We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay at this hotel if you want to sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The check-in process was unacceptable. There were at least five people waiting to check in with one person at the desk. There was someone in the office, but rather than come out to help she yelled out comments to the desk clerk, which only distracted him, making the process even slower. I am a platinum priority club member, but was not recognized or greeted as one. I guess I had to repeatedly advise the staff, as the woman before had, to receive recognition or the welcome bag. There is no sleeping in this hotel. I don't believe that anyone in the area has a muffler installed on their vehicle. All night long, I was awake listening to the sounds of loud vehicles. The general manager was dismissive of any complaint or suggestion. Her attitude was generally rude. The breakfast area was clean and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevorg531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank yo so much for the survey and I would like to apoligize for the problems that you experienced at our property, and would like very much to discuss them with you further if you would like. It is our goal that all of our guests be satisfied when they stay with us and was sad to hear that we did not even come close to meeting your expectations. Please if you would like to discuss this with me please call 843-629-9779. Thank you again for your business and thank you for being a Platinum Priority Club member!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 183 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

the hotel over all was not to bad the dinning room and breakfast were excellent. the pool room was nice. the room was not clean the tv had so much grease on the screen i had to clean if off to be able to see the picture. no towel racks in the bathroom for wet towels.i would not stay here again. there are a lot of hotels in the area choose another.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bev34464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. I do apologize that your TV screen was filthy this should never happen, but appreciate that you are telling us now so that we can look into it. If you would not mind could you provided me with the room number that you stayed inand the date of your stay so we can investigate properly? Thank you so much and again I do apologize and please give us one more shot if you are in the Florence area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Traveling on I-95 we had several choices of motels. This trip I decided to stay in a Holiday Inn Express and build up some points on my "card".

Taking a chance on a motel I had never seen, I was pleasantly suprised.

The staff was very friendly, and I asked for a room near the indoor pool and near the entrance. They offered me a nice, large room that was between the entrance and the pool and the breakfast area. The gym was nice and the indoor pool was great. You may think it would be a noisy area of the building to stay in but it was nice and quiet. They must have soundproof walls or something.

There were fresh homemade cookies in the main lobby and coffee too.
They have a nice computer room complete with a printer. The building looked new but I don't have any idea how old it is.

There were plenty of places to eat nearby and a nice farm store down the street with a deli and bakery and farmers market and country store.

Florence was larger and had more going on than I ever imagined, this 2 night stay was a pleasant suprise and the motel was a perfect stay for me.

The motel is near the highway but set back enough you don't hear the traffic.
The breakfast bar had eggs and bacon plus all of the other goodies with plenty of fresh fruit and pancakes. The dining room was sunny, large and even had a fireplace and newspapers. They even have a laundry room if you need it.

It was a nice enjoyable stay and I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell the staff what you want because they gave me exactly what I asked for and more. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deerrivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you so much for you kind words! Our goal is your satisfaction, and we look forward to serving you the next time you come to Florence with so many choices out there we are glad you chose our hotel and were pleased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great stop after 12 hrs on the road. Easy access off the exit, and 14 minutes later we're in the heated pool, thanks to Glenn for a quick check-in. Hot coffee in the lobby at 5 am is appreciated by insomniacs everywhere.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your review online as well as the one you did at our hotel! I have passed on your compliments to Loreye and Glenn they are greatly appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

On 12/22/12 - Arrived @ 7:45 pm after driving 17 hrs, expecting a good night's rest for my family & I. At 10:45 pm the fire/smoke alarms went off - had to evacuate. No management or staff members present to direct, assist or advise. Stood in our nightclothes in lobby with other patrons & nobody from the hotel staff reassured us that it was safe to return to our rooms...we had to inquire. Alarms were beeping for about 30 minutes. Once they stopped we went back to our rooms..THEN FOR THE 2ND TIME ...at 4:45 a.m...alarms went off again!!!! We were startled & scared with upset children. Manager was not on-site neither time & we were told she was "on her way" when she should have been there. Also..no sign of fire dept, or police. Customers were irate, complaining, & demanding an explanation! Since we didn't get any sleep whatsoever, we packed up & checked out. Sent letter to Holiday Inn customer care & spoke to manager Angela Barentine regarding a credit. She was extremely rude, talked over me, very argumentative, & hung up on me telling me to "have a good day". I now have contacted AAA to dispute the charge & am forwarding my letter of complaint to the owner, Mr. Patel. Perhaps I should also forward the video my daughter took with her cellphone showing the chaos, upset patrons & more importantly - that NO STAFF (except for 1 person at check-in counter) NO MANAGER, NO FIRE DEPT. NOR POLICE were present to manage the situation. Don't even want to think of what would have happened if it were an actual fire or major emergency. Very disappointed with this particular hotel in Florence, S.C. location and it's poor customer service. After all, the customers are what keep it in business!!

Josephine DeGirolamo
Hull, Massachusetts

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaretto901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear amaretto901,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times while in town on business. It is a very nice hotel and the rooms have always been nice and clean. The front desk clerks are always very polite and helpful in any way, especially the young man that checked me in last week during my afternoon arrival. (Sorry I don't recall his name) On my last stay the other week, the only negative I encountered was the breakfast both mornings. I went to get breakfast around 6:45 both mornings and there was no coffee the first morning and only one pot full the next. There was barely any food out and this kind of puzzled me being down there this early. Other than that, my stay(s) have always been nice here. One other note...there are very few places to eat real close by but this hotel has some of the best prices compared to the others closer to the downtown area. Overall great hotel and I will most likely continue to stay at this location when in town on business !

Room Tip: Not many places to eat close by, so you will have to drive into town about 10 miles or so to find so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikesTikibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We have addressed the issue with the coffee @ 6:45am so hopefully this will be resolved! Thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

it was a basic hotel off 95......we were heading home to Fl. and decided to stop for the night. The room was clean and comfortable. Nothing special. We did not stay for breakfast as we had an early early start.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gram11fer210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your review! I always appreciate it when I hear from our guests so thank you again. I am glad you found the room clean and the beds comfortable, and please remember us again when you come to Florence we hope to be your first stop and maybe you will have time for breakfast then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Florence I-95 & I-20 Civic Ctr
6.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Florence
Comfort Suites Florence
#13 of 42 in Florence
460 reviews
6.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Florence, SC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#1 of 42 in Florence
462 reviews
9.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Florence
6.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327

Address: 2101 Florence Harllee Blvd, Florence, SC 29506-8245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $117 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence South Carolina.This premiere hotel is superbly located in the suburbs of Florence, SC, away from the hustle and bustle for a great night sleep but just minutes to Florence Regional Airport, area businesses, restaurants, attractions and shopping.A Great Business Location! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is well located to fine companies such as Peterbilt, DuPont, Smurfit-Stone Container, Crenlo, H. J. Heinz, Beneteau, FedEx, Roche Carolina, NuCor Steel, Koppers Industries, ABB, Maytag, IFH, Iron Mountain, Wellmans, Pee Dee Electric Cooperative, SteelFab, Johnson Controls, Pepsi, Blanchard Machinery and many others. The hotel offers the select services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our four-story, interior corridor hotel boasts 86 guest rooms & suites. Attention to detail provides the warmth and comfort of personalized service . . . for every guest, time after time. Packed with amenities! We offer the amenities and services needed to make your stay productive and enjoyable such as our heated indoor pool, complimentary 24 hr. business center with high speed Internet access, guest laundry, on-site fitness center, and meeting facilities but our finest attribute is our friendly staff. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florence i-95 @ Hwy 327
Holiday Inn Florence
Holiday Inn Express Florence
Florence Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing