We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Folly Beach
Post
Inbox
Search

“Our waiter forgot us!”

Blu Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #13 of 41 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Artic Street
Transit: Guests of BLU Restaurant & Bar may use the Tides Hotel parking lot free of charge on a space available basis.
Description: Few restaurants in Charleston offer oceanfront dining. None offer the unique experience you'll find at BLU. Set alongside the beach at the Tides Folly Beach, BLU combines indoor and outdoor seating featuring an amazing view of the Atlantic Ocean from almost every seat. Enjoy fresh local seafood showcasing the finest in contemporary coastal cuisine. Casual yet gracious, BLU is the ideal setting for a romantic dinner for two or an enjoyable night out with friends. Sit back, watch the waves roll in and enjoy the cool ocean breeze as we serve you the most delectable food around. With a casual beach bar and comfortable restaurant seating, BLU is where you want to be in Charleston.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

While staying at Tides, we had a really great breakfast at Blu. Came back for a late lunch, ordered our food, someone other than our waiter brought it and we were never checked in on again! Did he go home? Did aliens take him away? We will never know! My husband finally told the hostess and she got a waitress to ring up our bill. Oh, the food was good, real good! I hope our waiter is okay........

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank shspeari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good food, fun atmosphere. But our waitress Heather was amazing, professional and all around great. Ask for her when you are there.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank roydaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tried out BLU during restaurant week. Their were some god choices to choose from. Everything we ate was tasty and their plate presentation is well done, everything looked to good to eat. Their desserts were excellent. The inside tables gives you feeling of being cut off ,like in a separate banquet room, we will sit outdoors next time. Overall a great dining experience.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RedSox1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While staying at the Tides hotel we ate at Blu 3 times. The food, staff and view of the ocean was great.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank bobholt59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietro G, General Manager at Blu Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for dining with us. Hope you'll join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food is not at all what it used to be

The quality of food has certainly gone down at Blu. What used to be one of my favorite dining spots will no longer be a restaurant I frequent. I went with a friend for their special restaurant week menu, which looked great on paper but in reality was just a very basic and overpriced meal for what was served. The Burrata appetizer with heirloom tomatoes consisted of soggy bread, a smear of guacamole, and what looked like a basic, mealy, grocery-store quality tomato. What used to be one of my favorite entrees offered at Blu, the Scallops, is not a mere 2 scallops over creamed rice and corn. This would set you back $26 on a regular night...for 2, yes 2, scallops and white rice. My friends entree of grilled mahi mahi was also a small portion of overcooked fish with rice and a couple slices of zucchini. We were extremely disappointed and do not recommend this restaurant...unless you enjoy overpaying for a very basic and lack-luster meal.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amandalovesallfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietro G, General Manager at Blu Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear amandalovesallfood,
thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We apologize if the experience did not meet your expectations and we hope you will give us another try in the future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Blu Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing