We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Friendly staff”
Review of Tides Folly Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tides Folly Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Burt, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great View, Friendly staff”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much except it was so cold while we were there. You go through the lobby and up the elevator to your room. The cold air was rushing through the cracks of the elevator and then you are out in the open to access your room. We had about an inch crack under the door of our hotel room and we rolled up a towel and shoved it under the door to keep the air from blowing in because of it being so cold and windy. The views were incredible and the staff was very friendly. Ate at Blu Restaurant only once for breakfast. Wished there were a bigger selection.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurieplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience of the Tides Hotel on Folly Beach. We are pleased that your overall experience was enjoyable despite the cold weather and wind. Please accept our apologies for the draft under your door. Since your stay we have improved the weather stripping under the doors so that this is not an inconvenience to our future guests. Thank you for choosing to eat at Blu during your stay. You will be happy to know that we are working on expanding our menu this spring. Hopefully we have an opportunity to impress you with it on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    430
    202
    93
    60
See reviews for
493
529
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This hotel is amazing. It has great beach front rooms that are room and clean. The pool is great, the ice cream shop is great and the views are spectacular. We traveled there is July of 2011 and there was a severe lightning and rain storm that blew out the power to the hotel and caused flooding on the beach, in the parking lot and nearby stores. The staff stepped up and performed admirably. They spent endless hours hauling up and down towels, luggage, food, etc using the stairs since there was no elevators (no power). Ever time you would meet a staff member in the stairway, they were curtious, friendly and never complained about the inconvenience of no elevator. The power was out for a few hours, but the elevators were down longer which made it hard for older members of our party to get around. We did receive a break on the bill for the inconvenience. We had such a great experience anyway and were so impressed by how they handled the situation...overall great time!

Room Tip: All of their rooms face the ocean so there can't be a bad one in the bunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wombat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to contribute such an amazing review! I remember that week very well. You can never predict when a storm will knock out the power or for how long it may be an inconvenience to everyone on property. What you can predict is how our team will respond if or when it happens. I am very proud of how our entire crew responded and came together for the good of all our in-house guests! Thank you for taking the time to recognize their efforts and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you on future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Let me just start by saying, location is their best selling point and frankly probably the only positive thing I can say about this place. It is directly on the ocean, all rooms face the ocean. All of the rooms have "juliette" balconies . . literally. Don't plan on sitting on the balcony there is barely enough room to stand.

Like a previous reviewer mentioned, they have a fire pit in their bar area DIRECTLY beneath an entire section of rooms. Unfortunately, the room we were assigned to was just above the fire pit on the 6th floor of the hotel. I can't even imagine if our room had been any lower, the smoke smell was SO bad. I am allergic to smoke and my eyes swelled and became red and itchy. Very uncomfortable. I requested to be switched to another room almost immediately only to be told they were sold out for the night. HOWEVER, later that night I noticed another couple who were told by the front desk clerk that a room had "just opened up". Hmmmm . . .

As for the room itself, it was o.k. not great. There were a number of maintenance issues that needed addressing such as the shower head was coming detached from the wall, the bathroom fan was FILTHY and also coming detached from the wall, the tub drained very, very slow and when I first turned on the bathroom sink, it sputtered and delivered about a minute's worth of brown water. It eventually ran clear for the rest of our stay, but YUCK. We chose not to drink any water from the faucet and brushed our teeth with bottled water.

Beds were ok but slightly lumpy. Carpet was badly stained and looked like it needed to be replaced.

The night of our stay, there was a loud partygoer in the outer hallway/breezeway and she was making some kind of scene . . swearing, yelling, obviously drunk. Lots of doors slamming for at least an hour. Nothing was ever done even though I did report it. It hardly made for a relaxing evening.

I would choose NOT to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vikesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
While we thank you for staying with us at Tides Folly Beach this winter, we understand your frustrations and hope you will accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered during your visit. As hard as we try to prevent maintenance and housekeeping issues from ever arising, it is clear that we had holes in our inspection process prior to this author’s arrival. It is unacceptable and contrary to the standards set forth by the Tides Hotel on Folly Beach.

The brown water mentioned in this review was a result of maintenance to our plumbing system earlier in the day when the water had to be turned off. As a result, the water was brown for a short period of time once it was turned back on. This would happen in your own home if there was a need to cut off your water lines.

We do have fire pits on the outdoor deck of our restaurant. During the colder months, guests of the restaurant and hotel have enjoyed having a cozy fire to sit around while enjoying dinner or a beverage. I assure all reading this review that none of these fire pits are directly beneath a single room. They are set at least fifty feet out from the building and another fifty feet away from the nearest guest room. We apologize, however, that smoke from these fires was a disturbance of any kind.
Something all guests of the Tides Hotel should be aware of is the environment in which the hotel is located. Folly Beach is known for its vibrant nightlife which is enjoyed and embraced by the majority of our guests. Our staff works hard to ensure disturbances on-property are kept to a minimum but we cannot control and individual’s behavior and are left with no other recourse other than to apologize for the way they behaved. It is extremely unfortunate that the actions of a few taint the image of this hotel and the island as a whole.

I hope these explanations have been of some help. Should the author of this review or anyone reading it wish to discuss these matters in more detail, I encourage you to contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebulon, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Since this is the closest hotel to Charleston and on the beach we stayed here. The first time it was a Holiday Inn and my family was very satisfied with the service and thought everything was overall nice! The second time it ok and was now privately owned called The Tides, the room was average but it smelled like a man who hasn't showered in days! Thank goodness there was a piggly wiggly down the street to get some febreze! That was pretty much the only problem the view was great and might go again if it is renovated!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan_Ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us last summer and for sharing your experience! Improvements to our property are of the utmost importance to each of our employees, managers and owners. That is why Tides invested an additional $250,000 this winter to ensure each guest feels like they have arrived at a newly finished hotel with the smell of fresh paint, newly refinished floors, and steam cleaned rooms. The closure for a few days allowed Tides Folly Beach the opportunity to thoroughly clean and inspect all guest rooms, refinish the hardwood floors and repaint the lobby and restaurant. We are also in the process of a major renovation to our pool that includes a newly constructed liner, new bull-nose travertine coping, and new pool furnishings.

Of course, the view of the Atlantic from every room and our pride in superior customer service will always be our best features! We can’t wait for you to come back and see for yourself the improvements we’ve made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Use to stay when it was Holiday Inn was I was there on business from 1991-1994. Soon after started going as much as possible for pleasure.....Charleston\Folly best combination vacation around! Town busy but not packed. Hotel clean and employees very friendly...special call out to Jay who keeps things hopping in crowded parking lot!!! Great guy!! How anyone can complain about this place stuns me....you wake up 30 yards from the Atlantic Ocean and you can be in the coolest city in America in 20 minutes!!! Was there for 3 nights in June...have already booked 5 nights next June.

Room Tip: southside 3rd floor puts you over HVAC....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Every time you leave us, we anxiously await your next visit! Thank you for continuing to choose the Tides Hotel on Folly Beach as your home-away-from-home and for this glowing endorsement on Tripadvisor. I have passed along your compliments to our entire staff and Jay specifically. It’s always a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in June!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I initially booked two nights at this hotel and was given a rate of $202/night. I ended up cancelling the second night 4 days in advance and asked for confirmation (which never came). When I checked out, I was charged $270 ($300 incl. tax) for the one night I stayed. Nobody had told me at check-in that the rates for my two nights were different. My complaint was brushed off without proper follow up.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tides Folly Beach this past December. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and found your accommodations comfortable despite the confusion over the rates.

Unfortunately, the rates quoted to the author of this review were averages based on a two night stay and we apologize that this was not made clearer during the reservations process. Our reservations and front desk teams are instructed to quote nightly rates, not per-stay averages so as to avoid this very issue. I also encourage all guests to read the registration card presented at check in. All guests are required to sign their registration card upon arrival that clearly states the nightly breakdown of the previously agreed upon rates.

I hope we have the opportunity to serve this guest again on a future stay and I encourage them to contact us directly with any future needs, comments, concerns or questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Wonderful Oceanview. Specify above the 3rd floor as we were right above the pool. very noisy at night. Great friendly staff on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. Could not have asked for a better group of people to greet your guests. Everyone we encountered was very happy and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newyorker1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
We appreciate you choosing to spend the holidays with us at Tides Folly Beach! It was an absolute pleasure having the opportunity to serve you. I have passed along your wonderful compliments to our team and we can’t wait until your next visit to Folly Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
9.6 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
12.6 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
439 reviews
8.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
12.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holliday inn Folly Beach
Holliday inn Folly Beach
#4 of 4 in Folly Beach
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Folly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Folly Beach

Property: Tides Folly Beach
Address: 1 Center Street, PO Box 68, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tides Folly Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nine miles from historic downtown Charleston, Tides Folly Beach is located along one of south's most beautiful beaches, offering breathtaking views and a laid back vibe. Tides is the ideal destination for your next Charleston beach vacation, wedding or get-together with friends, family or business associates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tides Folly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Folly Beach Hotel Folly Beach
Holiday Inn Folly Beach
Folly Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing