We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's a New Roach Motel & it ain't by Raid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“There's a New Roach Motel & it ain't by Raid”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

OMG...The roaches were ridiculous at this property. Informed the front desk personnel & s I'm talking to her, a roach was crawling over my foot. When I mentioned it to her, she seemed unconcerned & snickered as if it wasn't the first time she'd had this complaint. My job puts employees up @ this property & I thought my co-workers were exaggerating but clearly NOT! I wasn't even asked or offered a different room (not that it would've mattered). Sheets were stained. Bed had sink holes in the middle of the mattresses. You better get someone to tuck you in as you hold on to the side of the bed to keep from rolling into the hole.

At check out, The GM apologized & comped 1 night. I would NEVER stay there again if I was offered a FREE WEEK!!!

This is a last resort for those who don't have a lot of money and/or are in dire straights w/financial restraints. Pay the extra $10-$20 to stay at Sleep Inn or Holiday Inn on the same street. It's worth it. Lesson learned.

Room Tip: My tip to help travelers choose a good room would be to choose another room in a GOOD HOTEL...NOT TH...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWilliams68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear CWilliams68,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay and we would like to thank you for sharing your concerns with our General Manager. We do not take the possibility of bug infestation lightly and we immediately contacted our pest control provider. We encourage all of our guests to contact the front desk team immediately if they encounter any problems during their stay. This way, we can do our best to solve the problem right away or find a room that better suits the travel needs of our guests. We will be sharing this review with our front desk team so that we can make improvements for our future guests. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback.

Sincerely,
Suburban Florence Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    26
    24
    41
See reviews for
34
31
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
1,029 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

DUMP! Sorry, but it is. Still here on our first night and we are on our third set of sheets. Stains on each set. Now they are having ME take sheets off beds in other rooms to find a clean set.
Socks are already black from the carpet. NO soap, shampoo, etc.

Have to stay here, but will NEVER stay here again.....terrible, terrible, terrible

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rryan313131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear rryan3131,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience that you have described above. We have sent you a private message in hopes that we can collect a few more details about your stay so that these issues can be addressed with our team. Thanks in advance for all of your time and feedback.

Sincerely,
Suburban Extended Stay Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Trying desperately to understand the 3, 4, and 5 star reviews for this place. Location was great - right off I-95, property looked OK from the front. Check in was fine, found a parking space right outside the room, then the fun began. The indoor/outdoor carpet literally squished when I walked in.....not sure whether it was from the 1950's style a/c unit that sounded like a wounded elk or something else I didn't want to think too long about. Bed must be older than I am because it sagged in the middle in a most unnatural way. Slept with my shoes on and got out of there as fast as I could the next morning. Choice, you need to something with this property to continue using your good name......bulldozing it over would be a good start. This place is the stuff nightmares are made of. Great people, scary property.

Room Tip: try next door, around the corner, across the street or the next exit up the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capitollobbyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear capitollobbyist,

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback with our team. We strive to offer excellent customer service and clean, comfortable accommodations to our travelers. We are very disappointed to hear that you do not feel we live up to those high standards and have shared all of your concerns with our management team. We encourage all of our guests to contact us immediately if they encounter any problems during their stay. This way, we can fix the problem or find a different room that better meets your travel needs. We have sent you a private message in hopes that you will share your room number with us. This way, we can take a close look at the room and make changes if needed. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We truly appreciate it and hope that you will visit us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent service that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Suburban Extended Stay Florence Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were on the way home from Florida and stopped in Florence to sleep. We picked this hotel because of the decent price. When we went to the hotel the parking lot was full and there weren't any parking places. Then when we finally got one and entered our room, a bug flew at us. We're thinking okay, its the south its warn so there's going to be bugs. What we weren't expecting was the family of roaches in the bathroom. We tried to ignore it, and got ready for bed. When we pulled the sheets down on the bed their were human bodily fluids on the sheets still some wet and some crusty and dried. It was disgusting. We immediately called the front desk to get a refund. The guy asked no further questions and told us to come and get our money back, which means he knows that its bad. Bugs everywhere and they don't wash the sheets. DISGUSTING.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear cadyj,

We are very sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit. We do not take concerns about bug infestation lightly and immediately contacted our pest control provider to investigate the situation. As always, we will continue to have our hotel inspected on a regular basis and we will immediately act on even the slightest concerns of our guests so that if a problem arises, we can take care of the situation immediately.
In addition, we have shared your feedback about the cleanliness of your room with our management team and our housekeeping team. We strive to offer exceptionally clean accommodations to each and every one of our guests and the situation described above certainly does not live up to those high standards. We have taken appropriate measures to improve the overall experience for our hotel guests and we hope that you will come back to see us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent accommodations and customer service that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Suburban Extended Stay Florence Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was my first stay at the Suburban I travel to Florida twice a year, generally Florence is the perfect half way point..now I've found the perfect overnight stop. for years I had stayed at the hotel right next to them. My last stay there forced me to reconsider my choices, I made the right one by opting to stay at the Suburban. I can't say enough about the desk clerks so very helpful and friendly , the room was clean and the beds I found to be very comfortable. Front desk even called the room about an hour after check-in to make sure everything was okay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Ruth G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a five star review about the Suburban Extended Stay hotel in Florence, South Carolina. We welcome all travelers who are in need of a place to rest before continuing on to their final destination, and are very glad that you chose to stay at our hotel. We appreciate the kind words about our friendly staff members, clean rooms, and comfortable beds. Our team works very hard to provide excellent customer service and top notch accommodations to each and every one of our guests. They will be delighted to hear your positive feedback! We hope that you enjoyed your time in Florida and look forward to seeing you again soon at the Suburban Florence hotel.

Sincerely,
Suburban Extended Stay Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stay at the Florence Suburban Extented stay every time we are in Florence, which is a min. Of ten times a year. T he staff is fabulous!!! Rooms are clean and well matained. We are always treated by our name, thanked for being a Choice rewards member. Check-in is speedy as well as check-out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Rosalie C,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review! We are so glad that you choose to stay with us when you visit Florence, SC. We really appreciate the kind words about our staff members, clean rooms, and speedy check in process. We would also like to thank you for your commitment to the brand as a Choice Rewards Member! Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We look forward to seeing you at the Suburban Extended Stay hotel again soon!

Sincerely,
Suburban Extended Stay Florence Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A fine stop on my way north. Courteous service and helpful for my first time there.The reception was excellent as the clerk informed me that I was upgraded to the extended stay next door with added features at no extra cost. The location was a little hard to find ,but close to everything.The price was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear David N,

Thank you very much for the 5 star review about our hotel. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us on your way to Philadelphia and really appreciate the kind words about our customer service, excellent rates, and convenient location. We welcome all travelers who need to stop for a quick rest on the way to their final destination. We are sorry to hear that you had a little trouble finding us and have taken this feedback into careful consideration. Thanks again for your time. We look forward to sharing this review with our team. They will be delighted to hear your positive feedback!

Sincerely,
Suburban Extended Stay Florence Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Florence
Econo Lodge Florence
#30 of 41 in Florence
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
#24 of 41 in Florence
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Florence
Super 8 Florence
#21 of 41 in Florence
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Florence Center
Ramada Florence Center
#26 of 41 in Florence
518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 41 in Florence
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Hotel

Property: Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Address: 1914 W Lucas St, I-95 & Us 52, Florence, SC 29501-1232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Florence
Extended Stay Florence
Florence Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing