We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic Inn”
Review of Hotel Florence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Florence
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

When planning a road trip to Delaware, I was looking for a hotel that was more unique than an average place next to the highway. Just minutes of I-95 is Hotel Florence. The rooms are new and very nicely appointed. Victor's Bistro located in the hotel offers a delicious menu and fantastic home made desserts. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a unique stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly A, Manager at Hotel Florence, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Florence with others. We are very excited to be a part of Florence's downtown revitalization project and are looking forward to the exciting changes happening downtown. We look forward to your next visit with us at Hotel Florence.

Sincerely,
Director of Sales, Kelly Schlitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 450 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Decided to stop in the area and made a last minute reservation using Trip Advisor as a reference. Wow! This is a remarkable place in a downtown area, undergoing, and in need of, major restoration. The building , formerly a bank and a furniture store and other things, has been beautifully renovated into a unique hotel open since May, 2013..The second floor room we had was lovely with spiffy furnishings , a very comfortable bed and wonderful lighting. The bathroom was large with a nice shower and tub. (Some rooms just have showers) Outside the room is a large open area with a dramatic staircase and comfortable seating and refreshments. There was also a book on the table with photos of the restoration process. The lobby on the main floor is beautiful and the restaurant first class in design. Breakfast , the only meal we had in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. It was sure worth going a few miles off the interstate to spend the night. The staff were so warm and friendly. The room we had did not have a closet but hooks along a long hallway instead --not a problem for us. (Some rooms have wardrobe closets.) If I had any need to be back in this area I would sure stay here again.

Room Tip: I was told that each room is different so make sure you get what suits you. Some rooms have closets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grover33Raleigh_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly A, Manager at Hotel Florence, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Florence with others. We are very excited to be a part of Florence's downtown revitalization project and are looking forward to the exciting changes happening downtown. We are so happy you enjoyed the amenities and charm of the hotel and enjoyed your breakfast at Victor's Bistro. All of our guest rooms are slightly different and special to make it possible to pick your favorite. We look forward to your next visit with us at Hotel Florence.

Sincerely,
Director of Sales, Kelly Schlitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time for our 1 night stay. All staff were extremely friendly. Our room was clean and cozy. There happened to be a wedding reception at the hotel also. Everyone was kind and helpful to their group also. We had an excellent dinner and breakfast the next morning in Victor's. We give kudo's to Ms. Peggy for her desserts. They get high marks for southern charm and hospitality at Hotel Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beverlybfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly A, Manager at Hotel Florence, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Florence with others. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your dinner and breakfast at Victor's Bistro. We will be sure to pass on your praise to our staff and especially Miss Peggy. We look forward to your next visit with us at Hotel Florence.

Sincerely,
Director of Sales, Kelly Schlitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed here for two nights for work, and I was very impressed with the property. The staff was very kind, and the room was very clean while being cozy and inviting. I was impressed with the way that the space was appropriated in the room. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly A, Manager at Hotel Florence, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Florence with others. We are very excited to be a part of Florence's downtown revitalization project and are looking forward to the exciting changes happening downtown. We look forward to your next visit with us at Hotel Florence.

Sincerely,
Director of Sales, Kelly Schlitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

After visiting family in Florence over 30 years we finally needed a hotel room. Family retired, sold up, and moved to the coast but Florence remained on our "to do list." I knew there were tons of interstate motel chains scattered all around the city but none among them approach what we call a hotel. Then I stumbled upon Hotel Florence online and "Voila!" There was our hotel. Upon arrival for our one night visit we were immediately impressed. We stayed impressed until we checked out the next morning after breakfast. The feel is seriously urban even if Florence is a proper Pee Dee town. The style, the decor, the comfort, and the location puts Hotel Florence in a class of its own in Florence. Victor's (restaurant and bar) means guests don't have to leave the grounds for fine dining, great drinks and wines, and a bit of live piano to round off the feel. Then there was the wine list! Haha! We've stayed in hotels around the world and NEVER has any waiter brought a digital device looking like an iPad to the table when I asked for the wine list. Since everything digital or electronic sadly dies in my hands I asked the waiter to find the chardonnays and scroll through the selection. The "Picket Fence" chardonnay did the trick! With our first Hotel Florence experience tucked away in our memory of great hotels we'll be looking for reasons to return to Florence SC. If we can't come up with a good reason then Hotel Florence will be reason enough. If you want a cool night in a sterling hotel and don't want to fly to Atlanta, New York, Seattle, London, or Cape Town then imagine something as close as Florence SC. Well done to the visionaries who cooked up this idea. I am convinced the Florence historic district will soon be buzzing with new commercial entertainment and hospitality attractions that can be connected to the pioneering presence of Hotel Florence. Hope to see Florence soon.

Room Tip: Make sure you practice on some digital device before checking into Hotel Florence to order a bottle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingWriter001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly A, Manager at Hotel Florence, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Florence with others. We are so happy to hear that you have identified our establishment as a true "hotel". The visionaries of Hotel Florence, Victor's and downtown have worked very hard to create a special place for travelers and locals to enjoy. Hotel Florence has recently paired up with the FMU Performing Arts Center in creating stay packages to enjoy another attraction the city has to offer. We are very excited to be a part of Florence's downtown revitalization project and are looking forward to the exciting changes happening downtown. We look forward to your next visit with us at Hotel Florence.

Sincerely,
Director of Sales, Kelly Schlitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Awesome, from our 1st step in to the lobby to our check-out! The location in the historic district makes this location perfect, no car was required, once we parked? With the wonderful restaurant onsite all our needs were met. We travel frequently, however in Florence we always stayed at chain hotels, with a little research on Trip Advisor found this hotel, was quite a boutique experience. Could have been in New York,Chicago or California, will be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, we stayed in king suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Csaulter57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly A, Manager at Hotel Florence, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Florence with others. We are so happy you were able to celebrate with us in Florence. We are very excited to be a part of Florence's downtown revitalization project and are looking forward to the exciting changes happening downtown. We look forward to your next visit with us at Hotel Florence.

Sincerely,
Director of Sales, Kelly Schlitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

As other reviewers have said, the building is gorgeous, as are the rooms. But what really sold me on this place, is the service! Every single person you come into contact with had the most amazing personality and were so friendly and personable. If you need anything, no matter the request, it's never any trouble. I wish I would've gotten her name, but I ran into one of the housekeepers in the hall and asked for a few extra towels. She said it was no problem at all and had them promptly brought to my door. The maintainence men were even so friendly that they asked about my day when I was on the elevator with them. Finally the front desk staff. Lindsey was the absolute best! She answered every single question I had, suggested places to eat, things to do, and even menu selections from the restaurants she suggested. When the business center was out of printer ink she let me print my work documents on the other front desk computer. And I can honestly say, a smile never left her face. She was knowledgable, friendly and a wonderful representation of the hotel.

Room Tip: Front Desk takes all request into consideration, so just ask! It worked for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalashine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly A, Manager at Hotel Florence, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Florence with others and sharing your interaction with our staff. We have a wonderful team here at Hotel Florence. We will be sure to share all your complements to our housekeeping, maintenance, and front desk staff especially Lindsay. We look forward to your next visit with us at Hotel Florence.

Sincerely,
Director of Sales, Kelly Schlitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence
4.0 mi away
Courtyard Florence
Courtyard Florence
#3 of 41 in Florence
466 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Florence
Comfort Suites Florence
#13 of 41 in Florence
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florence
4.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Florence
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Florence I-95 & I-20 Civic Ctr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florence

Address: 126 W Evans St, Florence, SC 29501-3426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $118 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florence 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Florence's historical downtown. Hotel Florence offers guests the unique boutique experience with an uptown flair. Victor's is located on the first floor and offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, full service bar and hotel room service. Located within walking distance of downtown entertainment, restaurants and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing