We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice but Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Florence
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, TN
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice but Noisy”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

The accommodations are very nice, obviously a very new hotel done well. The beds are a little high but they are extremely comfortable.

I would not stay here again though, several hotels are right along the train tracks at this exit... The trains woke me somewhere around 2 am and I couldn't get back to sleep until around 6 am (after another train or two had passed through). The truck stop just down from the hotel didn't help me get back to sleep but it was only the low rumbling of engines throughout the night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CompuPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    95
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
194
111
8
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel is excellent, must be brand new. The rooms were beautiful and the free breakfast unbelievable. Where can I get some of those pillows? Most comfortable night's sleep in a long time. The location is not that scenic but who cares. I didn't hear any trains or get bothered by lights. We went to Quincy's Family Steakhouse which is excellent value for money. I would go back to Florence just to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddington, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We loved the modern decor of the lobby, breakfast room, and guest room. However, this hotel was clearly designed for giants: The beds were very high. The bathroom counter was so high I could barely lean over it to brush my teeth. Don't children ever stay at this hotel?! The only places to hang towels were either from a single hook high on the back of the door or on the rack INSIDE the SHOWER, which was nearly impossible and potentially dangerous to reach, not to mention conceptually ridiculous. Because the bathroom counter was so high and deep, applying makeup there was impossible. (Perhaps small fold-out magnifying mirrors could be installed?) The full-length mirror in the vestibule was a nice idea, but the lighting in that area was terrible, rendering the mirror rather useless.

Twice we were awakened in the middle of the night by the passing trains. When I went to the window to look at the second train, I was nearly blinded by the floodlights pointing up into our window. We'd requested a wake-up call at 7am, but instead received one at 5am, needlessly waking us for the third time in one night. Corridor noise from other guests and the cleaning staff was fairly constant from 6am on.

Breakfast: food was good (for a hotel breakfast) and the room spacious, but the television was WAY too loud and the station off-putting. Front desk staff were on the slow side; they didn't seem particularly interested in their jobs.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iheartlibraries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I have to say for a Comfort Suites I was blown away! This hotel is so modern so cool and so roomy. Paul who helped us at the front desk was great. We were on our way home from Litchfield and was ready for a rest. Beds were great, rooms are big and spacious, air works great and the free breakfast hit the spot! Someone really knew what they were doing!

Room Tip: Talk to Paul!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crouellette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

we stayed for one night here on 5/28 and it was GREAT! very clean and quiet. beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was digestible as well. didnt care for the biscuits and gravy but the waffles were good as was the bacon and juices. decor was very modern as well. I would stay here again for sure. the staff was great as well and took care of all of our requests and gave us a coupon for FATZ to eat at which was great as well. this is about a 79 to 89 $$$ a night motel rate wise IMO.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamatide12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Very close to 95. Great staff at check in and breakfast buffet. Clean comfortable rooms, beds very comfy. Plenty of room even sitting area. Good breakfast area clean. Great value used coupon in book from rest stop paid 74.99. Did not use other facilities pool etc looked nice though. New clean safe option for travelers on 95

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Comfort Suites Florence on our way to Disney. Upon arrival, Lafayette at the front desk had our room key ready and was very friendly and polite. We stayed in a room with two of the most comfortable queen beds we have ever slept in and a huge flat screen tv. There is also a mini fridge and a living room area. The next morning we had one of the best complimentary breakfasts ever. There were waffles, bacon (my favorite), eggs, juice, toast, bagels etc. The dining room is large and modern with a huge flat screen tv.
The hotel itself is on par with the likes of Hyatt Place or a Marriott Courtyard. They have come a long way and we wish we could have stayed a little longer to enjoy the pool or sauna. We paid $100 for the night which is a bit high since it's a stopover but with the breakfast, the beds and just knowing we are in a safe hotel it was worth it.
I did see some of the comments about the train noise. We did hear them and also morning traffic but we were leaving anyway so it didn't bother us that much. If you are there for a stopover only then it should suffice.
We don't normally consider the "Comfort" chains when we travel but we will now if it is a new one.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkTarmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#1 of 41 in Florence
437 reviews
3.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florence
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#15 of 41 in Florence
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Florence

Property: Comfort Suites Florence
Address: 2120 W Lucas St, I-95, Exit 164, Florence, SC 29501-1205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#7 Business Hotel in Florence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Florence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This State of the Art, beautifully designed, luxury hotel, off I-95 in Florence, SC has it all. We have an indoor heated pool, fitness center, business center, WiFi, Ethernet, and a complimentary hot breakfast. You won't be disappointed! We offer a decent rate, friendly staff, delicious food, wonderfully appointed Meeting Room with the latest in Audio/Visual Technology. This property is of such high quality, no wonder it was named Choice Hotels International, 2011, Rookie of the Year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Florence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing