We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tides Folly Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tides Folly Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I went to Folly Beach with a friend from Chicago. We first stopped at the Holliday Inn but the man was, at best, indifferent to tourists so we left. The Tides was a different story.

The staff was wonderful. Welcoming, friendly, and happy. Kudos to Tony who was a pleasure.

It was a relaxing, pleasant experience just walking through the door. The decor is calming and very user friendly.

We had one of our best meals at their restaurant, Blu. Micro carrots! Additionally, they made a veggie wrap that, when I'm finished with this, I'm going to write them and beg for the recipe.

We had planned to stay for a night. We stayed for four. The staff made all the difference.

Room Tip: The rooms all seem to have a view of the pier, higher floors with a better view. They all have balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyhalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to extend your stay from one to four nights and for your great compliments of our staff! I’ve relayed, to Tony, your praises of his service specifically. He sends his thanks and we’re all very happy you had such a delightful time. Thank you for your compliments of Blu and I’m sure we can work out something with that recipe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    409
    189
    86
    57
See reviews for
463
508
31
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We loved our stay! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were pleased with the recommendations the staff gave us for restaurants and sightseeing in the area. The room was spacious and the view of the ocean was incredible. Will definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for this awesome review following your stay at Tides Folly Beach! Thank you for your compliments of our staff and we’re glad you enjoyed the recommendations. We look forward to being your hotel of choice on future visits to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here mid-week and it was very busy indeed. Parking was hard to come by, but we luckily found what appeared to be the last remaining space in the parking lot.

Once in the hotel, the reception area was nicely updated and modern, but the check-in process was a little disorganized and haphazard and we weren’t able to check in early as we’d hoped.

After checking in we proceeded to our room which was, fortunately, on a high floor as we’d requested. The corridors leading to the rooms are open to the elements, which is nice in one way as there is a good view of downtown Folly Beach, but not so good if it is raining (which it was) as you get wet! The corridors were damp and various room service trays were scattered outside the doors and were still there when we left the following day.

The room itself was also fairly modern and updated, with the exception of the doors which looked in pretty rough shape - the entry door particularly looked as if someone had been kicking it repeatedly. In addition there were some unattractive black smears above the bed near the ceiling, but the rest of the room was quite nice and clean. The view from our balcony was great but, as others have commented, the balconies are also a little rough round the edges and only just big enough to stand on and enjoy the view (to be fair this is clearly stated on the hotel website).

All in all we had a decent stay – everything was just ok, with the exception of the hotel restaurant which was much nicer than I’d expected it would be – we had a lovely meal there and the service was also good.

Overall, however, I was a bit disappointed – great location, but otherwise I think it is an expensive stay for what you get – I’m sure I can do better elsewhere, so I won’t be going back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PooksNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for being our guest this past August and for contributing such an honest review of your experience. While it appears that, as a hotel, we didn’t quite exceed your expectations, I am happy that you found the restaurant lovely and we thank you for your compliments of the meal you had and the service you received.

During the summer months, the parking lot is more full than in the winter and our bellman are always available to help you find parking should there be a shortage of spaces. Please accept our apologies regarding the room service trays that were left in the hallways. This was an unfortunate oversight on our part and the issue has been brought to the attention of the appropriate managers so that future guests don’t have a similar experience.

Thank you again for your contribution. The next time you are in the area, we encourage you to contact us directly so we can assist with your accommodations even if you choose not to stay with us again. We can make several recommendations for houses or even hotels that might better suit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

What a fantastic place! It's like a little beach resort! We stayed a Sunday and Monday in late Spetember to save a few bucks on the rate and it was worth it! Nice room with an amazing view! Folly Beach is a great little town. LOVE the Starbucks in the hotel! Would highly recommend a weekend. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: all rooms face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for a couple of days this September! Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff and we are all happy you enjoyed your room, the view, Roasted and the town of Folly Beach. Thank you for recommending Tides here on Tripadvisor and to your friends. We look forward to having you stay with us again, weekday or weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here for a very quick recent getaway. I can only imagine how alive the place must be when its actually really warm out but liked that it wasn't crowded at all. I will say you can tell more work has gone into creating a wow effect in the lobby, restaurant and public areas rather than the rooms and walkways leading up to the rooms. The balcony would have been nice to sit out on and nicer if it wasn't all rusted. Given the weathering effects of literally being right on the beach these things need to be kept up a little better. Once you step off the elevator its like you went from chic, modern, and tasteful in the lobby to motel 8 in the walkway balconies to the rooms. Made you wonder why all that upkeep and beauty you saw downstairs didn't translate to upstairs too. But entering the room it was standard 2.5-3 star quality room. The rusted door latch was difficult to close, the very MINI fridge was nice, the television channels were all scratchy except a few, the bathroom was standard. Overall I would stay here again but spend most of my time away from the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyblue08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend your getaway with us at the beach! Thank you for taking the time to compliment the design and cleanliness of our common areas, lobby and restaurant as well. We have undergone several multi-million dollar renovations over the years in addition to our annual 4-day closure that allows us time to work on other major projects. One of the projects we will undertake this January is to update the corridors on our 9th, 8th and 7th floors with tiled floors like what we have on the 2nd floor. While we have always been and will always be an exterior corridor hotel, we are very committed to making those hallways as comfortable and inviting as possible. I’m sure the author of this review and all reading this response will be pleasantly surprised during future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

we went here to try something different! and we got it. great service from the moment we parked to car until we left. very good rooms as all have a waterfront view. good to hear the sound of the surf! and diner at blu was very nice! we enjoyed this stay and plan to return again!

Room Tip: even in what may be considered the off season it is still a great place to stay and eat. many close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We enjoyed having you as our guests and are thrilled to have exceeded your expectations with regard to our facilities and the service you received! We look forward to your company on future visits to the Edge of America!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My visit to Folly Beach at the tide was awesome, the restaurant was delicious and the view of the water was amazing, Mrs Ruth Ann Anthony referred us here and I loved every moment. Thank you for the great stay and referral I will definitely be coming back

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing to visit us at the Edge of America! Thank you for your compliments of our restaurant, Blu, as well as Ruth-Ann. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
9.5 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
12.6 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
12.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
8.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Holliday inn Folly Beach
Holliday inn Folly Beach
#4 of 4 in Folly Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Folly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Folly Beach

Property: Tides Folly Beach
Address: 1 Center Street, PO Box 68, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tides Folly Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nine miles from historic downtown Charleston, Tides Folly Beach is located along one of south's most beautiful beaches, offering breathtaking views and a laid back vibe. Tides is the ideal destination for your next Charleston beach vacation, wedding or get-together with friends, family or business associates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tides Folly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Folly Beach Hotel Folly Beach
Holiday Inn Folly Beach
Folly Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing