We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have checked Tripadvisor!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Should have checked Tripadvisor!”
Reviewed April 11, 2009

I'd meticulously planned the rest of a recent family trip, but had left this night open because I wasn't sure of where we'd stop for the night. I saw there was a Fairfield Inn off I-95 in FLorence, and, relying on the Marriott name, figured it would be OK. My mistake! As other reviews here have noted, this dump in no way lived up to Marriott standards. It's old, and the room had an unpleasant odor, with or without the antiquated (and noisy) fan running. There are no interior corridors, the paper and linen products provided were rough and scratchy, and the bathroom had the dimensions and decor of a coffin. If you need an overnight stop in the area, there are many other choices. The front desk staff was pleasant- but no amount of smiling could make up for the ancient cement block architecture. An uncomfortable experience which I do not want to repeat.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmore149362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    114
    145
    112
    96
See reviews for
206
148
51
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

My wife and I checked in and then checked out. Do not believe the Marriott name brand in this case, the Fairfield just sucks, smells, smallest rooms ever, staff really doesn't care and obviously the management and owners don't care and perhaps Marriott doesn't care either. Many other locations to choose from in the area, even some newer Marriotts but you will pay a premium.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richannc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUFFIELD,CT.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Everyone should listen to Koorb007 and Team Hilberk . This hotel looked like it was an old hotel converted into a Fairfield Inn. Don't go by the picture the hotel looks nothing like a Fairfield Inn. It looks like a converted motel 6. The best is yet to come when we looked at 3 rooms and every room smelled like something died in the room. The rooms were all musty and smelly. Don't know what the smell was but we were getting sick just in the few minutes we were in the room. If you let the price sway you ,and your stupid enough to stay there, after this review and the other 2 reviews then you deserve what you get. Go across the street there's a Courtyard hotel there that is a much better.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAPAGENE4JACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2008

We’re driving up 95 from FL to New England and stopped overnight in Florence. This property is like an old Motel 6 with a Fairfield Inn sign out front. Not what I would consider Marriott quality. The bathroom is so small that you can barely shut the door and the toilet almost touches the bathtub. Paper thin towels, tiny room and overall skeeve factor was very high. Breakfast was lame but average for those continental spreads. We should have gone to the Hilton Garden Inn across the street.

  • Liked — it was right off 95
  • Disliked — gross hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank koorb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Not a bad deal when you need a one night pit stop while traveling I-95. Rooms are small and outdated, but clean. Lumpy bed. Free popcorn was popping in the lobby seating area. Location convenient off the highway with plenty of recognizable chain restaurants nearby. Except for the terrible coffee, decent enough free breakfast in the morning - the usual. OK for a quick night of rest.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank berryme03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Definetely not what I expected. The room was very small and had a musty odor as noted by another guest. The room seemed very damp and dingy. When we returned home, our clothes that had been layed out in the room felt damp. The location is nice, near many restaurants and I-95. All in all, not terrible, but not up to par with other Fairfield Inns I have stayed inn.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Damp Room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamHibirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2008

When we opened the room door, we noticed a musty smell. We sprayed some deodorizer around, left to have dinner, and returned. The smell was still noticeable and appeared to be coming from the air conditioner. We thought we could ignore it and get to sleep, but by 3 am my wife awoke suffering an allergic reaction. As soon as she left the room she was fine, but when she tried to reenter the room to help gather our things the symptoms returned. I think there is a mold problem in or around the air conditioner. I reported the incident to the desk, and the only response I got was the bill.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — It made us ill.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank flret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center
3.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 41 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ramada Florence Center
Ramada Florence Center
#24 of 41 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Florence
Econo Lodge Florence
#31 of 41 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#18 of 41 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center

Property: Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center
Address: 140 Dunbarton Dr, Florence, SC 29501-1991 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Florence)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Florence Hotel Florence
Fairfield Florence
Florence Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing