We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly room, but amazing breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
“Smelly room, but amazing breakfast.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I arrived here very late, and the front doors were locked. I had to yell through a plastic window to get someone's attention so that I could check in - there was a bell, but it clearly wasn't working. Once I got in, the receptionist was courteous, and the check in process was quick.

The hotel itself is slightly dated. The halls are a bit dingy, but this wasn't a huge issue for me. My room was supposed to be non-smoking, but it reeked of stale cigarette smoke. Room cleanliness was good, and the bed was extremely comfortable.

The breakfast was absolutely one of the best that I've ever seen in a hotel at this level - it had the standard waffles, cereal, and muffins, but also a create-your-own fruit parfait bar, an oatmeal bar, eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, & multiple types of bagels. I was genuinely impressed.

All in all, if you can deal with the cigarette smell, the bed & breakfast alone make this well worth an overnight visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainetangerine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    171
    50
    31
    36
See reviews for
248
122
32
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is my third stay at Country Inn & Suites and am happy to say this hotel chain is great. I had a little problem with the room smelling of cigarette smoke (expected unless the entire hotel is smoke-free) but it was not bad enough that I was able to ignore it after a while. The room was otherwise clean, the front desk and breakfast staff are friendly and efficient. I will definitely look for this chain in my next trips.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieBee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there twice in 10 days; this is a review of both. I was traveling alone w my 22 nth old from DE; we had been on the road for nearly 12 hrs when we arrived. The front desk was so efficient, my son and I were there less than 5 mins. and knew where to go for dinner (Shoney's) and everyone's name. They even had my pack n play ready for me to put on the luggage cart when we got there. I was impressed already. The room was a non- smoking 2nd floor overlooking the pool. It was immaculate; the sheets and pillows were perfect and the temperature in the room was just right when we arrived. Breakfast was more than just a typical continental set up; fruits, eggs, sausage, waffle maker and French toast. This was in addition to the 4 types of coffee, three types of hot tea, fresh fruit, 4 types of juice, hot and cold cereals and pastries. Breakfast is from 7-10:30 on weekends and it is always fresh. The pool was open and not busy Friday night or Sat. Morning when we were there the first time. We were there last night (Sat) and the pool was very busy, but not over crowded.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEMommaMustang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
221 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

First time at the chain, so not sure if I picked a gem in the bunch or what, but this place rocks. Looked like a newer hotel, very nice looking throughout. Nice sized room, too, tastefully laid out with a slightly separated area (by a nice archway) for the desk and pull-out sofa. Ridiculously nice gals working there too, really added a lot to the stay.

Hate to say it but I didn't dig the eggs at all, though. Free breakfast, so I'm not too picky, and while I certainly don't expect freshly scrambled eggs at a hotel like this, for instant (or whatever hotel eggs typically are), these were particularly bad - fresh, but just gnarly tasting. And the link sausage was uber too salty, too. Scrapped that little failed effort. Didn't try the waffles or french toast, but I did have some good oatmeal, with plenty of good toppings, and some healthy fruit, including very fresh, chopped variety and a banana. I'm sure my body's glad I didn't like the usual stuff, for it got something it rarely does - healthy stuff! :)

Had the usual assortment of hotel danishes and bagels, too. And did I mention the bold coffee is some of the best I've had? Loved it! Yeah, I know, me too - a hotel? But seriously, darned good java juice.

In any event, like I said, breakfast ultimately forgiven, they've won a fan, I'll definitely visit the chain again after this stay.

PS - Location's flipping awesome, too, especially if you're going south on 95 - just stay straight thru the light at your exit, and you're right there at it. Rate wasn't bad for such a nice place, either, IMHO - $104 including taxes and everything (I don't recall what the before-tax rate was).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jboynsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We often stay at Country Inn and Suites, and this is definately one of the best. The lady that checked us in actually had a sense of humor! The atttendant taking care of the breakfast was friendly, efficient, and helpful. There were plenty of choices, the breakfast area was kept clean, and it was well supplied. Kudos to the management of this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Accountantgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel's location is an easy trip on and off of I 95, and the location feels safe. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the front desk staff was quite nice. The downfall of this hotel was the breakfast. The attendant was unable to keep anything stocked. There was no batter for the waffles, no breakfast meats, no muffins or pastries. In fact they were even out of cream for the coffee. We had juice and toast. I would stay here again only if I was unable to find a Marriott property because in my experience their breakfasts are much better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestravelanddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Bahamas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. Was really sorry that we had to leave.

The rooms are way bigger here than all of the other COuntry Inn and Suites we have stayed at.

We had a room with two double beds and a very big sitting area. There is free wifi that is available.

The breakfast area is really awesome. It is very large and the food variety is extremely. It is the best variety that I have seen for a breakfast considering all of the hotels I have stayed at.

It is easy accessible off of I95 and is in a rather populated area with many restaurant surrounding the hotel and along the strip.

Would stay here in a heartbeat again.

Room Tip: Any room you get is good, but ask for one overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sun_sand_and_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Florence
Comfort Suites Florence
#12 of 41 in Florence
438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Florence I-95 & I-20 Civic Ctr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Florence
3.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Florence
3.1 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#1 of 41 in Florence
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence
Address: 1739 Mandeville Rd, Florence, SC 29501-7026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated, Country Inn and Suites is located conveniently off of exit 164 right off I-95. We offer complimentary breakfast, complimentary fresh cookies and coffee 24/7, and 24 hour business center. We have an outdoor pool for our guests to enjoy as well as a fitness room on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Florence
Country Inn & Suites Florence Hotel Florence
Country Inn Florence
Florence Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing