We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Florence
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Scranton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Enjoyed the room”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed the stay. The room was clean, smelt good, hot water in shower, also clean. The price was was comparable to the other hotels around. For being right off the interstate it was a great deal.

Room Tip: Next time I will get a room with two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carpentermic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharonda H, Manager at Econo Lodge Florence, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your most recent experience with our hotel. I do appreciate your comments. It is always a pleasure to hear how someone enjoyed our facility. Through your experiences we find out what we are doing right, wrong and how we can improve. Everyone on the team appreciates you taking the time to tell us how you enjoyed your stay. We have been doing many renovations at the property so be sure to ask for the room with two beds, I think you will really enjoy the experience. Have a wonderful summer and I hope to get the chance to meet you during your next visit with us. Thanks for traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    62
    41
    29
    42
See reviews for
61
65
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I just arrived and it is midnight. It is Friday night/ Saturday AM. We paid $73 for a room with double beds. (I am guessing the average price doubles for weekends.)
It is technically clean, but very rundown. The air conditioning is not working well and though the manager offered to get us a different room, my teenage boys and husband had already gotten undressed to try to get some sleep. By the time we would drag our stuff to some other room, we opted to stick it out. There were not enough towels, so I had to go down and get more. There was no offer to have them brought to the room.
We are near the highway, so the drone of the AC is at least functioning effectively as white noise to minimize the sounds from I-95.
I am definitely disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATraveler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We decided to break up the drive to Myrtle Beach, and stayed here based on ok reviews. Bad decision! When we got here, we could see that it was frequented by sketchy clientele. We got a room on the corner of the bottom floor. When we opened the door, a musty odor hit us, and it was hot and humid in the room. We turned on the AC, and it helped somewhat. The bathroom vent system didn't work, so when we closed to door to keep our little infant son from crawling in there, it got a nasty odor. The ceiling above the toilet had peeling paint, and it looked pretty yucky. The front desk staff was very friendly, as were the breakfast staff. My boyfriend didn't sleep much, kept looking out at the car, to make sure it wasn't broken into. Next time, we would definitely stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharonda H, Manager at Econo Lodge Florence, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your commments on your recent stay. I do apologize for the conditions you recieved. I understand that you were traveling with your family and the room was not up to par.... again my apologies. At no time do we want to give anyone a poor stay, that is why we ask if you do not feel the room you have meets your needs please contact the desk so that we may move you. I am sorry that the first experience you had of Econo Lodge was a poor representation of the hotel. Please do not hold this against the hotel. The hotel has many rooms and many choices to choose from but if you do not tell us at the time of your stay that you are not satisfied with your accomodations then we can not meet or satisfy your needs. Thanks again for sharing and have a most enjoyable summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed on our way to Pawley's Island and just needed a place to put our heads. It's old, out-dated, dusty, and smelly. Before going to sleep, we didn't even want to sit in the rooms, so we pulled the table and chairs outside. Never again...I'd have paid twice the $55 to NOT stay here.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Moreheadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharonda H, Manager at Econo Lodge Florence, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your commments on your recent stay. I do apologize for the conditions you recieved. I understand that your accomodations were not up to par, forgive me but I must ask upon walking into the room once it did not meet your needs why did you continue to stay in the room? . At no time do we want to give anyone a poor stay, that is why we ask if you do not feel the room you have meets your needs please contact the desk so that we may move you. I am sorry that the first experience you had of Econo Lodge was a poor representation of the hotel. Please do not hold this against the hotel. The hotel has many rooms and many choices to choose from but if you do not tell us at the time of your stay that you are not satisfied with your accomodations then we can not meet or satisfy your needs. Our guest are are singular most important concern, they tell us what we are doing right, wrong and how we can improve. Thanks again for sharing and have a most enjoyable summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here one night on our way to the Outer Banks. My impressions of this place were mainly positive. The desk clerk was friendly. The room was outdated and did need to be aired out. Smelled of cigarette smoke, possibly, however...we paid $42 for this room and the bed was comfy, room had a nice TV (not plasma) and a clean bathroom. It looked like to me that the management cared about the place and was trying to clean up it's act. Workers were seen cleaning carpets and windows. The outdoor pool was clean. The marked jogging route around the motel was nice, and it had a fitness room. Very convenient to several restaurants and it had your basic, complimentary breakfast menu. Bottom line, if you are looking for luxury, this is not your place. If you need a short, economical stopover, this works. We would stay here again, especially for a short stay. To the management, keep up the good work. You are almost there........

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyLeeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharonda H, Manager at Econo Lodge Florence, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Econolodge Florence, we appreciate your business. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay. We strive everyday to be the best in our industry so we really appreciate your views and incite on your stay. They tell us what we are doing right, wrong and how we can improve. Thanks again for sharing and have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirsdale, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We arrived to check in and were given room keys to a room that had not been completed yet. When I went back to the front desk, the lady was very apologetic and gave me keys to another room which was ready. This is an older hotel and it shows in some areas. Cost for the room is very affordable. Fridge and microwave in the room and both worked. Beds were comfortable. There was a dead bug that had been squashed and was still stuck on the wall and a dead bug in the bathroom corner, but we didn't see any live bugs. Didn't use the Wi-Fi, so can't comment. Did not try the continental breakfast, got on the road instead.This hotel is next to the interstate and I mean directly next to it. Road noise was definitely heard in the room. There are 21 pet friendly hotels in the Florence area, so I would probably try another next time, but would not be totally adverse to staying here again if I had to.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredjld-fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharonda H, Manager at Econo Lodge Florence, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us, we do value your feedback. We are glad that out of all the hotels listed on hwy. 52 you chose our hotel to host your overnight accommodations. Unfortunately, your first impression of the hotel was tarnished at check-in. Our hotel has been undergoing some changes in the past couple of months and unfortunately the day you checked in our system malfunctioned and you were checked into a dirty room. I apologize for that error and for the dead bug. Dead bugs are not typical at our hotel, however, just days before we had the rooms exterminated for our monthly service agreement. Thank you for sharing your experience we do value and appreciate your comments. I know you said you would probably think on staying with someone else next time, but I hope you will give us a chance to meet and exceed your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2012

stayed 3 nights 4 days clean room micro, fridge, internet all worked. enjoyed our stay. staff was especially nice, would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharonda H, Manager at Econo Lodge Florence, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Econolodge Florence, we appreciate your business. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay. We strive everyday to be the best in our industry so we really appreciate your views and incite on your stay. They tell us what we are doing right, wrong and how we can improve. Thanks again for sharing and have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Florence
Super 8 Florence
#21 of 41 in Florence
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Florence Center
Ramada Florence Center
#25 of 41 in Florence
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
#24 of 41 in Florence
38 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Florence

Property: Econo Lodge Florence
Address: 1920 W Lucas St, Florence, SC 29501-1232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Florence 2*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 95 just north of Interstate 20, the Econo Lodge(R) hotel is a wonderful stopping point for many destinations. This Florence, SC hotel is minutes from Francis Marion University, Darlington Raceway, the Florence Museum of Art, Science and History, the Florence Little Theatre, Darlington Dragway and the Florence Civic Center. Freedom Florence Recreation Complex is eight miles from the hotel. Several golf courses and shops are nearby. Many local restaurants are within walking distance, and several of Florence's fine dining restaurants are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Florence
Florence Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing