We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in the 70's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Florence
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
“Step back in the 70's”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is a dive. You get what you pay for; however over the internet it looks great. But, burned cigarette holes in the cover, stuck food in the sink, dirty bath tub. Furnishing well worn, mattress probably 10 years old, chairs' cushion springs flat, chipped door paint, antiquated locking mechanism, fitness rooms opens at 10:00 a.m. I will not stay my second night, will ask for money back. Don't stay at this hotel or any hotel associated with it.

Green Features: The room is old. The door does not close all the way, allowing cold air to escape. The HVAC system is from the late 70's
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byronharps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgeflorence, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Florence, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Econo Lodge during your last to our area.

We appreciate your review and the observations. We will surely take them for improvement.

We have engaged a professional team to audit and act on the room’s furnishings, cleanliness and amenities. We are also considering a total up gradation soon.

The hotel staff has been well trained and each room is being thoroughly checked for cleanliness and proper amenities before checking in a new guest.

Hope you will take a note of our actions and visit us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    63
    41
    29
    42
See reviews for
63
65
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here overnight. They accommodated our pet with a first floor room. Room was comfortable, staff was friendly and helpful, and breakfast was very good. They are convenient to 95, and a good stopping over point back and forth to Florida.

Room Tip: Belong to Choice Hotels.com, call ahead, and make your specific needs known.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgeflorence, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Florence, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hello Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Econo Lodge Florence for your recent stay.

We appreciate your nice and positive review.

Glad to note that you liked the room, amenities as well as the breakfast.

We shall still better hospitality and service so that our guests experience a stay to cherish.

Please do visit us again,

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walton, new york
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for the race. I will say it was good enough for us since we weren't there long as we were there for the race. I won't say its the best but its not the worst. It was adequate, not the cleanest by any means......... We didn't have problem with noise, the desk staff was friendly and helpful. If i had to stay for the race again, I might, but honestly for the price it wasn't that worth it. I thought they charged alot for what we were given.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelso2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgeflorence, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Florence, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Econo Lodge during your visit to our area.

We appreciate you for giving us the review. It surely helps us to improve.

We have taken a serious view of your observation and have implemented corrective solutions so that our guests always experience a satisfactory stay.

The front desk staff has been enrolled to provide the best hospitality. We will not tolerate any such behavior from them.

We assure you that you will find a better stay next time and look forward to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Mary's Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was a stop over on the way back north.
Because of my wife's disability, we asked for a handicap room and were told they had none. We were given a ground floor room that was a difficult walk for her. It was also the noisiest room I have ever stayed in, it was as if the window and door were made of paper. You could hear ever truck that passed by on 95 all night long.
The toilet stopped working, when the front desk was contacted the person responded by telling us that he could do nothing other than move us to another room. This was at 3:30 in the morning.
We packed up and left.

Green Features: Toilets that don't work. The place is rampant with noise pollution!!!
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgeflorence, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Florence, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Econo Lodge, Florence during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate the review and we take it quite seriously for improvement.

At the outset, our apologies for the bad experience you had howsoever.

We have investigated the incidence as mentioned, with the hotel staff and have taken all necessary steps to offer the best. Special attention is being given for cleanliness and hygiene.

We also have given special training and instructions to the hotel staff to offer the best hospitality to our guests.

We assure you and request you to consider staying with us in future and have a new satisfactory experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Terrible !!! Very poor management. We booked a ground floor room, we are retired. We were given the keys, and when we opened the door the room was trashed, the smoke was pouring out the door and the waste basket was full of butts. Were given another, with no help fron the manager. After 3hours, that room was still not ready. The manager then ordered the maid to clean it. Stay somewhere else, this is not the place. Many other availible.

Room Tip: Leevon the desk clerk was very nice, his manager was the worst we've met
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have been staying at econo lodge in florenece s.c. for the last 4 years with 9 of my golf buddies for our annual golf trip in april . I handle the bookings myself for rooms and golf with the help of levon at Econo Lodge he has assisted us in our room selection which is always on first floor near pool. we are greatly satisfied with the results and will be back next year 2014 in april

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
#23 of 41 in Florence
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Florence
Super 8 Florence
#21 of 41 in Florence
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Florence Center
Ramada Florence Center
#26 of 41 in Florence
518 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center
3.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Florence

Property: Econo Lodge Florence
Address: 1920 W Lucas St, Florence, SC 29501-1232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Florence 2*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 95 just north of Interstate 20, the Econo Lodge(R) hotel is a wonderful stopping point for many destinations. This Florence, SC hotel is minutes from Francis Marion University, Darlington Raceway, the Florence Museum of Art, Science and History, the Florence Little Theatre, Darlington Dragway and the Florence Civic Center. Freedom Florence Recreation Complex is eight miles from the hotel. Several golf courses and shops are nearby. Many local restaurants are within walking distance, and several of Florence's fine dining restaurants are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Econo Lodge Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Florence
Florence Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing