We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Shrimp & Grits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blu Restaurant & Bar

Blu Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Blu Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 33 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Artic Street
Transit: Guests of BLU Restaurant & Bar may use the Tides Hotel parking lot free of charge on a space available basis.
Description: Few restaurants in Charleston offer oceanfront dining. None offer the unique experience you'll find at BLU. Set alongside the beach at the Tides Folly Beach, BLU combines indoor and outdoor seating featuring an amazing view of the Atlantic Ocean from almost every seat. Enjoy fresh local seafood showcasing the finest in contemporary coastal cuisine. Casual yet gracious, BLU is the ideal setting for a romantic dinner for two or an enjoyable night out with friends. Sit back, watch the waves roll in and enjoy the cool ocean breeze as we serve you the most delectable food around. With a casual beach bar and comfortable restaurant seating, BLU is where you want to be in Charleston.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Shrimp & Grits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

You have me hooked on shrimp and grits! Awesome!! Everyone in our party had a delicious dinner from grilled red snapper, grilled shrimp, grilled scallops to seafood gumbo. Did not include salad or bread with the meal but was plenty filling!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    130
    61
    35
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BLU Restaurant overcharge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Decided to take wife and Mother-in-Law to Blu Restaurant for Easter Buffet after checking Menu etc on their website. 30.95 per person advertised but they actually charged 35.95 per person. Advertised braised leg of lamb but was non-existent. Tiny 5oz tea glasses were never filled and no ice.. I'm sure because they packed tables anywhere and everywhere in the lobby, entranceways, and side hallway so they decided quantity over quality, so they should have at least charged the advertised price. I tipped well since it was a special day but likely will not go back.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daccharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is a nice choice for appetizers or a meal. It is located right off the beach and is usually very busy. It can be noisy with loud music on the weekend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outdoor Tiki Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I can't say much about the sit down restaurant but the outdoor Tiki bar has an awesome day time vibe. We had a group of 20 on a bachelor party and ended up staying at this bar for a whole day after surfing. The bartenders were fun and kept up with our pace of eating/drinking. It turns into a bit more formal at night but we were ready to leave by 5pm anyways.

It's a bit pricey but you can't beat the location and waterfront view.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Poor service and overpriced menu”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

For the poor service: Hostess 'forgot' us (her words) and left us waiting in the bar for 45 minutes.
Waiter brought menus and water and promptly disappeared. About 15 minutes later he arrived, took our order and disappeared again. Food arrived about 40 minutes later.
This is where this experience goes from poor to terrible.
3 scallops on a bed of gooey bland risotto for $26.
A cup of thick inedible she crab soup
The smallest portion of shrimp and grits ever.
We had to get another server to bring us refills and coffee. No one asked how our food was or if we needed anything.
Our server showed up again to bring the bill and left in a flash.
Although this place tries to appear to be an upscale restaurant serving food locally grown they have really missed the boat here.

Maybe this was just an off night but it was without a doubt terrible and we will never eat there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank carolinakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Blu Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing