We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great exepience all in all!

Had sail booked as a present for parents' anniversary who are visiting from overseas. Captain... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
nsamolet
,
Charleston, South Carolina
Fun Times

This was the second time sailing with Sail Folly. So relaxing and fun. The first time with Captian... read more

Reviewed June 9, 2019
Gloria R
Read all 79 reviews
  
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
78
0
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
78
0
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain johnny the bean relaxing sunset cruise bean bag chairs stable boat saw dolphins highly recommend this to anyone morning tour charleston area sand bar great company folly beach area amazing sunset dolphin sightings great trip two hours amazing experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 79 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

Freeman's professional, quiet and laid back captaining was the added tonic in our relaxing gin. A little regrettable that the winds were too high to get to actually sail up the coast and around the lighthouse, but our evening sail throughout the estuary was alive with dolphins, laughing gulls, egrets, pelicans, marooned and wrecked ships, etc., it was magical...and so relaxing. The birds were a thrill for our dachshund to watch and bark at. Wonderful evening.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Sail Folly, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Glad y’all enjoyed the sail and lowcountry wildlife! Thanks y’all for sailing with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

My husband and I had a very relaxing sunset cruise with Captain Johnny. Booking online was really easy and he was waiting for us at the dock. The boat was extremely stable and comfortable with the large bean bag chairs to lounge in. We appreciated that our captain wasn't overly chatty but let us enjoy the beautiful scenery and private conversation. We would definitely book another sail and hope to do it soon.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank BrennanBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Sail Folly, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2019

So glad y’all enjoyed the sail! And thanks for positive feedback. We appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

Thank you so much for the incredible sail! You guys definitely helped make a birthday super special and have plans on coming back in the summer for another awesome adventure! The boat is awesome and it is the best experience! Can't wait to come back, would 10/10 recommend to anyone wanting an awesome sailing experience :)

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank hendersoncl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Sail Folly, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2019

Hey thanks Caroline! Despite the chilly conditions in hat was super fun! Say hey to Reed for us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019

We just loved this trip with Captain Johnny and Freeman sailing Folly River. It was peaceful, fascinating, and such fun. We are already planning our trip next year. Captain Johnny was an incredibly gracious, knowledgeable host (I think a previous reviewer has this captain confused with someone else). We all dressed comfortably...nothing special required...but I do recommend a lightweight jacket because the wind can be cool...oh, and sunblock. We brought cameras which were perfectly safe during the trip, and we had plenty of opportunities to take photos. We felt so welcomed, and we all agreed this was absolutely the best part of our really wonderful holiday to Folly this year. We can’t recommend Sail Folly enough.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank JackieAnneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
540johnnys, Owner at Sail Folly, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2019

Jackie thanks so much! See you again this summer hopefully.
Captain Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019

Dont waste your time or money on this little boat which is a tourist rip off. Much better charter boat options!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank follydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
540johnnys, Owner at Sail Folly, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2019

Top-notch customer service is a priority at Sail Folly as is maintaining the integrity of our reviews and our relationships. Since our opening, we've received only five-star reviews; we are family owned and operated and have never had negative experiences with passengers. If you, indeed, sailed aboard Sail Folly in June of last year, we would have greatly appreciated specific information regarding the date of your sail and specific criticisms; this information would have been used to improve our customer care. However, we looked back at our June 2018 bookings and cannot place you on any manifest. We also noted that you are local to Folly and that your TripAdvisor account was opened this week, only to leave this review 9 months after the date you say you sailed with us. For these reasons, we have asked that TripAdvisor investigate this as a fraudulent review.
At 27 feet long and 16 feet wide, our catamaran is a comfortable and spacious sailing vessel. We provide photos and details about our vessels on our website. We love our fast, stable, and fun catamarans, but we fully recognize that some patrons may prefer other types of on-the-water excursions. This is why we love the synergistic relationship we have with a number of local charter companies on Folly, and believe that when we work together, we can all succeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews