We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“expensive but worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blu Restaurant & Bar

Blu Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Blu Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 33 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Artic Street
Transit: Guests of BLU Restaurant & Bar may use the Tides Hotel parking lot free of charge on a space available basis.
Description: Few restaurants in Charleston offer oceanfront dining. None offer the unique experience you'll find at BLU. Set alongside the beach at the Tides Folly Beach, BLU combines indoor and outdoor seating featuring an amazing view of the Atlantic Ocean from almost every seat. Enjoy fresh local seafood showcasing the finest in contemporary coastal cuisine. Casual yet gracious, BLU is the ideal setting for a romantic dinner for two or an enjoyable night out with friends. Sit back, watch the waves roll in and enjoy the cool ocean breeze as we serve you the most delectable food around. With a casual beach bar and comfortable restaurant seating, BLU is where you want to be in Charleston.
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This food and decor are very expensive but definately worth it. I would do it all over again and the kids loved the mac and cheese plates (huge portions). The crab cakes were to die for.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roger I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    130
    62
    35
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairborn, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over Priced!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was the most expensive meal we had the whole time we were in Folly beach and the most disappointing! I got the Fish and Chips. I received one small piece of fish that wasn't anything to write home about and Ore-Ida french fries. My friend got the Okra chips and was more than disappointed to only get 4! One of the kids in our group asked for fries with their meal and instead of the waitress asking us if we wanted a side of fries, her's was the only kid meal that didn't come with fries, she brought the kid a side of fries and charged us $6! There are so many cute places to eat in town that are delicious and won't break the bank, DON'T EAT HERE!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnhay1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Destination wedding celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We arranged a destination wedding at the Tides in Folly Beach, SC....We decided to have our wedding dinner with our family at BLU since it was right there and so convenient. The dinner was superb and the service was wonderful! Everyone enjoyed it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doxiemom419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Shrimp & Grits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

You have me hooked on shrimp and grits! Awesome!! Everyone in our party had a delicious dinner from grilled red snapper, grilled shrimp, grilled scallops to seafood gumbo. Did not include salad or bread with the meal but was plenty filling!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BLU Restaurant overcharge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Decided to take wife and Mother-in-Law to Blu Restaurant for Easter Buffet after checking Menu etc on their website. 30.95 per person advertised but they actually charged 35.95 per person. Advertised braised leg of lamb but was non-existent. Tiny 5oz tea glasses were never filled and no ice.. I'm sure because they packed tables anywhere and everywhere in the lobby, entranceways, and side hallway so they decided quantity over quality, so they should have at least charged the advertised price. I tipped well since it was a special day but likely will not go back.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daccharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Blu Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing