We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Outdoor Seating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grill and Island Bar

The Grill and Island Bar
Ranked #16 of 33 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Grill and Island Bar is casual Folly Beach dining at its finest. Our menu offerings focus on fresh, local ingredients prepared with a fun, Folly twist. Enjoy grilled and fried fish and seafood, burgers and artisan sandwiches, light bites, salads and flatbreads. Eat indoors or on our huge covered patio with a cool ocean breeze. Then grab one of our signature cocktails and kick back to listen to local, live music and take in the breathtaking scenery.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Outdoor Seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our family of 4 ate dinner here and all were pleased. Drinks are reasonable and the outdoor seating is great for this beach town. Our server forgot our appetizer, but realized her mistake when she brought us our meals. So, she offered to still fill the order for free without us even asking. Friendly and homey feeling.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    108
    51
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food at Folly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had lunch here and it was great. The food took a really long time to come out, which was odd because it was just lunch and it was not very busy. I had a grilled pimiento cheese, which was awesome, and my husband had a pimiento cheeseburger, and I didn't hear any complaints from him. The fries are fantastic: nice and crispy with lots of flavor. There were no leftovers at our table. Overall, a good place to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SoldByNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and service. I had the best jumbo fried shrimp ever! My husband had the flounder and it was delicious as well. Make this a stop on your trip!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at The Grill and Island Bar, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your dining experience with us! It pleases us to hear how much you liked your jumbo shrimp and your husband's flounder dish! We greatly appreciate your feedback- and please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Delicious food, friendly folk, good price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I would say the portabello burger was likely the best sandwich I've had in my life. Even my kids liked the food, and they're hard to please! Definitely put this on your list. Yummers!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valdiejune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible service and cold food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is the only restaurant I have ever given a terrible rating. Our server was nice but slow and forgetful, and two of our four meals were cold. The food that was warm was bland and nothing special.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SHuron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill and Island Bar also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Grill and Island Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing