain Randy! :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendsville, Maryland
2 reviews
“Captain Randy is seriously awesome!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Captain Randy was so nice! By the time our family decided to take a boat tour, it was Wednesday night. I called Captain Randy around 9 Thursday morning and he said that he could get us in at 10:30a.m. Although the tide was a little higher, our family had an awesome time. We really appreciate Capt Randy fitting us in on such a tight schedule. He is extremely knowledgeable about the people and the water. Seeing the dolphins made everybody's day and he answered all of my 10-year-old sister's questions about dolphins! Captain Randy definitely made the tour worth it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Captain Randy and Island Hopper Charters are the Best”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

For the last last several years, Captain Randy Smith has taken my family on multiple boat charters around Folly Beach for our annual family beach week. He has become part of our family vacation and is like a part of the family Randy is a terrific guide and as a native of Folly Beach, he knows all there is to know about this beautiful part of South Carolina. He is great with kids of all ages and his boat trip is the highlight of all of the kids week at Folly. For the last several trips, we have dolphins "strand feeding" and it has allowed for some unbelievable photographs. For the best boat charter in the Lowcountry, you have to see Randy Smith and Island Hopper Charters. We can't wait until we get back down to Folly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Island Hopper Boat tour”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

highly recommend Capt. Randy and his tour! My kids (ages 11,8, and 3) all had a blast and are still talking about all that they saw and learned from our trip. Capt Randy is a local with tons of insight into the area. It's obvious how much he loves his job. I really appreciated how safety conscious he was and how he made sure our group had a great time. Thanks Capt. Randy!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Hopper Boat Charters also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Island Hopper Boat Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing