We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a short stay in a less than impressive city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place for a short stay in a less than impressive city”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My family and I stayed 2 nights at this property while in town for a wedding. Everything looked very new and was very clean. Breakfast was included in the rate - lots of hot and cold choices, including bacon or sausage, gravy, biscuits, and cinnamon rolls. Beds had extra pillows, with some firm and some not so firm. I really liked that because I hate sleeping on flat pillows! Only two complaints - one was that the water pressure on the shower was too high, and therefore I could never get it adjusted to a flow less than painful when it hit my more tender parts! Secondly, you might want to request a room on the back of the property due to noise levels. My parents were on the front (even numbered rooms) and complained about road noise both nights. We were on the other side (odd numbered room) and had no noise problems at all.

One other advantage of this property is that (compared to the other exit off I-95 in Florence with a lot of hotels) there is far less traffic. Of course, that also means less food options, so your opinion may vary!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you so much for giving us your feedback! We hope to be able to serve you again the next time you are in the Florence area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    66
    17
    9
    15
See reviews for
66
42
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This place is good. The pool is an indoor pool which is NEVER crowded. Your room fee includes a hot breakfast. The suites are large with a pull out couch for kids and a small kitchen area with a microwave.
It's right next door to a Zaxby's, across the street from a McDonald's. One thing, if you're looking for activity, there isn't any. This place is one of the first exits as you get into Florence, so it's not near the mall, shopping, etc. It's a welcome place to rest on your way to Florida or other parts south. My husband and I have stayed there with our two small girls over 5 times and return every time we're driving through.
One word to the traveling parties that stop: Please please please tip the housekeeping staff. The economy is hard on everyone and this place is clean, relatively inexpensive (considering breakfast is included, the size of the suites). They should be rewarded for doing their jobs well and being so friendly in the process.
Another tip: Stay on the 4th floor. The rooms are bigger, for some reason!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie21037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words in the review! We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Just needed a place to get a "good nights sleep"....shouldn't have stopped here, because the road noise was ridiculous!! I think I have slept better in downtown New York City. Trucks were wizzing by all night long and there was no way to filter out the noise...When you pay over $100.00/night for a hotel room...I expect a decent sleep environment...don't stop here!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trexaiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night while traveling. It was okay but not great.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jananddec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I don't travel or make online hotel reservations often and will be extremely careful next time I do. My family and I are traveling to MD and VA. I made an online hotel reservation at Holiday Inn E&S in Florence, SC on 7/18/2010 before our travels because I wanted to be assured a clean, comfortable room during our travels. This hotel seemed like a very nice place. Since then, our plans have changed and we will not be able to stay at the hotel. I called the hotel on 7/22/2010 to cancel my reservation for 7/30/2010. Much to my surprise I was informed that I could cancel my reservation but would still be charged $114 because I made reservations online for a non-refundable advanced purchase. WHAT? Where was that fine print or how could I have overlooked something as important as that? I talked to the Manager, Angie Barrentine, to see if she would please credit my account the amount they charged me but she refused and did nothing to help. I called Holiday Inn Guest Services and filed a complaint and will be writing a letter to Corporate and the Owner (franchise) to express my disapproval of their policy. I feel like I have been ripped off. I called way in advance to cancel so why should I have to pay for a service I am not going to utilize. If they wanted they could reimburse me but as Ms. Barrentine said, "If I do it for you I have to do it for everyone". I guess this happens all the time and they are making out on this on-line advanced reservation When I asked for the name of the General Manager, Angie refused to give me the name of the general manager and said she was it. SCAM! BEWARE TO YOU ALL!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
94 Thank lindamwarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you for your review-
I do apologize again for the confusion in the ADVANCE PURCHASE rate that you booked. IHG has had the ADVANCE PURCHASE rate ever since I have worked with them (2003) and it has not changed in the past 8 years it has always been a rate you purchase when you book the reservation and there are no cancellations- if you do cancel your payment is nonrefundable.
The exact wording of the rate description online is "Take advantage of special savings when you book early. This rate is nonrefundable, requires full prepayment, and is charged to your credit card between time of booking and day of arrival. "
I do apologize again for this matter, and did offer to change your date of arrival but you declined.
Angela Barrentine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Off I-95 at exit 170, the hotel is nice, comfy, full free breakfast and room has all the extras you'd expect from Holiday Inn. I found it quiet, staff was very nice and professional and overall a pleasant experience. If you want to eat out or shop, you have to drive south about 9 miles for the Mall. I found it just a bit pricey for the budget traveler but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBA-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice VA
Level Contributor
220 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

So glad we finally found a decent motel along I-95. The last few, right off the expressway, have been pretty rough. This motel was about 1/2 mile off 95-20 so there was no traffic noise or congestion. Had young kids with us and didn't want to have to go back out for dinner. The ladies at the front desk provided me with info on 2 pizza places that delivered. The pool was fine and there was an outside patio. The room itself was small but clean w/good quality bedding and towels. Breakfast was adequate w/healthy choices and good coffee. I'll stay here again - an excellent 1/2 way spot between central Virginia and Jacksonville FL.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2RiceVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Florence I-95 & I-20 Civic Ctr
6.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence
6.0 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#1 of 41 in Florence
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florence
6.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Florence
Comfort Suites Florence
#12 of 41 in Florence
438 reviews
6.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327
Address: 2101 Florence Harllee Blvd, Florence, SC 29506-8245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence South Carolina.This premiere hotel is superbly located in the suburbs of Florence, SC, away from the hustle and bustle for a great night sleep but just minutes to Florence Regional Airport, area businesses, restaurants, attractions and shopping.A Great Business Location! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is well located to fine companies such as Peterbilt, DuPont, Smurfit-Stone Container, Crenlo, H. J. Heinz, Beneteau, FedEx, Roche Carolina, NuCor Steel, Koppers Industries, ABB, Maytag, IFH, Iron Mountain, Wellmans, Pee Dee Electric Cooperative, SteelFab, Johnson Controls, Pepsi, Blanchard Machinery and many others. The hotel offers the select services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our four-story, interior corridor hotel boasts 86 guest rooms & suites. Attention to detail provides the warmth and comfort of personalized service . . . for every guest, time after time. Packed with amenities! We offer the amenities and services needed to make your stay productive and enjoyable such as our heated indoor pool, complimentary 24 hr. business center with high speed Internet access, guest laundry, on-site fitness center, and meeting facilities but our finest attribute is our friendly staff. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florence i-95 @ Hwy 327
Holiday Inn Florence
Holiday Inn Express Florence
Florence Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing