We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hidden gem ever!”

The Clay Pot Coffee Shop
Ranked #4 of 256 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Italian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: The Clay Pot will strive to serve you local and organic products whenever possible. Clay Pot serves a healthy lunch daily Wednesday - Saturday Daily hours 7:30PM - 4:30PM Wednesday and Friday 7:30AM - 9:00PM The Clay Pot will offer a wide range hot and cold organic coffee drinks, organic teas, smoothies, a selection of breakfast, lunch and dessert specialties. A small seating area will allow for social meetings within the coffee shop. In addition to the coffee shop Clay Pot offers exhibit space to local artists on a rotating basis. Most artwork is available for purchase.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best hidden gem ever!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We were driving up 95 around lunch and TripAdvisor steered us here. OMG! What a surprise! The Sunday special was quail with cornbread, grits and greens, all of which were delicious. The desserts were hard to choose because they are all so tempting, but the standout is the chocolate chess pie. Wow. My husband was a professional baker in a pie shop and agreed this chess pie blew the chocolate chess pie he made out of the water. We will definitely stop in whenever we are driving this way...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    21
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little spot to meet, eat, relax.”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a meeting in Florence and was looking for a place for lunch. We found The Clay Pot online and the descriptions and reviews intrigued us. We had a wonderful lunch. It was pleasant from the moment you walk up to the sidewalk tables. When you look inside the walls are covered in interesting artwork. The servers were friendly and inviting. They have one special a day and today we were fortunate enough to be there for homemade tomato pie, an organic artisan salad and grapes. It was delicious. We also enjoyed the artist exhibit in the back area. I would highly recommend this spot for lunch, coffee, tea, or a break from the day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Xclaudine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
149 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Sunday Salmon”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Sitting in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere we had wild caught Alaskan salmon, a salad of local greens, a casserole of locally grown grits. So the food is as good to the conscience as it is to the palate. It really was delicious. This is a locally-owned business and a family affair. They like to experiment with gourmet coffees and artisan breads. This day the meal included live music. The restaurant sits in the historic downtown area that is being thoroughly restored and revived. You can park easily out front and they have a small area for outdoor seating. This is about a far as you could get from a chain restaurant but still have free wi-fi.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank willbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great brunch or dessert place; loads of coffee & tea variations”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Went with two friends today and since two of us don't do grits at all they made a veggie lasgana just for two of us. Unfortunately for me it was too early in the day so I just sampled a delicious rasberry cheesecake, my one friend had the lasgana and then added two brownies!! The other had the day's specialty, quail on grits covered with gravy which she seemed to enjoy. Both their dishes had fresh green beans and the special had a homemade biscuit I would have loved to try sometime. I asked for tea with just a dash of milk and actually got it served that way so that the tea was still hot!! These ladies aim to please. I'd like to try it again when they have quiche as I think that would be more to my liking but I could tell from the smiles on all the customers' faces others were enjoying everything they had. Small place so they need to turn over rather quickly but do have outside seating and heart of the new downtown.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, quaint, great experience.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent organic, fresh food. Owners make the experience even more special. Sweet Mother/daughter team. Wonderful lunch with my 3 daughters and grandson. Food is served on homemade pottery. Would highly recommend and plan to return next time in Florence!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clay Pot Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Clay Pot Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing