We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It will take your breath away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It will take your breath away!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Literally and physically! If you have ANY kind of breathing problem, you will not make it through the night. Stop a little sooner, or drive a little farther, but do not stop here. All of our tablemates during breakfast were comparing the horrible moldy-smelling rooms. The air-freshener was so strong in our room, it alone would take your breath away. Lay on the bed and then you will smell all the mold permeating under the level of "Air-Wick." Carpet and linens feel damp and sticky from the mold and mildew. When you walk across the carpet, you need shoes on to keep your feet clean of the mold. We did complain to the management but was told it was the resident preceding us who put the Airwick there. Nonsense! It did not spread through five other rooms! Marriott needs to step up on this one and fix it or take their name off! Office staff is very nice but admit to the problem and stop making excuses.

Room Tip: I would try Residence Inn instead of this one. Never again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 121Jane121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    114
    145
    112
    96
See reviews for
206
148
51
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were skeptical about this hotel because of the reviews that we saw on Tripadvisor, but we were making last minute plans and decided to try it anyway. We found this hotel much better than the reviews that we read. It is an older hotel and the rooms on the first 2 floors have exterior entry doors, but it was clean and well kept. If you are adamant about having an interior door, request a 3rd floor room. There was a musty smell when entering the hotel, but our room was not musty. Adding dehumidifiers to the rooms, like other hotels throughout the south, would probably help with the humidity issues. I probably wouldn't choose to spend a week at this hotel, but I would stay again overnight when passing through Florence. There are many restaurants and a mall within a short walk.

Room Tip: ask for 3rd floor if you don't like an exterior room entry
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I booked this thinking a Fairfield would be fine for a nights sleep on a car trip. This was either the 1st Fairfield ever built or another motel that was bought. It was no better than the real cheap spots. The AC blew on a bed, the walls were paper thin and it sounded like the upstair folks were bowling. the bathroom was bout 3X4 feet and the room was musty. All I can say is that it was good i was travelling with my son and NOT my wife. She would have made us leave in the middle of the night

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Philpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie W, Director of Sales at Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
I would like to apologize for any incovenience or bad experience you may have had while staying with us. I hope that I may be able to clarify a few things for you. The Fairfield Inn in Florence is a historical property. We are a Generation One hotel. One of the first Fairfield Inn's built. We have tried to embrace that history and show the character that we have here. As far as the noise level is concerned, I am sorry for that also, however, this is the season for sports and we do tend to have alot of ball teams staying with us during this time of year. I'm sure this is what possibly contributed to the noises you heard. We are greatful for all of the business that we have and strive to make each and every guest feel welcome and appreciated. I would ask that you give us another try if you are ever in the area. If you have any further questions, please feel free to call me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Horrible. I expected a restful night to continue our 18 drive. Such a waste of time and money. Af 2 .5 hrs after check in, we left, sleepless, and with a hole in our wallet. Drove the rest of our trip, with not a wink of sleep. Could not tolerate the odors: Stinky, Damp, Musty, Moldy, Uriny... Sheets felt wet. DONT GO! Nice Desk Clerk, though. Marriott? Seriously? worst hotel stay of my life.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyTraveler910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie W, Director of Sales at Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
We are terribly sorry that you didn't have a good experience while you were here. We appreciate you staying with us and would please ask that in any event that you encounter issues such as these or anything you are not happy with, please inform the front desk immediately. We want our guests to be comfortable and feel appreciated during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

In my hurry to leave I left a necklace in my room and realized it 45 minutes up the road. I immediately called the front desk to have housekeeping check for it. I KNOW it's there. A few hours later I get a very long detailed message stating that it's not. Once I get home I double check my small bag just to make sure and it's not there. So I call back again and state that I KNOW that it's there and I give the description again. The necklace was not pricy but was a sentimental gift from my Mother after my Grandmother passed away. This has never happened to me. And I'm devastated.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MAnders7631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We arrived late & were exhausted or we would have requested a new room. Ours was clean, and functional, but it smelled like a damp mildewy basement. The air conditioner blows right next to the bed. Besides the damp smell, it wasn't bad; the service was friendly, we had our dogs with us & they did fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askmisspat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
239 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as it was late at night and we found a $64 coupon in a magazine. It was an exterior door room which we knew of upfront. Our complaint was that we requested two beds and the a/c unit blew right on you at night by the one bed closest to the door, poor design. We had to turn the temperature lower and put a chair in front of the unit so it made the room too warm. Also, they were double beds which were not comfortable and pillows were soft. Towels in the bathroom were not thick and the bathroom was small. Breakfast was complimentary but standard. Staff was ok, but we were disappointed in our stay for a Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysfun2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie W, Director of Sales at Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback. These issues have been addressed and we are currently in the process of trying to divert the air from units to a more upward direction rather than allowing them to blow directly on the beds. Once again, thank you for addressing these issues. We do hope to see you again! Feel free to call me directly if you would like to discuss anything further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center
3.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 41 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ramada Florence Center
Ramada Florence Center
#24 of 41 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Florence
Econo Lodge Florence
#31 of 41 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#18 of 41 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center

Property: Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center
Address: 140 Dunbarton Dr, Florence, SC 29501-1991 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Florence)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Florence Hotel Florence
Fairfield Florence
Florence Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing