We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but Dirty!”
Review of Tides Folly Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tides Folly Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is basically the only game in town if you are wanting to spend the night at a hotel for a night in Folley Beach. We moved once because our room was dirty. The second room was better but it was still dirty. They have ceramin tile on their floors in the bathrooms and wood (faux) in the bedroom. There was always hair or crud on the floors. The inteior of the rooms are worn, dings in furnitue, rubbed off paint, etc. On the positive side though the bar is nice and it is a GREAT view of the ocean from all rooms. GREAT access to the beach (you are right there). The staff was VERY nice and really made up for the shortcomings of the dirty, dated and worn rooms!

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views but ask for one that has recently been updated.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful compliments of our staff, your view, and Blu! I am happy that you were able to enjoy your overall experience at Tides Folly Beach despite the setback we had with your accommodations. All our rooms are continually updated whether it is with new vinyl flooring or carpet, new paint, new tubs or bathroom fixtures, etc. Hair, dirt, or sand left in a room is an unfortunate oversight and not indicative of the standards of cleanliness to which we hold ourselves and I sincerely apologize that this was your experience. It is my hope that we have the opportunity at a second chance to impress the next time you and your family are in town. Please feel free to contact us directly should you have any questions or should you wish to speak with me regarding any aspect of your vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,369)
There are newer reviews for Tides Folly Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

904 - 910 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

Absolutely love Folly Beach, and this is the only place I will ever stay. LOVE the big patio in the back of the hotel facing the water, with live music and great drinks! Also visit the Lost Dog Café - just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you, Melanie K, for taking the time to contribute such a glowing recommendation! It is always a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very cheap room booked through Travelocity. Booking through hotel costs quite a bit more. Food in hotel restaurant and room service is okay but great local restaurants abound, especially closer to Charleston. Room was clean and quiet with great ocean view. Heated outdoor pool was fun.

Room Tip: Ask for room higher up for best views
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophiesMom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Tides Folly Beach for your winter getaway and for taking the time to write such a great review following your stay! We appreciate your compliments of our restaurant and we’re glad you enjoyed our heated “saltwater” pool.

So all that read this review are aware, we do guarantee the lowest rates for your hotel room either on our own website or over the phone directly with the hotel. If you do find a lower rate elsewhere, we promise to either match or beat that rate so please give us a call!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Went for a friends birthday and the price was good because we went in December and the rooms were in pretty good shape . Looks like they remodeled the inside . Great location to beach and local bars and reataurents .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joef22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tides for your friend’s birthday! We appreciate your compliments regarding the cleanliness of your room and our property as a whole. It is our hope that we will see you again on your next visit to Folly Beach. Please feel free to contact us directly so that we may work on exceeding your expectations during your next stay at Tides Folly Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Overall we enjoyed our stay this past weekend! The property was well maintained and the cleaning staff do a great job and are extremely friendly and the barista at Roasters was very helpful. Our only complaint happened at check-in. When we arrived we asked if we could extend our stay another night, we were told that we would be charged 349.00 for the extra night WOW that's quite the mark-up we couldn't believe what we were told. There was no misunderstanding, she wanted us to pay 349.00 for one extra night. We told her never mind we would use Travelocity to find another room somewhere else for the third night, as I got out my IPAD to start the search she went to the back around the corner then came back shortly saying the manager approved a special discounted amount of 139.00 for the third night. Did she really think we were that stupid to actually pay 349.00 or did she realize that her scam was busted when I went on Travelocity and saw that plenty of rooms were available at the regular weekend price of 139.00. Luckily once we got over the disappointing start to our stay everything else was great!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrettD1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for staying with us during your weekend getaway and for your compliments of our property and our staff! Please accept our apologies for the rate you were quoted while attempting to extend your stay. This was a simple error by our guest service agent in that she looked up the wrong date and the wrong room type. It was I that she spoke to about the rate and we were able to quickly correct the misquoted rate. The rates in our computers are either in parity with all online booking options or, in most cases, even more competitive. I am very pleased that we were able to resolve this issue quickly and that you were able to enjoy your entire stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed over new year and joined the n y e party. It was the best new year we have had for many years. The staff are incredibly helpful, the rooms were good and the food very good. It is right there on the beach, which great for walking,biking and of course swimming.
We have stayed in many types of hotels, but this was the friendliest place.
We will return next year--- well worth the long journey from the UK

Stayed: December 2013
Thank bernieboops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Happy New Year! Thank you for kicking off 2014 with us at the beach and for contributing such a fantastic review of your experience here on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your compliments about the party, the food, the rooms and especially the friendliness of our staff. We hope you’ve found a new New Year’s tradition and will travel “across the pond” to celebrate with us for years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at the Tides between Christmas and New Years Eve. What a wonderful experience, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a room on the 8th floor, it was very quiet and peaceful, the view was awesome. if you have pets, this hotel is very pet friendly, it was a real pleasure being able to take our boxer out on the beach and come back in and relax in couches in the lobby. The outside bar and grill is great, several fire spots to sit by and enjoy a drink and socialize. I highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: We have stayed here in the past, a ground floor room has a nice patio, this visit we stayed on the 8...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for continuing to make Tides Folly Beach your home-away-from-home! We thoroughly enjoy meeting all our four-legged guests and we are very happy all of you had such a nice time. Thank you for your compliments regarding your room, the restaurant and especially our staff. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you on future visits to the Lowcountry!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
9.6 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
12.6 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
460 reviews
8.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,217 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Holliday inn Folly Beach
Holliday inn Folly Beach
#4 of 4 in Folly Beach
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Folly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Folly Beach

Address: 1 Center Street, PO Box 68, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Price Range: $136 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tides Folly Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nine miles from historic downtown Charleston, Tides Folly Beach is located along one of south's most beautiful beaches, offering breathtaking views and a laid back vibe. Tides is the ideal destination for your next Charleston beach vacation, wedding or get-together with friends, family or business associates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tides Folly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Folly Beach Hotel Folly Beach
Holiday Inn Folly Beach
Folly Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing