We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Hotel”
Review of Tides Folly Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tides Folly Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was a very nice place with beach front rooms. Accommodations and staff were very nice. Only wish there was a bigger pool. Guests would reserve chairs at the pool then go to the beach for hours so there were not enough lounge seating. Also bring your own beach chairs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleonmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,369)
There are newer reviews for Tides Folly Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

971 - 977 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a nice two day beach getaway and it was surprisingly very nice. We remember when it was a holiday inn and there were just a few houses in that area. It has changed a lot and looks like a real resort area. We loved the view we had from the nineth floor and the beautiful pier. A great value. The room was clean and the services were great. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area restaurants. The only negative would be the noisy air conditioner. It is the old fashioned one that is in the room and my husband couldn't sleep for the noise. Also, be prepared for late housekeeping services. After being out all day an coming back for a short nap around 2:00 PM and finding my room as we left it I was very disturbed but found that was the norm. All in all a nice hotel and if it wasn't for the noisy air conditioners we would stay again but sleep is too important.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for a great view. Also bring small folding chairs for the beach and for your bal...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pittword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The view was great! It was absolutely overpriced!!! The room was NASTY! Dog poop in the hallway! The service at the restaurant was awful!! Food was terrible. Mouse and birds in the outdoor restaurant!!! The lock on room door was broken and door frame was rusted!!! Dirty carpet, dirty sheets, walls, destroyed furniture, rusted sprinkle system, extremely dirty areas around ice machines and dirty mini fridge! Wonder how this place has a license to stay in business, since it violets every code! Its hazardous to your health.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FallApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was in Folly Beach for a bachelor party in early August. I have to say, we had a great time. The hotel has many pluses and only a few things that are negatives.

PROS:
- Updated lobby
- Updated rooms
- Great bar, good prices
- Cool location. Felt like I was in a small version of a larger strip. There are several walkable restuarants and bars nearby. Cool little town and can be anywhere within a 10 minute walk.
- Nice staff
- Right on beach

CONS:
- Beach is kind of on the ugly side. Dark, almost black sand
- Grounds in and around the hotel could use some attention
- Cramped pool. Why is the pool so small? The beach area is huge. Seems like plenty of room.
- Long ways from airport and downtown.

Overall Grade - B: Nice hotel that has a cool local party/restaurant scene and a nice bar area. Not a 5 star place, and could use a little attention here and there. Expensive, but in line with small hotels in small beach areas that are nowhere near downtown centers. Would come again, but only for the local fun with friends. Doesn't seem like much of a family type place, though I did see a few kids.

Room Tip: Get one with a walkout patio.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCTraveler2786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We did not stay at the Tides, but attended a wedding reception there. Mixed reviews on this....

On the good side, the food was good and the food and beverage manager helped me negotiate my way through, keeping my food allergy in mind. The service during the cocktail hour was efficient and friendly, and the views out to the beach and pier were very nice.

However, the banquet room was very cold. Many people were complaining about it. And the bathrooms were downright frigid. But our biggest complaint was with the parking. While we weren't hotel guests, we were guests of the hotel for the party (and I'm positive the bride and groom paid a good amount to have their party at the Tides). And yet we were not allowed to park on property. When we arrived, the gate attendant told us we would have to find parking on the street or go to one of the public lots in town. This town is very busy and parking is at an extreme premium. We ended up paying about $10 to park in a lot that was several blocks away.

If you can't provide parking for people who are attending an event at your hotel, then at least offer a stipend towards parking in one of the local lots or work with the closest lot to arrange for party guests to get preferred spots.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Bookworm426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here a rainy weekend in May but made the most of the weather. The hotel has a nice pool and beachfront. The kids also enjoyed walking along the pier. The rooms we clean and comfortable for a family of 4. Great shops and restaurants within walking distance. We were also able to easily get to downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracytm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

It was a brief beach get away for us that we really enjoyed. When we first arrived a DJ was positioned near the outdoor bar. A younger crowd prevailed in that area, but I loved the music and enjoyed the people watching! Our first room was located on the 8th floor, directly next to a room with two small dogs. Each time the owner left, the dogs would cry and bark. We were quickly moved to another room. It turned out to be the quietest hotel room I ever visited! The rooms were clean, the staff was efficient and very friendly. The service in the restaurant was on the slow side, but we were not in a rush to begin with. The coffee shop served Starbucks, which we enjoy, but it wasn't served hot :( There were no room safes, so be aware of that. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Tides and would return. We are dog owners and this was our first trip in a long time without Fido, but since it's a dog friendly hotel we met up with a few great furballs!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank realtoronthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
9.6 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
12.6 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
459 reviews
8.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,212 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Holliday inn Folly Beach
Holliday inn Folly Beach
#4 of 4 in Folly Beach
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Folly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Folly Beach

Address: 1 Center Street, PO Box 68, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Price Range: $133 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tides Folly Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nine miles from historic downtown Charleston, Tides Folly Beach is located along one of south's most beautiful beaches, offering breathtaking views and a laid back vibe. Tides is the ideal destination for your next Charleston beach vacation, wedding or get-together with friends, family or business associates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tides Folly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Folly Beach Hotel Folly Beach
Holiday Inn Folly Beach
Folly Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing