We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere and good food...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Folly Beach Shrimp Company - CLOSED

Folly Beach Shrimp Company
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and good food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013


FBSC is a great little spot on the corner of Center ST in Folly Beach. The service is somewhat slow but the atmosphere and food are great. They have live music a lot of the time and it is great family fun to eat and listen to the music. The night we went there was a bluegrass group playing and they didn't just play bluegrass (some country, rock and roll, etc.) one guy was even playing a washtub bass... you want be disappointed...slow down it's Folly...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    11
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was one of the most amazing experiences my family has ever had at Dinner. This place really has it together. The only thing that was better then the food was the attitude of the staff. Everything was truly on point. I recommend the Lobster pie or the Cajun Pasta. The avocado on the shrimp scampi was also a nice little touch to a classic favorite of ours. Very reasonable prices as well. We will definetley be back to try everything else on this menu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Ate on outside venue with fireplace. Noisy bikers coming by somewhat a distraction but overall the food was good if a little pricey. Service was excellent given the crowd. I would go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank J R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“More than it seems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

When I saw the menu for this place, I was terrified. The menu is organized in a strange way, and I thought we were getting bar food. I was happily surprised when our food came. It was great! My husband really enjoyed the crab cake sandwich because it was mostly crab and it had a fried green tomato! My shrimp and grits had too much gravy, but it was very tasty. Overall, the drinks were good, and the food was a wonderful surprise. On another note, we could hear the live music from our condo nightly, and only once was it something that I would listen to. I expected that the Charleston area would have more talent, but if they do it's lost on the Shrimp Company.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank shley17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Ohio
Level Contributor
129 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“family meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent service and food. Our 7 year old insisted we return a couple of days later. The seafood was excellent so we didn't argue with him long

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank frs2778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Folly Beach Shrimp Company also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing