We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Tides Folly Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tides Folly Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at Tides over memorial day weekend for my bachelorette party. I could not have picked a better place. I loved the modern décor of the hotel. The pool bar and hotel bar were also great! We are brunch at the hotel and you get a great view of the ocean!
The location of the hotel is also nice. It is walking distance to several bars and restaurants!
The staff was also wonderful at check in and through out the stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwc03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing Tides for your bachelorette party over the Memorial Day Holiday this year! Thank you for your compliments of our facilities, our staff and for joining us at Blu Restaurant and Bar. We’re glad you ladies had such an amazing time and we look forward to being your hotel of choice for your next outing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    426
    200
    90
    60
See reviews for
485
523
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel room and staff were just average. If all you care about is the location, then this is the place for you. I wasn't impressed with this hotel. The hotel pool staff definitely need to learn more about customer service and friendliness. It was lacking by one of the female staff members. I'm not planning to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovetotravel_mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tides on your recent trip to the Lowcountry! Our pledge to our guests is “the only thing we overlook is the beach.” Clearly, we overlooked more than that with the author of this review. Your concerns regarding the service you received at the pool have been addressed and all readers of this review will see a marked improvement from the experience of this author. I encourage the author of this review to contact me directly to discuss any more compliments or concerns they may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have just returned from a few days at the Tides. This hotel is in a great spot for the beach and for restaurants. The staff was extremely friendly. I would definitely suggest getting a room on a higher floor to minimize the noise from the pool, bar, pier, and beach. The rooms were large and clean with great ocean views. The only negative of our stay was the air conditioner. It was extremely loud and we had trouble sleeping with it on at night. The restaurant is good but eat inside to protect your food from the birds. The porch bar is a great place for an afternoon drink.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleighb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for spending a couple of days with us at Tides and for your wonderful compliments of our staff and our on-site restaurant! I’m happy to hear you had such a great time and we look forward to many return visits to the Edge of America!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spent one night there on July 14th, 2013. After reading the reviews the stay was pretty much what I was expecting. We were greeted by a very friendly staff when we arrived and checked in. We had a lovely view from our ninth floor room. The room was just average for the price. I was all right with all of that. But, two things. There was only decaf coffee included with the coffee maker in our room, so I went down to the lobby to ask for regular. The clerk said she'd get me some and I went for a walk on the beach and we agreed I'd get it when I came back. I came back and she'd forgotten so she said she'd send it up to our room. It never came. Then, I accidentally left my shampoo and conditioner in the room. I called the next morning and asked if housekeeping had found it. She took my room number and phone number and said she'd have housekeeping call me. They didn't. I called back and the same thing, no return call. Minor annoyances, but for a hotel that prides itself on service, I found it lacking. We moved inland for the next several days and we both agreed that quality and service were much easier to find. Driving six miles to the beach from a hotel that was a better value and offered greater service and amenities was probably what we should have done in the first place.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the beach, but a higher floor probably gives you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mollymagee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tides on your recent trip to the Lowcountry! Our pledge to our guests is “the only thing we overlook is the beach.” Clearly, we overlooked more than that with the author of this review. Minor annoyances add up and that is something we all understand here at Tides Folly Beach so attention to detail is always a focal point. Please accept our apologies for our shortcomings during your stay. I encourage the author of this review to contact me directly so that I may help right these wrongs and show them that Tides is, indeed, the standard of customer service excellence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great family beach for fishing, relaxing, and eating. Tide great place to stay. Very few hotels on Folly Beach due to being a small area. If you get reservation to stay here good luck in the summer. Always busy. Great staff, clean rooms and on the beach. Thumbs up to a great stay!

Room Tip: Book this place early for summer fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thumbs up to a great review! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and I’m glad you were able to get reservations. Thank you for your compliments of our staff and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you on many more trips to Folly Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Tides is at the end of Center street with a great beach. We held our family reunion here. We had problems with the reservations for four rooms but after being persistent management gave us the rate that was quoted to us. The room was fine and staff very friendly. The breakfast buffet was great and reasonably priced. We had lunch at Blu but not dinner. Lunch was fine, nothing special. The beach is what you come for and it doesn't disappoint. Location, Location, Location. What more can I say.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean but don't expect to sit on your balcony. Too small for a chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LZtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to hold your family reunion at Tides Folly Beach! It was a pleasure serving you and we appreciate your compliments of our staff and of our restaurant. We hope to play host to future reunions for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently and found the Tides hotel to be an average hotel for the money spent. Based on my vacation experiences this hotel is priced high for the amenities and surrounding area. We spent $259 for oceanfront room, hotel is clean and nicely updated but our rooms air conditioning unit was very loud. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. I really can't say anything bad about our stay.

Folly Beach as a whole was VERY disappointing, not impressed at all. The island pretty much is all vacation homes, the Tides hotel and a few restaurants/bars all at one intersection. The vacation homes on the island were half nice and half slummy looking. I would not rent a home on this island. The beach is grayish in color and looks dirty, not sure why, but if you're hoping for pretty yellow/white Florida-like beaches this is not the place. Unfortunately, it rained most of our stay so we did not spend any time at pool or beach. We probably would not stay here again only because of the surrounding area.

Charleston is AWESOME, we had a blast exploring! Charleston is like Key West minus the wild party and beaches. Pretty much the entire Historic District was beautiful and worth walking the streets and exploring. I felt safe and comfortable walking all over the town.
My suggestion would be to come to town and take a carriage ride around Charleston to get familiar, then walk and explore shops, food and quiet places. We also did the Bulldog Ghost & Dungeon Tour. We also went to Patriot Point and Boone Hall Plantation. 2 to 3 days would be the recommended amount of time to spend here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LePort963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tides during your vacation! We appreciate you compliments of our staff and are happy that you found your accommodations to your liking. I’m thrilled that you were so impressed with the Charleston area, as a whole, and hope you’ll have the opportunity to come back again! Perhaps, next time, we’ll be able to order up some dryer weather so you’ll be able to enjoy the beach and pool deck.

Being that we are the closest beach hotel to Charleston’s historic district (9 miles), we encourage all our guests wishing to spend some time in America’s favorite city to do so. We can arrange your travel, tours and dinner reservations and, of course, look forward to hearing all about it upon your return to Folly!

For those wishing to enjoy island living, please note that Folly Beach has a plethora of options! We have twenty-nine restaurants, bars and eateries spanning 10 intersections (all walking distance). Also within walking distance on the main street are two surf shops, a handful of souvenir shops, galleries, a library and three churches. Several outdoor adventure programs and activities are available including, but not limited to, the Folly Beach Fishing Pier, kayaking, paddle-boarding, boating, fishing, jet skis, and bike and chair rentals. Historically, Folly Beach is very significant and you may learn why on tours to the Morris Island Lighthouse and Porgy and Bess House. With the Folly Beach County Park now open again, we have even more to offer locals and visitors alike!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
9.6 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
12.6 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
430 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
12.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#3 of 5 in Isle of Palms
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holliday inn Folly Beach
Holliday inn Folly Beach
#4 of 4 in Folly Beach
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Folly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Folly Beach

Property: Tides Folly Beach
Address: 1 Center Street, PO Box 68, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tides Folly Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nine miles from historic downtown Charleston, Tides Folly Beach is located along one of south's most beautiful beaches, offering breathtaking views and a laid back vibe. Tides is the ideal destination for your next Charleston beach vacation, wedding or get-together with friends, family or business associates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tides Folly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Folly Beach Hotel Folly Beach
Holiday Inn Folly Beach
Folly Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing