We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the reviews stop you....I will return”
Review of Thunderbird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Maxton, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't let the reviews stop you....I will return”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Ok...let me start by Ain before I do anything I start Google reviews first. Well this Google review was absolutely incorrect. Upon arrival I requested to see a room before checking in the receptionist gave me a room key and allowed me to look at the room. I loved it on top of all that you have a full breakfast!! By full.... I mean bacon, eggs, pancakes anything you can imagine they even had grits and Salmon I will be returning to Thunderbird do not let the reviews deter you ...if you are not sure ask to see the room first....the breakfast bu itself is worth the stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daphene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    13
    16
    30
See reviews for
27
18
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

we found this place on the internet..Mini bar in room Free HBO and breakfast ...not charge for pets homerun...WRONG...... first room filthy and toilet didnt flush changed rooms filthy but toilet flushed... non smoking room but burn marks on the tub ....rug and wall dirty..... in room bar? nope HBO haven't had it in years....but yet go to their web site and they say they have both..would never ever stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Checked in from NYC. The staff was okay, but the rooms are old, with worn carpet, stained drapes that hardly close, spider webs on the ceiling, the sink and tub seems to be falling apart, loud truck engines overnight, panhandler approached my car (very scary), loud, beer drinking construction workers overnight, and not to mention streetwalkers in the area. STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

I have never left a review before but felt compelled to do so on this place. The room was so dirty I didn't want to touch anything. The furniture was old and had stains on it. My drapes didn't close completely and this was a ground floor room. The front desk receptionist was very nice. The housekeeping people were very nice. The buffet breakfast was ok but nothing special. Someone recommended this place to me and for the life of me I can't imagine what they were thinking. There are many nicer places in the area. It was cheap but better to spend an extra $20 and get something decent.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank BlueH101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The room was a little dated but overall was great! Housekeeping was great! Breakfast was great! Desk staff was friendly! I truly enjoyed my stay here! I would stay here again! I stayed for 2 weeks while working in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B3amt3am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Best motel I've ever stayed in. The food was AMAZING. everyone was super extremely nice. The rooms were clean, beds were comfy, and service was five star. The pool is always open, lit heated saltwater and totally clean. I can't say enough about how great this is. Rate is very low also.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank driftingraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We drove through the night and finally got very tired around 5:30 AM. We called a few places to see if they had late check-out, thinking we’d check in around 6 AM and check out around 2 or 3 PM. Most places either didn’t allow it, or charged extra (or were too expensive to begin with for our budget). We did find one place about 15 min from the Thunderbird for $35, but once we drove up it looked way too sketchy so we kept looking.

We finally saw the sign for the Thunderbird and decided to go in and ask about late checkout. They said we could actually stay until the next morning for no extra charge (NO other motels or hotels that we called or stopped in offered that), and with my AAA membership it was only $50. The room was clean and the beds comfortable (we used our own pillows). Everything worked (though we didn't try the microwave); it was nice to have the fridge in the room. The bathroom was a bit outdated and dingy I suppose, but fine and clean for $50. It was pretty quiet but there were so big trucks outside or room during different times. I didn't use the pool but did walk by it and it looked very clean and big. Breakfast was pretty good too, and included in the price. :) I’d definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZaraZote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Florence
Econo Lodge Florence
#31 of 41 in Florence
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
#25 of 41 in Florence
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Florence
Super 8 Florence
#22 of 41 in Florence
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
0.3 mi away
Ramada Florence Center
Ramada Florence Center
#24 of 41 in Florence
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Florence
Comfort Suites Florence
#11 of 41 in Florence
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Inn

Property: Thunderbird Inn
Address: 2004 W Lucas St, Florence, SC 29501-1203
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing