We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad news” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Folly Beach Shrimp Company - CLOSED

Folly Beach Shrimp Company
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad news”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

For a place that calls itself "Shrimp Company" they should know how to prepare shrimp. Went there with a few friends and ordered a couple of different shrimp dishes. All were uniformly bad. This place is on a prime corner in Folly Beach, and is almost always empty, that should tell you something.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank tiredroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    11
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Super Bowl Sunday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Great Food and Service. Nice and clean. Very reasoanble pricing.
Great selection. Lots of TV's for the guys...

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Clean61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Were visitng the area for a quick weekend trip and this restaurant was recommended. A little worried since we got there right as the monthly street festival/tasting was ending but enjoyed our appetizer of gator and the shrimp po boy and shrimp philly. It was a little loud since it is more the bar scene and the one unisex restroom was not great but would return if in the area.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chickychick35217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Spent New Year's Day walking and playing on the beach. By 5 pm we were tired and hungry - ready for some comfort food. We decided to ditch our reservations at a fancy restaurant downtown later that evening for a relaxed bite on Folly. This restaurant was just perfect for our needs. Our party of six shared several appetizers and were happy enough with our entrees to be passing plates and sticking forks into each other's meals. Service was personable.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolMom4398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our favorite at Folly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Over the past 4 years, we have been to Folly Beach 5 times. This is our favorite restaurant here. Solid seafood selection at a reasonable price. Better margaritas for the price than Taco Boys.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Folly Beach Shrimp Company also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing