We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
Review of Tides Folly Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tides Folly Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We arrived at Tides to be greeted by Jay. What a terrific guy. He helped us unload our bags, took us to our room, then proceeded to answer any questions we had about the island. He then helped get our car parked, as it was very busy . Every time we saw Jay, he spoke to us , and ask us about our day. He seemed sincere and not just being polite. The people at the front desk were always super friendly too. Also very polite. The view from our room was fabulous. We spent a lot time looking out at the water. The music at the outdoor bar was very good . Christy Snow Duo. We enjoyed listening to them . The drinks were also very good. The beach was always very clean . We watched a crew clean it and straighten everything up everyday. How nice!!! The only minor problem was housekeeping. They did not leave us toiletries until we were totally out. And I had to call the front desk for coffee once because they left decaf. Other than that, enjoyed staying here very very much!! Very very friendly!!!!!!!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to compliment our staff, Jay specifically! I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, your view, and the drinks and music at Blu. I apologize for the oversight in making sure your room was fully stocked with amenities but am happy that we were able to resolve those matters quickly so you could continue enjoying your time with us. We look forward to meeting you again on your next visit to Folly Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    421
    195
    89
    58
See reviews for
480
517
31
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The location is great and staff are friendly. We checked out a day early, though, because the room is so damp and the air conditioner is way too loud. It is impossible to sleep with it running - it is like having a big truck turning on and off in the room all night long. There is mold in the ceiling, broken exhaust fan in the bathroom, broken safety chain on the door, and paper thin walls. Our next door neighbors brought in a barking dog, adding to the general noise pollution. The parking is also inadequate for the number of guests, so we've spent a good bit of time roaming the streets for a place to park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKT888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We thank you for choosing to stay at Tides for a few nights and thank you very much for your compliments of our staff. We regret that the issues you experienced with the AC and noise resulted in a decision to leave early. I sincerely wish we had the opportunity to discuss these problems while you were here as I am positive we could have resolved these concerns. Please accept our apologies for our shortcomings during your stay and know that I am willing to discuss any matters directly with all our guests before, during and after your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

While at Tides the staff was very helpful and friendly. We were expecting more for the price. It was more like paying for location. Our room was spacious, bathroom was pretty clean, and we had a nice view of the ocean. There was however mildew/mold on the ceilings and on our lamp shade. There wasn't a fan in the bathroom which made the room stuffy after a shower. If your top priority is being beach front this is your place. The beach was very nice.
Next time we are in the area we would think about renting a house/condo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jax6167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for making the Tides Hotel your hotel of choice on your recent vacation! We appreciate your compliments of our staff as they do work very hard to make everyone’s stay fun and memorable. Please accept our apologies for the cleanliness of your room as it pertained to mold. We have addressed your concerns with our housekeeping staff so that this type of oversight may be avoided with future guests. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you on future visits to Folly Beach whether you stay with us or choose to rent a vacation home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The rooms are large, clean with comfortable beds, with the best view of the pier and ocean on the island! There's a nice lobby where you can relax, read a book and enjoy the view, and the restaurant/bar had a great breakfast buffet and good drinks and friendly staff. Although it rained the weekend I stayed there, there was an area on the patio to take cover out of the rain but still enjoy the view, and the staff was very helpful and attentive, especially Jay who always said hello and went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed!! Highly recommend Tides and Folly beach!! Don't forget to have a drink at Sunset Cay and Loggerheads while visiting too.
DT-El Segundo CA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for this amazing endorsement of Tides Folly Beach! We are happy to hear that you found your accommodations spacious and comfortable. Thank you for your compliments of our staff and of Jay specifically. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you and those you recommend on future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We requested an oceanfront room as high up as possible. We enjoy taking pictures of the ocean when storms are coming. Weather predicted thunderstorms that night. The reservation person who took my credit card number assured me that an oceanfront high up room was available. When we arrived we found ourselves on the second floor where a row of palm trees totally blocked our view of the ocean. We went to the desk to request another room, of course no one cared and they said they were full. The room was expensive. The lock on our door didn't work and they had no balcony chairs, not that one would sit out there. I will never go back. They did not mind taking my money
.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tides for your beach vacation this year. All rooms at Tides are oceanfront and feature small walkout balconies. Specific floors are never guaranteed. We work very hard to fulfill all special requests for our guests. Unfortunately, in this case we were unable to fulfill that request and it is regrettable that the high floors being booked resulted is a negative experience for the author of this review. I encourage the author of this review to contact me directly so I may work with them on any future accommodation requests at Tides Folly Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Some folks say I'm a little too picky or critical about places, that nothing is ever "good enough". Well, can anyone argue with me that these days it just seems hard to find good service? Regarding Tides at Folly Beach, I was so pleasantly surprised... by the ENTIRE staff. They clearly have trained EVERY employee on the importance of making you feel welcome your entire stay. Also, some of the employees seemed to be equipped/trained to do other roles other than their primary role - again, all in the interest of making sure the customer is taken care of.
The rooms were average, but clean - but hey, you're at the beach - who's going to be in their room except for sleep and showers? Not an issue. The breakfast buffet at Blu was excellent - it was huge, great selection - highly recommended - fairly priced for what you get. It was so nice to eat outside and watch the ocean. During the day and evening, the outside bar was fine, very friendly bartenders, but smelled horrible --needs a good dose of bleach. Just get your drink and sit down at one of the tables and you'll be fine. Fruity drinks were good but a little light on the alcohol content, so I switched to beer (always dependable). During the day we rented a beach chair & umbrella and the beach staff guy was very friendly and was very attentive throughout the day - if he saw you about to try to move your two-person chair (fairly heavy) to adjust for the sun, he was right there and offered to move it for you. The beach was kept clean. One of the evenings, they set up a big movie screen on the beach and set out all the beach chairs and showed "Goonies" - what a great evening idea for families with kids.
I think the rooms were a bit pricey compared to what you can rent a formal condo for, but you're staying at a very central location. Everything - and I mean everything - was in walking distance (good restaurants, shops, etc.) All in all a great stay. I'd definitely recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view - very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WizardOfFrobozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
It sounds like you really made the most of your trip to Folly Beach! Thank you for taking advantage of everything we have to offer from the restaurant to our Wednesday Beach Movie Night! We’re especially grateful for your compliments of our staff. The title of your review says it all and we couldn’t agree more as managers. We are very blessed to have the crew that we have so we thank you for recognizing their efforts. Thank you for sharing your experience here and for recommending Tides to all your friends and family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our room was on the first floor and we could open our door and had a nice sitting area facing the ocean that was very nice however for the price I guess I was expecting more I have paid 300 a night for a room and it was much nicer. I guess you could say you are paying for location location location and with no other hotels on the ocean I guess they can charge what ever we are willing to pay. I will say the staff was awesome they are very cheerful and make you feel very welcome

Room Tip: We really liked the ocean front rooms on the first floor that had your own private sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for reserving one of our Beachfront Rooms for your Folly Beach vacation! Thank you for your compliments of our staff as well. It really means a lot to them when reviewers such as you take the time to compliment them in a public forum. Your feedback regarding the value of what you received in accommodations compared to the price you paid is something I would like to hear more about so I encourage you to contact me directly to discuss your vacation experience in more detail. Our hope is that on your next visit, we can meet and exceed your expectations as to what a great beach vacation can be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
9.6 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
12.6 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#3 of 5 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
8.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Holliday inn Folly Beach
Holliday inn Folly Beach
#4 of 4 in Folly Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Folly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Folly Beach

Property: Tides Folly Beach
Address: 1 Center Street, PO Box 68, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tides Folly Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nine miles from historic downtown Charleston, Tides Folly Beach is located along one of south's most beautiful beaches, offering breathtaking views and a laid back vibe. Tides is the ideal destination for your next Charleston beach vacation, wedding or get-together with friends, family or business associates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tides Folly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Folly Beach Hotel Folly Beach
Holiday Inn Folly Beach
Folly Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing