We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can't beat the views and service, but...”
Review of Tides Folly Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tides Folly Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You can't beat the views and service, but...”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here for a very quick recent getaway. I can only imagine how alive the place must be when its actually really warm out but liked that it wasn't crowded at all. I will say you can tell more work has gone into creating a wow effect in the lobby, restaurant and public areas rather than the rooms and walkways leading up to the rooms. The balcony would have been nice to sit out on and nicer if it wasn't all rusted. Given the weathering effects of literally being right on the beach these things need to be kept up a little better. Once you step off the elevator its like you went from chic, modern, and tasteful in the lobby to motel 8 in the walkway balconies to the rooms. Made you wonder why all that upkeep and beauty you saw downstairs didn't translate to upstairs too. But entering the room it was standard 2.5-3 star quality room. The rusted door latch was difficult to close, the very MINI fridge was nice, the television channels were all scratchy except a few, the bathroom was standard. Overall I would stay here again but spend most of my time away from the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyblue08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend your getaway with us at the beach! Thank you for taking the time to compliment the design and cleanliness of our common areas, lobby and restaurant as well. We have undergone several multi-million dollar renovations over the years in addition to our annual 4-day closure that allows us time to work on other major projects. One of the projects we will undertake this January is to update the corridors on our 9th, 8th and 7th floors with tiled floors like what we have on the 2nd floor. While we have always been and will always be an exterior corridor hotel, we are very committed to making those hallways as comfortable and inviting as possible. I’m sure the author of this review and all reading this response will be pleasantly surprised during future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    421
    194
    89
    59
See reviews for
480
517
31
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

we went here to try something different! and we got it. great service from the moment we parked to car until we left. very good rooms as all have a waterfront view. good to hear the sound of the surf! and diner at blu was very nice! we enjoyed this stay and plan to return again!

Room Tip: even in what may be considered the off season it is still a great place to stay and eat. many close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We enjoyed having you as our guests and are thrilled to have exceeded your expectations with regard to our facilities and the service you received! We look forward to your company on future visits to the Edge of America!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My visit to Folly Beach at the tide was awesome, the restaurant was delicious and the view of the water was amazing, Mrs Ruth Ann Anthony referred us here and I loved every moment. Thank you for the great stay and referral I will definitely be coming back

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing to visit us at the Edge of America! Thank you for your compliments of our restaurant, Blu, as well as Ruth-Ann. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was a quick trip for my girlfriend and I to get away together. It started with cocktails on the deck while we waited on our room to be ready and ended with a romantic stroll on the beach first thing in the morning. The staff and service was impeccable and the food at the restaurant was divine. We really did not have to leave the facility the entire time (although we did for a quick jaunt to downtown Charleston. All in all it was a perfect 2 days on Folly Beach.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean, but I would suggest a higher level room for better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Of all the places you could have stayed during your trip “across the pond,” we are thrilled that you chose to stay with us at the Tides Hotel on Folly Beach! It was a pleasure meeting you and I thank you for your compliments of our entire staff as well as food at Blu. We all look forward to the next chance you have to visit the U.S. and Folly Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

After visiting Folly Beach for many years and renting houses, my wife and I found ourselves in a situation where we needed a place to stay in or near Charleston for a couple of nights on short notice. We were able to get a room at the Tides at a very reasonable rate on Halloween and the day after. We called the hotel direct and didn't bother with Priceline, Expedia, etc. The prices they were quoting were more expensive for hotels over in West Ashley and North Charleston than we were able to get by calling the Tides directly .My wife had stayed at the Tides for a couple of nights back in February and liked it, so I agreed to give it a go.
We were warmly greeted by the staff, which is always nice. The lobby is very nicely decorated in a modern, beachy, theme with an aquarium! The pillars around the front desk change color at night, so it's pretty cool lobby. Our room was a standard twin queen room on the sixth floor. All of the corridors are exposed and even though they face west, it can still be pretty breezy.
Our room was decorated very nicely in a modern, beach theme. A mixture of tile and carpet flooring was welcome, and the paintings were an upgrade from the usual hotel stuff and so were the lamps. The beds we found to be be pretty comfortable. The refridgerator and coffee maker were "hidden" in the dresser. That was fine for the fridge, but a pain for the coffee maker, so I moved that into the bathroom where there was plenty of room on the expansive vanity. The tub and shower were nice and big, although the water pressure wasn't the greatest. A flat screen TV is pretty standard these days but I think they need a booster on the cable as a lot of channels were very "snowy". The balcony is small, but you do have a gorgeous view of the pier and ocean.
The only "bad" part of our stay was that we had to remind the front desk at 3:00 P.M. that our room hadn't been done. When we returned around 8:00, it had been taken care of with the exception of new water and coffee cups. A little thing, but if you're going to market yourself as premier destination it's important to pay attention to the little things!
The one thing that really impressed me about the Tides is that it is the cleanest oceanfront hotel I've ever stayed in. Usually, hotels right on the beach have rust on the AC unit and balcony door frame and water stains on the walls. Not so the Tides. Yeah, the rooms are a bit small since it was built in the '80's as a Holiday Inn, but they've done an excellent job of updating them. What really makes it remarkable is that the Tides is pet friendly! Parking was never a problem, and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. We love Folly and now the Tides!

Room Tip: The rooms to the south are over the pool and outside bar, so it can get a bit noisy....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwwhorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing to be out guest over the Halloween Holiday and for contributing such an open, thoughtful and comprehensive review here following your visit! Your compliments of our facilities, staff, and cleanliness are very much appreciated by everyone as I have shared your thoughts throughout the hotel. I believe you paint an excellent picture of what our future guests can expect whilst staying with us at Tides Folly Beach!

Please accept my apology for our tardiness in attending to your room from one day to the next and for not replenishing everything as should have been done. You’re absolutely correct, in that, the smallest of details make the greatest of impressions. We look forward to rectifying that on your next visit in order to earn that extra Tripadvisor “green dot!”

Thank you again for being our guest and for all your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, Tennessee, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed in October, so it wasn't crowded. The beach access was great, the view was spectacular. We were close to the pier and within walking distance to several good restaurants. The hotel restaurant was fantastic. The staff was very friendly and ready to help with whatever we requested. The room did have several issues. The bathroom was missing a vent fan, and the bed linens were musty when we arrived. The room does not come with a microwave, but one was provided upon request. The outdoor furniture was very dirty and in some disrepair. Overall, though, it was a great stay. We definitely plan to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to compliment and critique your recent visit to Tides Folly Beach! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience of not only the hotel but of all the offerings of Folly Beach. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcoming you back on many future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We never expected accommodations as fine as we had, thanks to Tides. The service was impeccable, as was the room. The fridge did not seem to be cool. When I asked if there was anything I could do, the young manat the check-in desk sent a service man to our room within minutes. The room rate was deliciously low, esp. considering the room (614) and the view--ocean front. Our only unhappy memory to the place is that we forgot a shower grip handle to help us in and out of the bathtub. The cleaning crew apparently didn't recognize it, but it disappeared in next to no time. Our fault for leaving it behind, so, RATS. Even this set back did not spoil memories of our stay.

Room Tip: Use the internet to take a photo. There's a slew of good places to eat, but the Tides Blu is al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Exceeding the expectations of our guests is a priority 24/7 so, I must say, I love the title of your review! Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tides Folly Beach and for your incredible compliments of our staff, your accommodations and the services you received. Please know we are still on the lookout for your shower grip handle as I’m positive it has simply been mixed in with other such handles in our inventory. If we can’t find it in the coming days, we will gladly replace it and ship a new handle to you. Please accept our apologies for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
9.6 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
12.6 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#3 of 5 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
8.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Holliday inn Folly Beach
Holliday inn Folly Beach
#4 of 4 in Folly Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Folly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Folly Beach

Property: Tides Folly Beach
Address: 1 Center Street, PO Box 68, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tides Folly Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nine miles from historic downtown Charleston, Tides Folly Beach is located along one of south's most beautiful beaches, offering breathtaking views and a laid back vibe. Tides is the ideal destination for your next Charleston beach vacation, wedding or get-together with friends, family or business associates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tides Folly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Folly Beach Hotel Folly Beach
Holiday Inn Folly Beach
Folly Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing